Ratings based on 447 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Right on the beach

Posted Jul 23, 2014
Nice place with great location. Awesome staff. LOTS of kids. A lot!! Not a romantic getaway Close to both Malibu and Santa Barbara. Happy hour and breakfast included make kind of make up for kids everywhere.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bakersfield, California

Super nice resort hotel

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Very nice - large updated rooms and great pool area for the kids. Cocktail reception every night is awesome - they make all of your favorites! Breakfast is very good do the make to order line - Carlos makes a mean omelet. Can't wait to go back in November - without the kids:)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pennsylvania

Best customer service EVER!

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Pros: The setting, the customer service, and the food!
Cons: The pull out sofa bed. I could feel all the springs.
Location: You have the beach, with mountains an easy drive away. The immediate area was great for walking, biking, boating paddle boards, kayaks, hiking, etc.
The personnel were the best in customer service I have ever experienced. Every single employee with whom we had contact, or witnessed in contact with others, was courteous, friendly, and efficient. It was never like they were "programmed" as I have witnessed in some settings. It felt genuine, from the front desk to the bartenders, servers, and housekeepers.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Jul 12, 2014
Pros: ocean view
Cons: didn"t seem like the floors were very clean
Location: saw the Woolsworth building and Heritage Square
hotel was just what we neededed. Great getaway. there were three of us and one was handicapped the room was comfortable and worked well for us. the hida-bed was comfortable, too.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from los angeles

Not what I expected

Posted Jul 12, 2014
Pros: The close proximity to the gym & the fact that they had 2 jacuzzi's.
Cons: The services at the restaurant, & bar was really slow. The pool was always out of towels. Staff was not easy to find.
Location: The beach was close & there's a bike path nearby. Not much else. Pool / jacuzzi was full of noisy kids. Food was mediocre. Bartenders were AWOL
There were a few things that initially drove us to pick this hotel. The close proximity to the beach, a bar and restaurant on site, a pool & jacuzzi and a gym.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 3, 2014
Walls are so thin my son and I had security called on is for laughing !! It was before 10 pm. The front seal staff are not overly friendly. The amenities and scenery have brought us back twice now but not sure it's worth it anymore.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from palm springs, ca

Beach paradise

Posted Jul 1, 2014
A beautiful hotel just steps from the ocean. The free breakfast was fantastic and the food any other time of day was also delicious. The hotel is very close to ventura harbor, Channel Islands harbor and anything else you might want to see on your retreat. My only complaint was the lack of ac in the bedroom. It was almost non existent, while the living room was easy to keep cool. Luckily your by the ocean and the room wasn't too hot to begin with, but it did get somewhat stuffy at night. Having said that, I would return to this place in a heartbeat.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, nice location. Check-in times approx.

Posted Jun 30, 2014
The hotel is very nicely located near the beach and has a nice pool, tennis court and overall feel. Rooms are large and comfortable. The bar and restaurant are quite nice but with little variation - essentially same menu for lunch and dinner. One source of irritation was that on arrival (our expedia itinerary said check-in starts at 3pm) we ended up with an open-ended wait which lasted two hours before we had access to the room. This would not be a major issue if you knew the time exactly and could plan to do something precise but it was left very vague and led to us feeling a little bitter when our stay started. Key here is that we had originally planned only an overnight stay so two hours is a big chunk of your waking time. When you realize that most guests are there for longer stays you understand a little better perhaps. When I complained about their taking two hours of our time for their own flexibility and suggested that they give us some extra time on check-out the answer was a flat no which eventually evolved into 30 minutes. That didn't exactly appease our irritation, rather the opposite. That said, the next day they (different staff) more than made up for it all when we asked to stay an extra night (the place is very nice) they did make significant efforts to accommodate us and reduce any frictions from potentially changing rooms and so on. So all's well that ends well. I do however wonder why the hotel needs a 4-6 hour window to manage the rooms between stays.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Whittier, Ca

Right on the beach

Posted Jun 27, 2014
Pros: The fact that we were right on the beach.
Cons: Not enough towels in the bathrooms. Not enough hand towels or wash cloths. Plus I loved the fire pits by the Coastal Grille, but they need more.
Location: We really just stayed at the hotel.
We had a wonderful room and view. Very friendly staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kelsey from Central California

beautiful resort hotel right on the beach.

Posted Jun 24, 2014
Pros: Everything!!
Cons: nothing
Location: Right on a large clean beach with walking/bike trail around facility. Ventura harbor is just up the road with shopping and dining, etc.
Staff awaits you in a beautiful lobby. While waiting for our room to be ready we hung out by the huge, beautiful swimming pool and had drinks brought to us (food too if you wished). The grounds are lush with tropical trees and foliage, and there are waterfalls and streams throughout. Several spas are throughout facility, so there is privacy. Our room had a beautiful ocean view. The sand dunes in the area are high, so the ocean view is alittle obstructed, but not too bad from our room. A bike trail is in front of the hotel, and a park nearby. Very family friendly, lots for kids to do. We had wonderful time.