Ratings based on 211 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Carlos

Interesting and Unique Hotel

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Pros: The history and charm
Cons: Everything was very nice
Location: Santa Paula is a gem of a find, in the midst of all the So. Cal madness! A cute, older town with history.
This is an Historical, old hotel. It has an old English type of feel, with many old momentos to be found in the hotel. It has a lot of charm. Even a little bit eery - as they say ghosts have been seen on the 3rd floor. Wonderful, charming Italian restaurant on premises. Room was comfortable, though quite old fashioned - made it interesting. Staff was very nice and helpful. I would definitely stay here again and recommend to others. Interesting town too. Not very crowded or visited, which is surprising. I think it is a great tourist destination - Santa Paula.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful,but in dire need of additional updating.

Posted Aug 13, 2014
AC was horrible, downstairs subjects you to all showers, toilet flushes etc. noise. Moved rooms because of ac, then had a bed akin to pressboard. Over 100 yrs. old and they are working on it, but not quite there yet.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful old hotel

Posted Jul 30, 2014
Fun experience, loved the history and ghost stories. Beautiful lobby and dining room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Jonfrom Anaheim

One of my favorite places to stay.

Posted Jul 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great staff, great old building, good restaurant. Worth a stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom bakersfield, ca

beautiful older tudor style facility

Posted Jul 10, 2014
Pros: its old world feel
Cons: need an all night attendant on duty for people arriving late. had to call them to be let in
Location: the city of Santa Paula is not that great but has a few things to see like the train depot. this hotel doesnt just the attention it deserves.
Very quite, it wasnt busy..i dont know why, reminded me of more like a bed and breakfast. lovely antiques...decorated nicely. the room was nice and comfortable bed. bathroom was spotless. definitely a different hotel experience and i would recommend anyone stay there. the price was reasonable as well.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Dianafrom Reynolds

Glen tavern inn

Posted May 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 floors, no elevator. Old quaint place. Continental breakfast in lobby late. A/C went out. 2 days to fix but they brought up new fan to help cool us down. Brought up ironing board and broken iron which was replaced after water went everywhere once filled for steam ironing. Bottle of wine was waiting in room...a peace offering? Employees nice. Restaurant has weird hours/days. Did not use. A whippet dog in lobby (owners) that was very shy but next day a large Great Dane also present in lobby.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Southern California

Back to Small Town America

Posted May 5, 2014
Pros: We loved the historic feel and distinctive decor. We were definitely NOT in a generic big box motel. We felt extremely comfortable. Pet friendly.
Cons: Wish there was a breakfast and more of a selection of drink and snack machines and a book shelf of books to borrow or leave. Pillows were a bit thin.
Location: The hotel is in the Heritage Valley, about 20 miles inland from Ventura. Several museums were within walking distance of the hotel.
Glen Tavern Inn is a historical hotel built in 1911. When you walk in the door you are surrounded by history. You immediately take a deep breath and relax. Staff was friendly but not intrusive. The lobby, complete with fireplace, is large enough for several visiting groups to converse. The front garden offers more lovely places to sit and visit with friends. Coffee and water were available in the lobby. Room decor is period with modern conveniences. Because there aren't many places to eat breakfast in town, I wish their small restaurant offered a bit of breakfast fare. Sadly while we were there, the air conditioner broke down in one section of the hotel causing some discomfort for patrons, however fans were provided as a temporary 'fix.'
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Enjoyed our stay for the weekend

Posted May 5, 2014
Pros: Centrally located - within walking distance of the downtown area - it was interesting to say the least - very picturesque. Grounds well cared for.
Cons: In my room - the shower tile could have been cleaned better than what it was.
The lobby was like a scene from movie - it was comfortable and peaceful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Cathyfrom California

Great customer service

Posted May 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
The front desk staff was great from rearranging my room, giving information on the restruant and taking care of an issue in the room. The atmosphere takes you back to earlier times. I will be back.