Ratings based on 50 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Require owners put one or two eyes.

Posted Sep 17, 2014
Pros: The hotel is right at the beach.
Location: Ventura Beach is contaminated with black oil. You walk down the beach and your feet get stuck oil. You can also see birds killed by contact with OIL.
Ventura Beach is contaminated with black oil. You walk down the beach and your feet get stuck oil. You can also see birds killed by contact with OIL.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Los Angeles

Right on the Beach

Posted Sep 6, 2014
Pros: The view from our room
Cons: Everything!!
Location: The location is ok. There are a few cute restaurants on the street to walk to.
The hotel is right on the beach so that is great. But it's very run down and outdated. There is no air-conditioning so the room is like a sauna. There were ants all over our bathroom. Beds were very uncomfortable and the pillows have seen there day.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

A little run down

Posted Jun 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
A nice location and staff, but the building is pretty run down and in need of renovation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by ALfrom Antelope Valley

Great Location

Posted Jun 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quiet and Old Fashioned Inn on the Beach

Posted Mar 14, 2014
Pros: Old fashioned. Seaside. Quiet. Friendly staff. Breakfast included.
Cons: Hotel needs a pint job
Our first experience with this hotel was a good one. We arrived early after a long drive, told our room was not yet ready, so we walked to one of the several choices of seaside cafe's for a lunch of fish and chips. We came back to check on our room (still early for check-in time). Another couple was ahead checking in (also early). They were handed the key to their room. Our room was still not ready, so we strolled out to the beach for awhile, then back in to take advantage of the wi-fi and check our mail. Without provocation, we were upgraded to a better room at the same cost! We were thrilled! All this because we arrived so early. All staff were friendly, talkative and courteous. Old fashioned wallpaper, poster beds and beautiful amours were fun. Down pillows standard. Breakfast is included! This hotel badly needs a paint job. But, if this was our only complaint, let the paint peel!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Alternative

Posted Mar 7, 2014
Cons: Wi-fi service is poor. The signal is unreliable and often very slow. If you need to work online during your stay, I wouldn't recommend this hotel.
Great location on the beach. Some good restaurants nearby. Not far from anywhere you'd want to go in Ventura.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sunnyfrom Native Californian

Beach

Posted Mar 1, 2014
How can you downgrade the place when the entire Pacific Ocean is literally at your feet! Staff was very nice and eager to please. The bed was reasonably comfortable. Fun to have an electric "fireplace" even thought it often didn't turn on. The furnace did not work either, blowing cold air, and the controls were falling apart. Hot water is dangerously hot, but the shower was nice. Breakfast offerings made us go elsewhere. Now, the weather can't be blamed on anyone.....lovely days, and rain at night....just like Camelot!! And we could leave our patio door open all night to listen to the sound of the waves! The Expedia rate was $40 HIGHER than if I had just called and made my own reservations. Not good. I'm not a cranky person, so remember I commended the staff, including housekeeping, AND the location and the weather! Not bad.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Melissafrom Lexington, Kentucky

Posted Feb 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
The location was perfect and the staff were great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 27, 2013
Pros: Location and ease of access. Small inn rather than chain hotel.
Cons: Update room and breakfast amenities.
Everything is dated. Marginal amenities but very attentive staff.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to the beach

Posted Nov 21, 2013
For two people we were sharing one towel... No one is at front desk to ask.will not definitely come back