Ratings based on 44 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quiet and Old Fashioned Inn on the Beach

Posted Mar 14, 2014
Pros: Old fashioned. Seaside. Quiet. Friendly staff. Breakfast included.
Cons: Hotel needs a pint job
Our first experience with this hotel was a good one. We arrived early after a long drive, told our room was not yet ready, so we walked to one of the several choices of seaside cafe's for a lunch of fish and chips. We came back to check on our room (still early for check-in time). Another couple was ahead checking in (also early). They were handed the key to their room. Our room was still not ready, so we strolled out to the beach for awhile, then back in to take advantage of the wi-fi and check our mail. Without provocation, we were upgraded to a better room at the same cost! We were thrilled! All this because we arrived so early. All staff were friendly, talkative and courteous. Old fashioned wallpaper, poster beds and beautiful amours were fun. Down pillows standard. Breakfast is included! This hotel badly needs a paint job. But, if this was our only complaint, let the paint peel!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Alternative

Posted Mar 7, 2014
Cons: Wi-fi service is poor. The signal is unreliable and often very slow. If you need to work online during your stay, I wouldn't recommend this hotel.
Great location on the beach. Some good restaurants nearby. Not far from anywhere you'd want to go in Ventura.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sunny from Native Californian

Beach

Posted Mar 1, 2014
How can you downgrade the place when the entire Pacific Ocean is literally at your feet! Staff was very nice and eager to please. The bed was reasonably comfortable. Fun to have an electric "fireplace" even thought it often didn't turn on. The furnace did not work either, blowing cold air, and the controls were falling apart. Hot water is dangerously hot, but the shower was nice. Breakfast offerings made us go elsewhere. Now, the weather can't be blamed on anyone.....lovely days, and rain at night....just like Camelot!! And we could leave our patio door open all night to listen to the sound of the waves! The Expedia rate was $40 HIGHER than if I had just called and made my own reservations. Not good. I'm not a cranky person, so remember I commended the staff, including housekeeping, AND the location and the weather! Not bad.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Melissa from Lexington, Kentucky

Posted Feb 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
The location was perfect and the staff were great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 27, 2013
Pros: Location and ease of access. Small inn rather than chain hotel.
Cons: Update room and breakfast amenities.
Everything is dated. Marginal amenities but very attentive staff.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to the beach

Posted Nov 21, 2013
For two people we were sharing one towel... No one is at front desk to ask.will not definitely come back
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Dixon from Slo ca

A get away

Posted Oct 21, 2013 on Hotels.com
The in was just what we where looking for and needed with the beach right out our patio
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by BK from San Jose

Great Location, Great Staff, poor condition

Posted Oct 20, 2013 on Hotels.com
The Hotel is in a great location, literally a 30 second walk from the beach and less than a minute from a series of great restaurants/bars. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful. That said, the hotel was in severe disrepair, with missing bits of trim and broken furniture. The place needs a remodel, but if they were to do this, I'm sure the bargain nightly rate would increase. I would stay there again for sure
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by brad

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 13, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by amy from ventura,california

can't beat the location

Posted Oct 1, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel itself was no big deal, only thing going for it was that it is right on the beach and had great ocean views. I was disappojnted that they did not have a microwave in the room but they let us use the one in their breakfast room. Continental breakfast only consisted of coffee, danish and cereal. I liked the quiet location and overall I would stay there again if I ever return to Ventura.