Ratings based on 263 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel was close to everything. Good location.

Posted Apr 22, 2014
Husband and I had a good time there. Enjoyed walking to the beach.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Stephen

Okay but area not good

Posted Apr 6, 2014
Pros: Closeness to the beach which had a nice play area on the beach.
Cons: Dirty surroundings. Upgrade the outside of the hotel.
Location: Restaurants near the hotel. Drove to Santa Barbara which was closeby.
The rooms were decent, but in order to walk to the beach you had to walk across railroad tracks, dirty surroundings and walk around some real shady characters. In the evening the trains passing by were somewhat noisy and there must have been a speedway nearby because you could hear cars racing. The hotel staff was very nice, the pool was very clean, the rooms looked newly remodeled, and it was close to the beach. All in all, not too bad if you're stay is very short term.
Comment from
Jan 17, 2014
Thanks for the review. The train is bothersome, but every hotel along the beach has to deal with it. The racing you heard was at the Ventura County Fairgrounds, which is walking distance. They must have been having a race the night you were here.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

LOCATED CLOSE TO BEST AREA OF THE TOWN, PETS FREND

Posted Apr 1, 2014
Pros: pet frendly, nice staff, locationce is perfect
Cons: hotel needs remodeling
We are going to visit a town one more time, or more.
Comment from
Jan 2, 2014
We are in the process of upgrading the rooms. We are also in the process of changing the TV's to 32" flatscreens. Ask for a remodeled room next time you come in.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

close to beach but not a very good facility

Posted Mar 31, 2014
Pros: The room had a refrigerator
Cons: Improve to a flat screen TV and do something about the clarity of the channels
Location: Location was fine, beach and restaurant were near by
The room had a refrigerator, which was great, but the tv was not very good and the channels did not come in clearly. The internet did not work when I checked in but they had it fixed within a couple hours. The facility was not the best and the other guests were smoking right outside my room.
Comment from
Jan 2, 2014
Charter cable TV and internet was having issues. We called them about the internet being slow. They said they knew about it and it would be fixed soon. I will see what can be done about the smoking situation.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

close to beach but not a very good facility

Posted Mar 31, 2014
Pros: The room had a refrigerator
Cons: Improve to a flat screen TV and do something about the clarity of the channels
Location: Location was fine, beach and restaurant were near by
The room had a refrigerator, which was great, but the tv was not very good and the channels did not come in clearly. The internet did not work when I checked in but they had it fixed within a couple hours. The facility was not the best and the other guests were smoking right outside my room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tina from Sydney, Australia

Nice hotel w/i walking distance to beach & shops

Posted Mar 22, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff, within walking distance to the beach, pier and down town shops, microwave and of course, great hotel rate :-)
Cons: Please use less carpet deodorizer as its overuse can give a headache to certain people who are sensitive to it.
Location: Great location to the lovely Ventura Harbor Village, beautiful Chanel Islands National Park, down town shops, botanical trail behind the City Hall.
We had a pleasant 2-night stay at the hotel. The staff was friendly and helpful. The room was clean and had all of our basic needs. The microwave was a plus and we didn't expect that. Free wifi wasn't fast, but reasonable. The only thing we didn't quite enjoy was the overuse of carpet deodorizer that made us sneeze quite a lot at first :-( We plan to be back to explore other islands of Chanel Islands National Park the next time we in California and definitely will stay again at this hotel.
Comment from
Jan 2, 2014
Thanks for letting us know about your stay. Please call before you check-in next time, and we will make sure not to use any deodorizers in the room. We have an ozone machine that will make the room fresh without chemicals.
2 out of 5
by French Lady from San Diego

Good location, close to all Ventura sights

Posted Feb 17, 2014
Pros: The location is great, convenient to all aspects of Ventura.
Cons: Cleanliness and updating
Location: Beach, beautiful downtown Ventura, restaurants, trendy stores, antique shops and great thrift stores
This hotel is in serious need of restoration. While it is appreciated that the Vagabond Hotel welcomes pets, the smell when entering the room is quite unpleasant and very must, and the decor very antiquated. The light by the side of the bed did not work and for some reason the alarm clock kept ringing from the early hours of the morning on and could finally only be stopped by yanking the plug out of the electrical outlet. While not expensive, one would expect something a little better for $114 per night.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Basic hotel

Posted Feb 4, 2014
Location: Walking distance to the Ventura beach - there are cheaper better places to stay
Rate charged by Expedia was considerably higher than rate offered by the hotel itself
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 22, 2014
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Corey from Orlando, FL

Posted Jan 17, 2014
We got in pretty late and only stayed 1 night, but the staff was friendly. The free breakfast in the morning didn't offer very much, but there was a breakfast place across the street to get something better if you wanted to pay. Overall it was pretty quiet and safe and good for a short stay.