Ratings based on 420 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not what was shown

Posted Apr 15, 2014
The hotel itself was perfectly fine and the grounds where beautiful. However the rooms shown in the picture where NOT what the rooms looked like in the pictures, the rooms where nice and clean and completely acceptable, just not what was shown at all. Also I left my phone charger in the room(my mistake I Know), but when I called the hotel they said it wasn't there and that no one had seen it...this is funny because the hotel cleaning staff where only two rooms away doing their rounds. I don't think it takes much imagination to figure out what happened to my charger, but if the staff is taking chargers what else are they taking? The grounds where beautiful and the rooms where decent, however with misleading pictures and a staff that plunders from the rooms I would NOT recommend this hotel to anyone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Carrie from Morro Bay, CA.

Nice stay

Posted Apr 10, 2014
Pros: the bed and the shower and the view of the garden and cypress trees
Cons: Over all smell of buildings is like my grandmothers old home in the 40's and 50's
Location: I have driven past this hotel my entire life I am 52 and always wondered when it was like. Glad I stayed.
At first I thought the lobby and our room smelled old and I was forming an opinion until I slept on the bed and took a wonderful shower there. I wished I could have stayed one more night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Mason from Covina, CA

Great historic hotel, cozy, & close to the beach

Posted Apr 8, 2014
Great experience as always, even with the transition in leadership.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Chiva from Maryland

Great location beautiful grounds!

Posted Mar 3, 2014
Pros: Fell in love with the trees on the property, the birds of paradise, the history of the hotel, the coffee & the staff
Cons: Replace blinds, falling off the hooks. Can see through the door frame when closed, replace chairs inside Suite too bulky/heavy.
Even the renovated suite had a horrid odor! Perhaps someone stayed there before me with oil on their clothes the couch smelled as if it had been dipped in motor oil. The staff was phenomenal, and view from the room spectacular
3 out of 5
by Ev from oxnard ca

nice views but outdated and musty

Posted Feb 27, 2014
Pros: the views are great. good history behind the location. tempur pedic mattresses. close to downtown without being mixed in with the riff raff.
Cons: smell. regular maitainance. a clear happy hour menu with prices
Location: ventura state beach, ventura pier, downtown ventura, the pierpont raquetball club.
our room had a view of the Ventura pier and beaches, however the room had a strong retirement home smell. the tempur pedic beds were nice though. the hotel restaurant "Austen's " the server lied about happy hour specials and we were shock when the bill came. no wonder this place is a ghost town. nice location and quaint charm but mismanaged and in a state of disrepair.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to beach

Posted Feb 25, 2014
It's was a great location to have be at. Ocean front, restaurants close by Denny's, in-n out and gas stations and close to the Main Street as well.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to beach

Posted Feb 25, 2014
It's was a great location to have be at. Ocean front, restaurants close by Denny's, in-n out and gas stations and close to the Main Street as well.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

older hotel 1910 beautiful suite Vickers 61 suit

Posted Feb 24, 2014
Pros: 1910 era
Cons: freshin up some of the older rooms
Location: beach bars
excellent stay great spot get a view room a must get Vickers room 61
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Annabelle from San Francisco, CA

good value for a clean and spacious room

Posted Feb 18, 2014
Not sure if it is real or not but my husband felt that there was something holding him while in bed and lights flickered on and off when no one was there. There may be some truth to the ghost stories about this inn.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Annabelle from San Francisco, CA

good value for a clean and spacious room

Posted Feb 18, 2014
Not sure if it is real or not but my husband felt that there was something holding him while in bed and lights flickered on and off when no one was there. There may be some truth to the ghost stories about this inn.