Ratings based on 669 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Riverside, California

Nice Hotel

Posted May 21, 2015
Pros: We liked everything about this Pierpont! The location is so close to the beach. Pierpont is a very nice looking hotel. Our suite was spacious.
Cons: We could hear other rooms' front doors close. If you do not hold your door to close and let it close by itself it sounds like a door is slamming shut.
Location: The beach is just across the street. There is bike riding and running paths. Ventura is a fun city to visit! Shopping at Camarillo Outlet Stores!!!
We had a great time at Pierpont Inn! We were upgraded to a suite. Staff was very nice. Excellent location! We were very close to Camarillo and had a great time shopping, and had a great stay in Ventura. We will be returning!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Real comfortable bed but peculiar odorsl

Posted May 21, 2015
Pros: Very comfortable bed.
Cons: The odors -- a real turn off
Room was spacious and nice but smelled bad. Hard to describe the odor but perhaps one too many pets have stayed and too many chemicals have been used to clean the carpet --these should be replaced as the padding is probably where all the peculiar smells come from. If i had another choice I would not have stayed there but I was very tired and this was a bigger issue than my desire to go elsewhere. The smell was a real turn off so I would recommend the hotel only if this problems was resolved. I am not particularly picky about smells so for me to say this is a big deal. Other than this the room was Ok and had some nice features -- wish the fireplace worked --that was unother mall disappointment.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Central coast, CA

great ocean view, however...

Posted May 18, 2015
Pros: Ocean view and a heated pool
Cons: major renovation would be needed; earthquake retrofit, including. good to have a bath tub in each room; no apartment dwellers around, smoking!;
Location: near downtown and beaches
A great ocean view, however, it is next to a v. busy street, and constant traffic noise was not easy to get used to. Check is was ok: not a friendly greeting for waiting for a while. Get an impression not happy to be working there; a bit of smile to greet customers would be helpful. although it is a non-smoking facility, it appeared that lower levels were a kind of apartment, and extremely casually (sloppy) dressed people from there constantly came around to the main hotel area smoking; v. strange feeling...nice to have a ground map to take away to the room; the place was a maze!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom queensland australia

Great feel of Californian recent history.

Posted May 11, 2015
Feels a little tired but great location (if you ignore freeway close by). Check in staff great. Restaurant food good. Room had noisy fridge. Nice old garden.
4 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom 90405

Nice hotel, nice view, but too much traffic noise.

Posted May 7, 2015
We liked the hotel. It has lots of charm and historical ambience, but unfortunately it overlooks the 101 freeway.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Paso Robles, Ca

Nice Ilder Hotel

Posted May 2, 2015
Hotel has beautiful gardens. Rooms are older and small but nicely renovated. Close to the freeway so expect lots of road noise.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Upland

Pleasant Environment

Posted Apr 27, 2015
Pros: Nice location near the beach; Friendly Hotel staff, Excellent food and service in the Dining Room, Free parking; Beautifully kept grounds.
Cons: See above comments about our experience.
Location: Visiting historical sites in Old Town Ventura. Walks along the shore and on the pier.
Our room needs some maintenance. . .bathroom sliding door was difficult to open; shower door was missing; bathroom floor was dirty when we checked in and was not washed thereafter; mattresses were lumpy; motion sensors kept us awake at night.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Ca

The hotel rooms needs updating!

Posted Apr 26, 2015
The hotel room smells really old, needed dusting and the bathroom needs to be scrubbed and sanitized. Hotel personnel needs Customer Servcice training!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 16, 2015
Wonderful spacious and relaxing right next to the beach.. I would definitely recommend this amazing hotel !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Ventura

Ventura's Best Kept Secret

Posted Apr 4, 2015
Pros: Awesome bed, nice new showers , great drinks @ the bar and breakfasts in the morning, beautiful grounds and view, James @ the front desk, free parking
Cons: Air Conditioning for the 4 days a year we might need it :)
Location: Close to the beach, close to downtown, a short drive to the harbor. It looks like the front desk can give info about the excursions.
I am (was) a resident of a Ventura, so I am a bit biased by local tribal knowledge when reviewing this hotel. I love this hotel, and as long as they stay open, whenever I need to be in Ventura during my planning to move back there, I will stay here. The tourists tend to gravitate towards the Holiday Inn Express/Four Points by the Harbor or the Crown by the Promenade, which is fine, those are the hotels that you can see from the main roads. This hotel has so much more to offer. The grounds are an old estate, and are just gorgeous, and if you visit sometime in the Spring-Fall, chances are you will see a wedding in the Pavillion. The lobby is even quite impressive with a fireplace and sitting areas. The view is absolutely amazing, and if you would like to touch the ocean versus just viewing it, it is a short walk down the hill (be careful crossing Harbor Blvd...driving is not Ventura's strong suit). The parking is free, and no space is too far. The bartender makes killer drinks and the food is amazing. You will regularly even see locals sharing dinner and a bottle of wine. They allow the pups for a very reasonable fee, so you will see people with their extended furry family, and I have never seen a bad dog here. Also, this place is quiet and peaceful, always have the best sleep if you keep that bathroom window open and let that cool ocean breeze in your room. So again, I love this hotel and will be back again and again and again.