Ratings based on 643 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Ca

The hotel rooms needs updating!

Posted Apr 26, 2015
The hotel room smells really old, needed dusting and the bathroom needs to be scrubbed and sanitized. Hotel personnel needs Customer Servcice training!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 16, 2015
Wonderful spacious and relaxing right next to the beach.. I would definitely recommend this amazing hotel !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Ventura

Ventura's Best Kept Secret

Posted Apr 4, 2015
Pros: Awesome bed, nice new showers , great drinks @ the bar and breakfasts in the morning, beautiful grounds and view, James @ the front desk, free parking
Cons: Air Conditioning for the 4 days a year we might need it :)
Location: Close to the beach, close to downtown, a short drive to the harbor. It looks like the front desk can give info about the excursions.
I am (was) a resident of a Ventura, so I am a bit biased by local tribal knowledge when reviewing this hotel. I love this hotel, and as long as they stay open, whenever I need to be in Ventura during my planning to move back there, I will stay here. The tourists tend to gravitate towards the Holiday Inn Express/Four Points by the Harbor or the Crown by the Promenade, which is fine, those are the hotels that you can see from the main roads. This hotel has so much more to offer. The grounds are an old estate, and are just gorgeous, and if you visit sometime in the Spring-Fall, chances are you will see a wedding in the Pavillion. The lobby is even quite impressive with a fireplace and sitting areas. The view is absolutely amazing, and if you would like to touch the ocean versus just viewing it, it is a short walk down the hill (be careful crossing Harbor Blvd...driving is not Ventura's strong suit). The parking is free, and no space is too far. The bartender makes killer drinks and the food is amazing. You will regularly even see locals sharing dinner and a bottle of wine. They allow the pups for a very reasonable fee, so you will see people with their extended furry family, and I have never seen a bad dog here. Also, this place is quiet and peaceful, always have the best sleep if you keep that bathroom window open and let that cool ocean breeze in your room. So again, I love this hotel and will be back again and again and again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 31, 2015
Very nice location and accomodations, however noisy room by the freeway.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Montrose, CA

Historical hotel wonderfully comfortable.

Posted Mar 30, 2015
I love that the lodge was built in 1908 and that they appreciate it's history! They show off the grapevine planted by the original owners. Views are classic California. The room was contemporary, clean, not too large, clean and welcoming. Furnished with mission-style pieces. I loved a king bed with lots of fluffy pillows! Staff is polite and gracious and our waitress was friendly and fun! The 101 passes right by the front of the hotel and Amtrak traverses 4 times a day. But doors and windows closed we didn't hear them. Romantic and reasonable for us!
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom california

Weekend get away

Posted Mar 30, 2015
Pros: Not much.
Cons: Everything
Location: Not much around there to do.
The place is old, I felt it was over priced, there no other way to say it there was a very weak attempt at updating the rooms. The bathroom was the worst, the shower head wasn't even centered in the wall it was off to the side forcing you into the corner to even use it. Not to mention the over watering of the grounds with water running through the parking lot like a river. We are in California in a drought.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom oregon

Great location. Close to beach and downtown .

Posted Mar 28, 2015
Pros: Everything
Enjoyed the restuarant, bar and clean room with a view. Will stay there again next year.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom San Diego

Good location; noisy

Posted Mar 26, 2015
Pros: location
Cons: a bit scruffy around the edges
Location: There's a Joe's Crab Shack restaurant on top of the adjacent hill. Casual; great for families. Wonderful sunsets.
The hotel had an excellent location, in a quiet neighborhood within easy walking distance to a state beach. Set away from busy commercial areas, the security of the facility and for my car seemed good. The ocean view from the lobby/grassy front lawn was expansive; particularly good at sunset. Did not use the restaurant or bar, but they seemed decent. The room rate was a relative bargain and the room spacious and clean. That said, the noise from busy Highway 101 (outdoors only) was extreme, the swimmng pool was functional but unattractive and the place could use some fresh paint and sprucing up. If you have a family and you're looking for a bargain with a good beach location, this could do it for you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Eugene, Oregon

Wonderful accommodations, walk to beach.

Posted Mar 18, 2015
Pros: Everything. Staff particularly courteous and helpful.
Cons: From what I experienced, nothing. Recently changed name to new owner. Will be interesting to see how that affects hotel in future.
Location: Adjacent to beach, highway, restaurants, downtown.
Overall perfect. Located right near beach, Hwy. 101, restaurants, old downtown Ventura. Staff extremely helpful and accommodating. Would stay again without doubt.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 14, 2015
Last minute booking due to family member in nearby hospital. Nice respite at the end of the day. Hotel staff was very accommodating. Hotel has restaurant and bar with beautiful view of the ocean. Downside is the hotel is older and right next to highway with a lot of road noise when outside.