Ratings based on 8 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.8 out of 5
62% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
2.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Oscar

Posted Jan 29, 2013 on Hotels.com
It was very god I will go back.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by J Sosa

10 days in Boca del Rio at Costa Sol Hotel

Posted Dec 31, 2012 on Hotels.com
We just spent 10 days at Costa Sol Hotel and I can honestly say it was not the best experience of our lives. The hotel lloks nice at the lobby area but as soon as you get to your room everything changes. The frame of the beds is solid concrete and the matresses are thin and old. After a few tries I finally got a room which bathroom was not in such a bad shape but still was not to our expectations. The water pressure on the shower was very low and you were lucky if you could get some hot water. The A/C unit was preset to a specific temperature that you could not change so the room got very cold at nights and we needed to turn it on and off through the night to be able to sleep confortably. There was a night the compressor stopped working so we did not have any A/C and the night was kind of warm. The pool was OK but if you wanted to use the Wave pool you had to pay 150 pesos per person per day. The breakfast was not included even thoughthe package was sold to us with breakfast included. The keys for the room needed to be rest every day because they'd stop working. The only good thing I have to say about this hotel is its location and the fact that all its personnel was very friendly and useful when I complaint about the issues we faced during our stay. I'd not recommend this hotel to anybody unless you're really on a budget.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 3, 2012 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Sara

Great budget hotel; awesome pool!

Posted Jun 13, 2012 on Hotels.com
We really enjoyed this hotel. Its great for families, the rooms are very large and include a separate couch/sitting space as well. The pool area was very large with plenty of loungers and tables and chairs. The downside was that there was no food or drink service around the pool. Also my boyfriend did not like that the balcony overlooked the pool area, he thought it didn't give us any privacy. But overall, we were very happy with this hotel. For the price we paid, it was great!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Zurich, Switzerland

A place to avoid

Posted Jan 3, 2011
The hotel is in lousy conditition, our room was windowless, the shower broken. The elevator did not work, so we had to change the room. The pool is dirty as are all the chairs. Every corner of the hotel needs a paint job. The promised internet had a too weak signal, so it worked only in the lobby area and around the restaurant, even there it crasehd often. Don't go there, we will never return. If you are looking to visit Veracruz, just forget this place: It takes about half an hour by car or bus to go to the city center. Due to the hollidays we paid outrageous rates but it is our fault, we did not find another hotel since we booked only a day before our arrival.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Mexico D.F.

I wanted to stay longer.

Posted Dec 4, 2010
There are a friendly staff like this: I wanted to shop something at the store near the lobby about midnight, it was closed, asked for the schedule to one of them, and he also told me there was other store open 24 h/d and where it was. As the hotel is too big, it was at other street near the parking entrance, I did not find it, came back, he wanted to know if I found it, then he guided me to the store. And breakfasts included are some of the best I have had, it was a big deal. Unfortunately I had to leave before check out day because of a family disaster.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis

The villas were terrible

Posted Nov 12, 2009
We arrived late and tired, and we were in a villa out back not the main hotel area. The little villa was nasty. Old and shabby, cracking tiles everywhere and even though it was extremely clean, it still had a depressing feel to it.I have never been to Mexico before so some of this may be just how they do things down there, but there were no bedside lamps or alarm clock, the shower didn't have a curtain or bathmat, and the bedding was just sheets, no beadspread or coverlet. The patio out back was ringed with all these milk jugs or buckets full of dirt and half dead plants in them, and the play area was all rusty and the plastic slide tube had huge cracks in it, I was afraid to let the grandson play on it. We were only there for one night, but I wouldn't go back. The main hotel high rise area looked much nicer.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 16, 2009 on Hotels.com