Ratings based on 12 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.8 out of 5
58% of guests recommend
3.0 Room cleanliness
2.8 Service & staff
2.4 Room comfort
2.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by i have nothing from F

Terrible

Posted Feb 1, 2014
I arrived the 27 th of January the girl at the desk was on her cell was chatting , not speaking English I told her I have confirmation # she said que es esto I explain to her that means I paid the room and I like to see the room she brought me in the room I never see something like that in all my life I travelled in 46 country's I feld very low after two hours I came back took my luggage and I left I was trying to contact with Expidia .ca not Eble I was very angry I paid 321.00 $ for out ,,,,, any hope I will get my money back that's my question??????????
2 out of 5
by Fred from Texas, USA

Bad hotel in a great location

Posted May 22, 2013
Pros: good location on the plaza
Cons: No parking, no help with luggage and poor access
Location: In the middle of a blocked off street on the Zocalo
Poor access with no parking, and no help with luggage. Shower leaked badly all over the bathroom, and toilet did not flush properly. No place to sit except on the bed
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 19, 2013 on Hotels.com
Faded elegance. Staff speak little English no hot water most of time. Beds were good. AC worked. Our room at the back was quiet. We would stay there again.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Emma

rundown

Posted Nov 14, 2012 on Hotels.com
Staff were awful! Hotel was once beautiful but is seriously rundown! Location was excellent!
2 out of 5
by Geoff from France

Give it a miss

Posted Feb 12, 2012
Pros: location, view
Cons: Bathroom, facilities
Location: Veracruz great place
This hotel is in a superb situation, overlooking the main square, which is very noisy, the first impression of the room was good what with the old style furniture, 4 poster and view from the balcony of the square and cathedral, Thats as good as it gets the bathroom was appalling with cracked basin, broken toilet seat, cracked and dirty tiles and no hot water for 4 out of 5 days. The main hotel lobby is interesting because of the original architecure and elevator but is open to the elements the netting stops the birds getting in but not the feathers or the crap, give it a miss. The hotel has obviously had glory days and the present owners must seem to think all the original work is still under guarantee, because they are certainly not trying to put it right themselves
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Faded glory, maybe try again in 4-5 years

Posted Jul 11, 2011 on Hotels.com
An absolutely gorgeous old building thats rather falling to bits. Toilet had issues, air-con was barely functioning, the pool was very average and there was mould in the room. Maybe try the suite but not really happy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from San Antonio, Texas

"Las Vaccationes"

Posted Jan 12, 2011
My first room was sad. It was probably quieter but gloomy with a no view except for a rooftop and garage parking. They moved me to a room with a balcony after people left from the New Year's celebrations. I was warned that I would not be able to sleep. The restaurantsand bars are located right below my balcony where Musicians, vendors, customers partied and worked till the wee hours of the morning. The plaza had ceremonial events to include marching bands, folklorico dancers, raising of the flag, TV broacasts, dancing etc. The front desk had young people on off hours and would were more interested in surfing the web. Hall lights, hot water and cable and were to me turned off for cost cutting purposes. The location is great to walk to the Cathedral, the Malecon, and museums. It was the time when kids were out of school, so there were many tourists. Forget having a quiet meal in nearby restaurants due to the vendors approaching you constantsly and the musicians trying to solicit their services. No one was rude, no matter how many times you said no. They cater to families so if you are alone, you will have to be very assertive to get service. The buses are like 70 pesos and there many routes. I hired a guide for a couple of trips and even though the guide was very knowledgeable and friend, I was charged too much since I was not a group. I should have taken a cab and paid the driver to show me around. Live and learn. Definitely fell in love with people and food. Viva Mexico! Tita
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

No Frills

Posted Sep 23, 2010
Hotel was adequate for what we needed. -it was clean and centrally located. The hallways were dark and the flooring was bad, but the rooms were about what I expected. The staff was friendly and helpful and the old elevator in the lobby was really cool. We arrived a 3 AM and the music outside of hotel was VERY loud; however, we were given a room at the back of the hotel so the noise was not a problem. Would stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Queretaro, Mexico

Convenient downtown location

Posted Feb 24, 2010
The Hotel Imperial is located on the zocalo, or main square, or Veracruz. This means that it is in the center of activity, which has both its benefits and drawbacks. You are close to all the downtown restaurants, bars, and sites of interest, but at the same time in the center of all the exurberance and noise of the city center. My wife and I were there during Carnival and enjoyed the experience, but had to contend with the music and crowds in the area. The Hotel itself is an older building showing signs of wear. Our room was on two levels and we had to climb a spiral staircase to room the bedroom and bathroom. We were satisfied with our stay. Hotel staff was helpful.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 8, 2009 on Hotels.com