Ratings based on 356 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel

Posted Mar 26, 2015
Very clean and safe area. I will definitely recommended to friends for college tours.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom rochester, ny

nice get away.

Posted Mar 22, 2015
first timer to Vernon Downs. enjoyed the friendliness of a small racino. very reasonable buffet & points accumulated fairly fast....nice having hotel next to racino. will definitely visit again!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Help

Posted Mar 18, 2015
Pros: Parking
Cons: They need to invest some money to update it.
Location: Small community. Very friendly people and some very good restaurants near by. Apple Betty's and Pepi's.
This hotel needs help The thumb lock on our door was gone. Simply not there. Trying to rinse the shampoo out of your hair involved doing some kind of strange dance. The water pressure was so low through the shower and was the poorest that I have experienced.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 15, 2015
stayed at Vernon for a lot less than a nearby casino. Pool was nice and Mr. Gs restaurant was excellent! Drove to nearby casino to play games not offered at the racino. Will go again.. midweek price good deal
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 15, 2015
Rooms were great! Very clean and spacious with two double beds, couch, flat screen cable TV, small refrigerator, microwave and sink. Check-in was fast with easy check-out! Casino was clean and smoke free! It was a perfect hotel for our family to meet for a local wedding!
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom New Hampshire

So-so

Posted Mar 4, 2015
This hotel was quite dated. The love seat had a rip on one of the cushions, but otherwise it did seem pretty clean. Not enough outlets for the reality of modern life/charging of electronics. Front desk staff were polite and helpful. The woman who answered the phone for room service at the 777 Club was incredibly rude and nasty!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable Rooms unfriendly staff

Posted Feb 22, 2015
Pros: Beds and pillows
Cons: If people are not being bothersome to others leave them alone.
Location: Gambling
The rooms were very clean. Beds and pillows comfortable. Pool could have been warmer. Pool area could be warmer too. The staff seemed a bit grumpy. The front desk staff seemed very short and overwhelmed with the amount of people checking in. They spent a lot of time walking around telling people they couldn't do things. If it's a fire violation to sit in the halls, then you should remove the chairs from the hall. Other hotels in the area give you a little more freedom and don't breathe down your back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified travelerfrom Rochester, New York

Posted Feb 4, 2015
Pros: your staff were helpful and pleasant, hotel and room were very clean. I would improve what you serve for breakfast, ok but not great.
Cons: When I wake up in the morning I enjoy the paper, you had no papers at the desk or even outside where I could buy a paper. Your internet was slow
Location: I actually thought you were closer to Turning Stone, but the 5-6 miles wasn't all that bad. We had to attend the AHL All-Star Award ceremony there.
everything was great, enjoyed my stay. Your prices were fantastic, a lot cheaper than the hotel we were going to stay in, and the drive to Utica to see the AHL All-Star game was not very far away, express way was only a short distance from the hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Needs update

Posted Dec 8, 2014
Rooms look old and have cracked tiles in bathroom Water pressure is very low for the showers
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Finger Lakes area

Nice, quiet getaway

Posted Nov 30, 2014
Pros: Comfort, cleanliness, quietness and amenities such as coffee in the room made our stay nice. Connectivity to the casino and restaurant was a plus.
Cons: We arrived at 1:30, but could not check in until 3. The hotel did not appear to be very crowded, so that was odd.
Location: Proximity to Turning Stone Casino is a plus, as we stopped there before returning home.
Had an enjoyable overnight at the hotel and casino. Our room was very clean, the bed comfortable, and having the sofa and table in the room was extra nice. It was quiet for sleeping, too. An ice machine was located on our same floor, which is not the case at other hotels at which we have stayed. Having coffee in the room was an added amenity which we enjoyed.