Ratings based on 311 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 23, 2014
Nice size room. In Addition to the sleeping area, there was a sitting area, and tiny kitchen facility. The bed was comfortable and the bedding nice and soft. We will stay there again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ontario Canada

Cleaning Staff Needs a Heads Up!!

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Front desk staff were pleasant, efficient and knowledgable. Continental breakfast was adequate but should start at 6:00 am so people can get on the road. Biggest problem was the cleanliness of the room. At first glance it looked fine. Upon closer inspection you could tell the cleaning staff were not doing their jobs. There was a pen lid on the floor when we arrived and it was still there when we left two days later - so vacuuming either wasn't done or was done poorly. Behind the bathroom door and under the vanity looked like it hadn't been swept or mopped for some time.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Connecticut

hotel stay at vernon downs

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Pros: Pool and food were very good.
Cons: Gaming room good have a lot more games and the gambling place could have some card tables.
Location: We went to Apple Bettys restaurant and that was yummy. Then we wnt to visit Colgate college.
The hotel was very clean and the food was great! We got to sit out on the deck for supper and watch the horses race. My husband wanted to play at the gaming tables but they only had slot machines so he was a little disappointed. And my son wanted to play at the game room but that only had three games so that was a disappointment for him.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

just so-so

Posted Aug 16, 2014
This hotel was our last stop on a week of travel around New England and upstate New York. The lobby was very nice but our room was dirty. There were beer bottle tops and food crumbs on the floor. I would recommend skipping the free breakfast. We didn't go to the casino or track but they seemed like popular options.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Nice hotel with casino and horse racing track

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Pros: It is a proper hotel with on site restaurants.
The hotel was a hotel in the middle of nowhere but served my location purposes with a comfortable room, on site restaurants and lots of entertainment for the adult crowd eg casino, horse racing and a live band at the bar, the night we stayed in Aug 2014. Comfortable beds.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Avoid Vernon Downs

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Cons: Offer larger breakfast eating area. Very inadequate.
Poor housekeeping. Beds uncomfortable. Horrible sheets.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from toronto

Not bad...pretty good

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Located in the middle of nowhere, it's quiet and affordable. The casino gives the adults something to do at night.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 27, 2014
Clean enough but not particularly nice. Very average
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from connecticut

Posted Jul 24, 2014
Pros: Am interested in booking an adjoining room the Wednesday before thanksgiving...looking for prices and availabilityi
I thank Simon for help with my dilemma...my mom is sick...I had to punt with my reservation! Thanks for making things LESS stressful!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Better than I expected

Posted Jul 4, 2014
Cleanest room I have stayed in. Hotel staff extremely helpful. Highly recommended.