Ratings based on 317 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Milano

PERFETTO PER UNA SERATA ALL'ARENA!

Posted Jul 27, 2015
Ho soggiornato al Colomba d'Oro per una notte, in occasione di uno spettacolo all'Arena. La posizione è comodissima, a 100 metri dal celebre Anfiteatro e dalle vie dello shopping. L'hotel è sufficientemente confortevole, benchè le camere potrebbero essere più ampie e arredate con un mobilio più moderno. Classica l'offerta della colazione, ma comunque di buona qualità. Un hotel perfetto per chi cerca la comodità della posizione!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Illinois

Worth staying again and again

Posted Jun 11, 2015
Pros: Beautiful older hotel with exceptional modern amenities.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: There is no more central location that this hotel--and yet on a quiet side street with good restaurants with meters from the front door.
Wonderful staff, including people at check-in, bar, restaurant, and rest of the staff. Terrific location. 15 minute walk to train station (or 5 minutes by cab). 20 minutes to the airport.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Amherst, MA

Beautiful hotel close to the Arena.

Posted Jun 4, 2015
Pros: Charming hotel, good breakfast. Great location.
Location: Museums, town square with great restaurants, nice boutiques for shopping. Roman Arena with evening concerts.
Staff was courteous and professional. Charming hotel. We had a beautiful room, one block from the Arena, yet it was a quiet street.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Illinois

Beautiful historic hotel

Posted Jun 3, 2015
Pros: All of the above.
Cons: Nothing. In fact, I will be returning next week, and look forward to it.
Location: About a block from the major historic sites of the city, a block from Piazza Bra.
The facilities were excellent and the location definitely could not be beat--right in the heart of Verona, yet on a quite side street. Wonderful staff, nice bar and garden, and great room.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location. Unfriendly staff.

Posted May 21, 2015
Pros: The location is perfect.
Cons: The front desk staff does not seem to be accessible. They don't seem to want Americans to stay there (we don't speak much Italian)
Location: Right near the Coliseum and historic sights . Dinner at Locando 4 Cuochi (recommended by the front desk) was fabulous.
We arrived at noon and the woman at the front desk seemed very overwhelmed even though we were the only ones checking in . She seemed annoyed by our request for a map and some help with our location . After sightseeing we stopped at the desk for our key and to ask for a dinner suggestion . The man gave us the name of Locando 4 Cuochi a block away but did not offer to call to reserve a table. He wrote the name on our map but , for the life of me , I could not understand his writing . On this trip we were traveling for 18 days in northern Italy , staying at 7 different hotels . This hotel was the biggest disappointment of the trip . I don't think the personnel at this hotel want Americans .I would not recommend this hotel to friends.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gibraltar

Old world charm in centre of Verona

Posted May 18, 2015
Pros: We loved the bath. After a long day traipsing up and down Verona, Mantua and Vicenza, it was glorious to soak in a bath. It was also very restful.
Cons: Mattress was slightly hard and the hot water could have been hotter-luckily when we were there was a heat wave so we didn't miss the really hot water!
Location: Excellent location. Within easy walking distance from the Arena, the main shopping centre, the Via Mazzini, and some of the very beautiful churches
The Colomba d'Oro is an excellent hotel in the very heart of Verona. It is quiet, both during the day and at night, making resting and sleeping a pleasure. Breakfast is plentiful and varied, the rooms spacious and comfortable, the staff unfailingly polite, helpful and competent in English, though they love using their Italian with anyone who has a smattering of the language. I think this hotel deserves a very high rating as it combines a décor reminiscent of Renaissance Italy with all the convenience and comfort of mod cons.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Loud and bad manager

Posted May 7, 2015
I booked with free cancelation, stayed two nights of three booked and they charged me for third night anyway. Manager was worst I have dealt with in 35 years of traveling
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ottawa, Canada

Hotel near arena in Verona

Posted May 2, 2015
Pros: Location, staff, breakfast.
Cons: Updating of rooms, but this would take away from the charm.
Location: Close to main attractions in Verona. Easy to get around on foot.
The hotel could use some updating but the age adds a bit to the charm. It is in an excellent location not far from the main square where the roman arena is located. The room was spacious and comfortable. Enjoyed our stay. Breakfast was wonderful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from São Paulo

Hotel localizado no coração de Verona

Posted Apr 30, 2015
Pros: localização; café da manhã
Cons: diminuir o preço do estacionamento; cobrar EUR22,50 por noite é muito caro.
Location: extremamente bem localizado; fica praticamente do lado da arena; bem perto do Castelvecchio e da principal rua de comércio.
Apesar de ser um hotel antigo e com alguns problemas (meu quarto não ficava num piso servido por elevador) é bem mantido e tudo funciona. Excelente café da manhã e o pessoal é super atencioso. A localização é o ponto alto. Perto de tudo. Super conveniente para turistas. Ponto negativo: o estacionamento é muito caro.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from SE England

A lovely quiet hotel close to Piazza Bra

Posted Apr 30, 2015
Pros: Style, comfort, quietness, closeness to everything
Location: Just one street away from Piazza Bra, the Arena and all the attractions. Everything in walking distance.
Comfortable room, quiet neighbourhood, close to restaurants and centre of Verano. Good breakfast, attentive staff.