Ratings based on 312 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location. Unfriendly staff.

Posted May 21, 2015
Pros: The location is perfect.
Cons: The front desk staff does not seem to be accessible. They don't seem to want Americans to stay there (we don't speak much Italian)
Location: Right near the Coliseum and historic sights . Dinner at Locando 4 Cuochi (recommended by the front desk) was fabulous.
We arrived at noon and the woman at the front desk seemed very overwhelmed even though we were the only ones checking in . She seemed annoyed by our request for a map and some help with our location . After sightseeing we stopped at the desk for our key and to ask for a dinner suggestion . The man gave us the name of Locando 4 Cuochi a block away but did not offer to call to reserve a table. He wrote the name on our map but , for the life of me , I could not understand his writing . On this trip we were traveling for 18 days in northern Italy , staying at 7 different hotels . This hotel was the biggest disappointment of the trip . I don't think the personnel at this hotel want Americans .I would not recommend this hotel to friends.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Gibraltar

Old world charm in centre of Verona

Posted May 18, 2015
Pros: We loved the bath. After a long day traipsing up and down Verona, Mantua and Vicenza, it was glorious to soak in a bath. It was also very restful.
Cons: Mattress was slightly hard and the hot water could have been hotter-luckily when we were there was a heat wave so we didn't miss the really hot water!
Location: Excellent location. Within easy walking distance from the Arena, the main shopping centre, the Via Mazzini, and some of the very beautiful churches
The Colomba d'Oro is an excellent hotel in the very heart of Verona. It is quiet, both during the day and at night, making resting and sleeping a pleasure. Breakfast is plentiful and varied, the rooms spacious and comfortable, the staff unfailingly polite, helpful and competent in English, though they love using their Italian with anyone who has a smattering of the language. I think this hotel deserves a very high rating as it combines a décor reminiscent of Renaissance Italy with all the convenience and comfort of mod cons.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Loud and bad manager

Posted May 7, 2015
I booked with free cancelation, stayed two nights of three booked and they charged me for third night anyway. Manager was worst I have dealt with in 35 years of traveling
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Ottawa, Canada

Hotel near arena in Verona

Posted May 2, 2015
Pros: Location, staff, breakfast.
Cons: Updating of rooms, but this would take away from the charm.
Location: Close to main attractions in Verona. Easy to get around on foot.
The hotel could use some updating but the age adds a bit to the charm. It is in an excellent location not far from the main square where the roman arena is located. The room was spacious and comfortable. Enjoyed our stay. Breakfast was wonderful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom São Paulo

Hotel localizado no coração de Verona

Posted Apr 30, 2015
Pros: localização; café da manhã
Cons: diminuir o preço do estacionamento; cobrar EUR22,50 por noite é muito caro.
Location: extremamente bem localizado; fica praticamente do lado da arena; bem perto do Castelvecchio e da principal rua de comércio.
Apesar de ser um hotel antigo e com alguns problemas (meu quarto não ficava num piso servido por elevador) é bem mantido e tudo funciona. Excelente café da manhã e o pessoal é super atencioso. A localização é o ponto alto. Perto de tudo. Super conveniente para turistas. Ponto negativo: o estacionamento é muito caro.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom SE England

A lovely quiet hotel close to Piazza Bra

Posted Apr 30, 2015
Pros: Style, comfort, quietness, closeness to everything
Location: Just one street away from Piazza Bra, the Arena and all the attractions. Everything in walking distance.
Comfortable room, quiet neighbourhood, close to restaurants and centre of Verano. Good breakfast, attentive staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Ideale Lage bei der Arena

Posted Apr 27, 2015
Pros: Sehr freundliches Personal, insbesondere an der Reception.
Cons: Zum Frühstück gibt es nur Weißbrot. Vielleicht könnte man etwas Vollkornbrot hinzufügen.
Insgesamt angenehmer Aufenthalt. Kann das Hotel weiterempfehlen.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location, cool vibe (converted building)

Posted Apr 20, 2015
Pros: Easy and close to Main colleseum, theatre and other areas
Cons: Buidling is older, street below can be a little noise(late night club is close by)
Location: See above
Good location but depending on the room can be pretty noisy at times. Good vibe and helpful staff
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Roma

Albergo grazioso ottima posizione

Posted Mar 10, 2015
Pros: La posizione , staff, camere
Cons: Arredamento sale comuni, e corridoi
Location: É in una strada tranquilla dietro piazza Bra, ma con ristoranti vicino. si raggiungono tutte le attrazioni di Verona in 10-15 minuti a piedi.
Un week end a Verona in coppia adulti. ottima posizione perché centralissimo, subito dietro piazza Bra, ma in una strada tranquilla. La camera é gradevole , non troppo grande ma nemmeno piccola, il bagno comodo anche se la vasca/doccia un po' piccola. Tutto molto pulito. Colazione a buffet molto normale , senza cose particolari: cornetti e torte non sembrano fatte "in casa" , marmellate e miele tutto industriale ma il personale è efficiente e cortese. Hall molto bella ma gli spazi comuni come salottini e corridoi sono vecchio stile , con divani in pelle tristissimi, andrebbe rimodernato e riarredato. Comunque lo consiglierei perché ha un buon rapporto qualità prezzo .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Bel Albergo in pieno centro

Posted Mar 1, 2015
Storico albergo veramente bello,con personale di estrema gentilezza.La camera era spaziosa così come il bagno.Otttima la colazione.infine la posizione e'perfetta perche'di trova praticamente a piazza Bra.assolutamente da consigliare.