Ratings based on 528 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom UK

Great value and excellent location

Posted Mar 9, 2015
Pros: The location, comfortable clean rooms. Helpful staff and lovely breakfast.
Cons: The breakfast was very good but towards the end of the allocated serving times, it was prone to run out of a few items.
Location: This is within walking distance of most attractions and only 10 mins from Termini. Look out for hidden gems of bars/restaurants in nearby backstreets.
We stayed at this hotel for 3 days and really enjoyed it. The location was great and within walking distance to most of the attractions. The hotel staff were always helpful and eager to be of assistance. Our room was clean and comfortable and we enjoyed the breakfast buffet that was on offer with a good choice of warm dishes. Overall it was a superb short trip and value for money.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location and very clean

Posted Jan 9, 2015
Pros: A very clean hotel and in a good area of the city.
Cons: Everything was a bit tired, it would benefit from a good overhaul.
Location: It was far enough out of the centre of Rome to escape the crowds but only a 15/20 minute walk to the main attractions. Great restaurants close by.
We stayed for five nights and overall it was a good stay but I wouldn't consider this a 4 star hotel. As other reviewers have said the rooms are small as are the showers but this wasn't a problem as we were only in our rooms to sleep, shower and get back out into the beautiful city of Rome. We had two rooms which were interconnected, one of the rooms was tiny and the other slightly bigger. Both were well furnished and kept very clean throughout our stay. We didn't have hot water for one of the days but this was put right when we told reception and one of the minibars wasn't working, we soon discovered it was just the plug not being all the way in, neither of these issues was a deal breaker just annoying. My biggest gripe was that we had very little natural light in the rooms which made it very gloomy and difficult to read maps etc. even with all the lights on. The receptionist that checked us in was very helpful as was the porter that took our bags to the room and the breakfast staff were good. Breakfast was a huge array of food which covered all tastes and expectations. The lift is small and slow and on the last day we discovered the stairs, just wish we had found them sooner! We also found the bar on our last day but this wasn't an issue as there were a couple of good shops just a few doors away stocking all manner of drinks and snacks. It is in a very nice area with some excellent restaurants nearby, which was good as there is not one in the hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

fint værelse med super morgenmad

Posted Dec 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
Dejligt ophold med super morgenmads buffet. Hotellet ligger dejligt ugeneret men med mulighed for at gå til det meste :-)De havde desværre lidt problemer med elevatoren da vi var der, ærgeligt når der kun er nød trappe
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

Budget and location friendly central Rome hotel

Posted Sep 15, 2014
Pros: Location, cost, room size, cleanliness, staff helpfulness, close proximity to authentic (ie non-touristy) Italian restaurants
Cons: (i) TV in one of the rooms kept bugging out (ii) increase the number of English speaking TV channels (iii) serve freshly made coffee at Breakfast
Location: Walking distance to Termini station, the Colosseum and Palatine Hill, Villa Borghese, Trevi Fountain, Spanish steps, central shopping centres
Small and cosy hotel ideally situated in central Rome, just 15mins walk from Termini station, 30-35mins from the Colosseum and Palatine Hill, and a few minutes from the splendid Spanish Steps, Trevi fountain etc..Friendly staff, full of useful titbits, clean and spacious rooms (Classic), nice firm beds, and hearty helpings of English and Continental-style breakfast
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Dorthe og Arnefrom Norge

Bra beliggenhet, god service.

Posted Sep 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
Vi er svært godt fornøyd med vårt opphold på hotel Gambrinus.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Europe Tripfrom USA

Posted Sep 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
The front desk was helpful with the location during our stay. But the room is old and run down. There a door that lead to the next room and I can see into the other room thru the key hole. So there is no privacy. Second, we got charge for missing towels when we check out. We talk to the maid and show her where all the towels are at but she didn't understand. So make sure you count all your towels and separated them before you check out because they will charge you $10 Euro plus...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Birmingham, UK

Perfect Location

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Pros: Close to attractions, cheap, clean, lovely staff.
Location: The location of the hotel is perfect, it was about a 20-30 minute walk to the Trevi Fountain and Spanish Steps.
The Hotel was a perfect location for us to explore Rome; its not too far away from the centre but its not too close so that everything nearby was too expensive. The hotel rooms were clean and tidy and were cleaned daily if you put the sign on the door so say that you wanted the room cleaning. The staff were lovely and friendly and had no trouble helping us with directions when we needed them. Overall was pleased with our stay at Hotel Gambrinus for what we paid for the 5 nights, however the only thing we were disappointed with was that the restaurant only serves breakfast and room service and the bar is quite limited.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotell strax utanför stadskärnan

Posted Jul 26, 2014
Cons: Installera brandvarnare och utrymningsplan!
Location: 15 minuters promenad till Terministationen (buss/tåg) och Villa Borghese, 10 minuters promenad till tunnelbana. Långt att gå till berömda sevärdheter
Hotellet har en "huvudbyggnad"/huvudingång men har också rum (gamla lägenheter) i andra trappuppgångar i närheten. Vi fick bo ett sådant rum som var tillfredställande. Renligt rum med AC (som var på dygnet runt) utan störande trafik. Trevlig frukostpresonal och normal standard på frukostbuffén, personalen köpte in glutenfritt bröd på begäran. Receptionspersonalen varierade i bemötande (alla hälsade inte, ingen var dock otrevlig). Minus för att brandvarnare, utrymningsplan och nödutgång saknades i hela trappuppgången. Gratis Wifi, datorer finns i lobbyn.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Enkelt og bra hotell

Posted Jul 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
Greit hotell, super beliggenhet. Meget god service på hotellet, og bra frokost.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 11, 2014 on Hotels.com