Ratings based on 108 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom UK

A great place to stay

Posted Nov 30, 2014
Pros: The room and the location.
Cons: Some protection from mosquitos in the dining area.
Location: Close to the Zambesi river with river cruises available right by the hotel. Victoria Falls is about a 10 minute ride away.
We stayed for two nights in an apartment. It was modern and the decor was extremely pleasant. Flatscreen in both the bedroom and the lounge. Certainly we felt we had our money's worth. The bed had surround mosquito net (a must in this region). The lounge opened on to the lawn and swimming pool with a view of the Zambesi river. Outside furniture was also a part of the apartment, but we had to keep the doors and windows closed as there were velvet monkeys and banded mongoose around. A hippo came up on the lawn during the night, and by the river was the warning sign,'beware of crocodiles'. The dining area was good, and the food (breakfast and evening meal) worth the price. Breakfast was a variety of fruit, melon, sausage, bacon and eggs cooked while you wait to your taste. Evening meal was a varied menu, or buffet (your choice) with everything from steak, to chicken to crocodile. After a slight misunderstanding regarding our first evening meal, management went out of their way to ensure that we enjoyed the rest of our stay and nothing was too much trouble. The hotel supplies a free bus to and from Victoria Falls which runs about four times a day. We would stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by federicafrom torino

ottima posizione e aspetto generale

Posted Oct 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
hotel bello curato e in ottima posizione sul fiume. camere ben tenute, pulite e confortevoli. piscina pulitissima. ottima colazione.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Bigmammafrom Northern Ireland

Great location

Posted Oct 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
Everything was fantastic. Only problem was they got our booking wrong. So for one night My Husband and brother had a really rubbish room. Everything was sorted second.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Israel

Excellent hotel close to Kruger gate

Posted Oct 25, 2014
Pros: Very friendly staff, work hard to make you happy. very good food.
Cons: No television in rooms, wifi in room too weak
Location: Close to Kruger park, go to the park as much as possible
Great experiance in the Kruger park and the hotel,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Johnfrom Plymouth UK

Review

Posted Oct 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
Excellent service - lovely hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Steve Bfrom Perth

Great location, excellent rooms..

Posted Oct 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
Enjoyed our stay at the A Zambezi.. The rooms were well maintained and A/C worked well.. WIFI in the rooms was a bit hit and miss but was fine in the reception.. A free shuttle bus to town and the Falls was also provided..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Paul Efrom Haslemere, Surrey, England

Home away from home.

Posted Oct 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
Fantastic. The staff were very friendly.It felt like we were at home away from home.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Travellerfrom AZ, USA

Nice hotel, not responsive service

Posted Oct 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
We booked the room for 2 nights in Sep 2014 with hotels.com and it was stated on the confirmation that breakfast was included, However, when we checked-in, we were told that breakfast would costs additional USD30 /person per day. I showed the printout of the confirmation email from hotels.com which clearly indicated breakfast and WIFI were included in the price, but the front desk did not honor it. We were already tired and thought we were not going to have breakfast at hotel anyway. Our room was nice and clean with mosquito net. However, service was extremely slow. When we were shown the room, the front desk guy who showed us the room realized the hair dryer and TV remote control were missing. To our disappointment, he did not even call and follow-up with the housing keeping. We had to call the front desk in the evening four hours later asking about it. After calling three times and waited for another 2 hours, they finally delivered the remote control and hair dryer to our room. The location of the hotel is quite far from town and the Victoria Falls national park. They do have free shuttle bus (which was used as employees transportation as well?) every two hours from 9:00 am to about 5:00 pm (if not mistaken). So, if you do not want to have dinner at hotel that costs USD30, you need to take taxi back which can easily be found in town. We noticed that during our stay, most of the guests were with tour groups.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by makikofrom Orange county, ca

a great stay

Posted Oct 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
What a fun hotel! Loved that it was on the river and there is a complimentary shuttle to the city and falls! Also exciting was seeing some wild animals on the grounds... saw both warthogs and cape buffalos. The best part was the friendly staff. The only downside was our room was missing a safe. I notified the staff so hopefully who ever gets room 140 next won't have the same problem.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Robertfrom Payson AZ

Right On The River

Posted Sep 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
Staff was very helpful, Good breakfast buffet, entertainment at dinner. Warthogs mow the lawn!