Ratings based on 104 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 29, 2015
The hotel was lovely and the staff very attentive. They were perhaps a bit too focussed on selling us tourist activities, but still good. The food at the hotel is very nice. The only drawbacks were the very loud AC in the room, the preponderance of single beds with separate mosquito nets (as opposed to doubles or queens under one net) and the smoke driving into the bathroom from the courtyard below
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Australia

Very pleasurable

Posted Apr 13, 2015
Pros: stunning surrounds
Location: Most central hotel of Victoria Falls, easy walking distance to falls.
did not get room with view of falls, but still comfortable room with view over courtyard. Air conditioning worked well. Large heritage hotel, well maintained, nice to stay in and absorb the history of the hotel. Stayed 2 nights, first meal outside with show of traditional dancing. Helicopter flight over falls a must, collected from the hotel. Breakfast with falls in background. 2nd night extravagance with meal in Livingstone Restaraunt, which was a great experience. Small gym but only we used it and serviceable for us. Staff all pleasant and accommodating.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom PERTH

Historic Hotel Ripe for a Take over

Posted Apr 7, 2015
Pros: The refurbished wing is worth what we paid for the unfurbished one. The gardens and photos are well maintained. The scenic vista is so mesmerising
Cons: The middle management needs to be EMPOWERED to sort these petty matters, rather than the high up managers. The charges need to be reviewed.
Location: Beautiful soothing historic surrounds! Vic Falls from Zambia side is better than Zim
During the booking we requested for a double bed instead of single beds which was no problem at the booking time but would be confirmed nearer time. 3 weeks prior on inquiring about it, there was no reply. On check in it was we are sorting it meanwhile you take this. The room was NOT WORTH the money, the electric sockets weren't working, the aircon wasn't working. On complaining we were shifted to another where things weren't better. Again we were shifted into a miniature room with a double bed. There was no room to move and surprise surprise the aircon wasn't going to work. Again complained and the electrician sorted it out. Five minutes later the circuit tripped again and it continued on for a few more times. This time the Duty Manager was brunting the anger rather than the front office staff.I must say the staff were very apologetic, sympathetic & nice but didn't have the power to rectify things. These rooms were in the wing which is being "upgraded" and the Hotel is cheating people by renting these substandard room at a premium. We wasted the afternoon in sorting these problems. The next morning we sought the Duty Manager to fix our problems or we were quitting. He was recommending upgrading but the approval had to come from above. The Deputy Gen Manager finally accepted the upgrade after interviewing us. The new wing is excellent. The staff are very supportive and cordial. The decisions need to be made on the spot to rectify worsening matters but here it is HISTORIC.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom carson City. NV USA

Safari to Victoria fall

Posted Apr 1, 2015
Pros: beautiful setting, the atmosphere and great staff
Extended our safari trip by two days to see VF Airline cancellation created only a short time (early morning hours) instead of the two days planned to visit the area. Your staff was helpful and went out of their way to make it all happen; provided the wheelchair for my partner and a guide; so we could get to the falls and quickly on to the River cruise and then hustle us to catch a shuttle to the airport. What a great staff you have and a beautiful hotel that sadly had too little time to enjoy. I will be back! Beatrice 'Betty' Razor
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 25, 2015
Location: Very good Location, next to the railway station and walking distance to the falls
Very relaxed stay in superb surrounding, awesome swimming pool
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom UK

Stunning location - faultless service

Posted Mar 12, 2015
Pros: superb service from all members of staff
Location: do the Evening river cruise. Drink at the Vic Falls Safari Lodge bar overlooking the watering hole.
an oasis of calm and order. That is all I have to say - I do not know why Expedia reviews demand a certain length!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

great views

Posted Feb 24, 2015 
Fantastic location and views. Old colonial building, great service, a little dated.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Aliciafrom NY, NY

The Victoria Falls Hotel

Posted Feb 19, 2015 
The grounds of this hotel are gorgeous. Views of the falls and a path that leads directly to it (5min walk). The hotel is over 100yrs old. The rooms could use a little renovation. Extensive breakfast buffet in the outdoor restaurant. The staff was very nice. The travel agents inside the hotel are not associated with hotel and are priced higher than those in town. A few min walk to the Casino.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great stay.

Posted Feb 19, 2015 
We had a great stay here. Unfortunately it was only for one night, but the staff was lovely and everything was well kept. By far the best option if you want to be within walking distance of the falls.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 17, 2015
tres bel hotel mythique de l'époque coloniale britannique; emplacement idéal, vues magnifiques