Ratings based on 90 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 29, 2013
5 out of 5
Recommended
by k mcintyrefrom duncan bc

close to the Jubilee hospital where I needed to go

Posted Oct 30, 2013 on Hotels.com
excellent and the building is beautiful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Andyfrom Nanaimo

Posted Oct 15, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hosts were very accommodating to our food allergies, the location was ideal to easily access downtown while still being away from the hustle and bustle, and the ambience made for a wonderful getaway..will definitely stay here again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Martinfrom Bend, Or.

Great old Victorian

Posted Oct 13, 2013 on Hotels.com
Easy 2 mile walk to restaurants, shops and harbor. Breakfast was tasty but a bit slow in coming. Quiet and comfortable room. Would have been cozy to have the in-room fireplace working, but no. It's a true Victorian.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful restored Victorian.

Posted Sep 23, 2013
Unfortunately, there appears to be some management issues (owner is gone? the staff were very run down and overworked) but outside of that we had a very pleasant stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to castle.

Posted Sep 18, 2013
Quaint charm. Slow but excellent breakfast. Stayed here with a child felt like a royal experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Fair experience

Posted Sep 11, 2013 on Hotels.com
While the B&B overall had the vintage charm of a typical Victoria B&B with a beautiful common room and classic wooden staircase, our room was somewhat drab (damaged blinds) and devoid of unique details that make B&B experiences unique. This might have been because we had booked a lower budget room. We had requested a different room (terrace room) during booking than what we got (garden room). We were told that our requested room was not available when we checked in and were given a room in the same rate class with a bigger bathtub (which was nice). We didn't complain because the garden room was on the ground floor with some shade that was desirable because Victoria was hot when we visited in early July. Breakfast and service were good but nothing special or memorable. The location was close to Craigdarroch castle but not close to the harbor or downtown.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Staffordfrom San Francisco Bay Area

First time at a B&B

Posted Sep 8, 2013 on Hotels.com
The house was built in 1885 and the decor is consistent with that time period. We stayed in the Ducchess Room, touted as one of the larger stately rooms (Tip: call ahead to discuss your room). They had free wifi, DVD player and flat screen TV with two comfy sitting chairs in our room. Also our room had a fireplace that we didn't get to use because we there during summer. Our king mattress was quite comfortable after a relaxing bubble bath in the two person jacuzzi (you can't use the jacuzzi after 10pm - house rules). In the morning we had breakfast in the dining room with the other guests, which was good for conversing with new friends. We were greeted with a yogurt parfaits, muffins, coffee, orange or apple juice. The breakfast entrees were French toast, sausage and fruit on the first day and Eggs Benedict, bacon and fruit on day two. It would have been nice if they offered a choice of entree. This was a two man job that could have used a third as service was slow. We had too much going on in other parts of Victoria so I didn't get to really check out Oak Bay so the location felt inconvenient.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Looks old, smells old, feels old

Posted Sep 4, 2013
This is not a terrible b&b, but it's not a great one either. The house is very old and is filled with very old knick-knacks. The carpeting in the rooms is old. Everything is old. Old houses can be restored and look and feel great; in the case of the Amethyst Inn, it looks and feels tacky. Lots of stairs: if you're concerned about accessibility, this one is definitely not for you. Also, there are no real showers, only bathtubs with 'hoses'. You can pretend you're in an old hotel in Europe. Breakfast is good, but you need a lot of time. Staff are unprofessional, if mostly friendly. But then again, you're in Canada – everyone's reasonably friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified travelerfrom France

Posted Aug 25, 2013 on Hotels.com
Endroit superbe - a recommander !