Ratings based on 79 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 29, 2013
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful restored Victorian.

Posted Sep 23, 2013
Unfortunately, there appears to be some management issues (owner is gone? the staff were very run down and overworked) but outside of that we had a very pleasant stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to castle.

Posted Sep 18, 2013
Quaint charm. Slow but excellent breakfast. Stayed here with a child felt like a royal experience.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Looks old, smells old, feels old

Posted Sep 4, 2013
This is not a terrible b&b, but it's not a great one either. The house is very old and is filled with very old knick-knacks. The carpeting in the rooms is old. Everything is old. Old houses can be restored and look and feel great; in the case of the Amethyst Inn, it looks and feels tacky. Lots of stairs: if you're concerned about accessibility, this one is definitely not for you. Also, there are no real showers, only bathtubs with 'hoses'. You can pretend you're in an old hotel in Europe. Breakfast is good, but you need a lot of time. Staff are unprofessional, if mostly friendly. But then again, you're in Canada – everyone's reasonably friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kerry

the Duchess suite

Posted Aug 24, 2013
Pros: the age and the atmosphere was lovely and at the same time a very modern bathroom
Cons: Not much, if it was a little cheaper we could afford to stay more often but we will be back.
My dream house, my dream room, I want to live there. Everything was up to expectations and just like out of a fairytale. Breakfast was very good and more than enough to eat, very friendly service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful and very comfortable!

Posted Aug 20, 2013
Pros: The decor is terrific, everything a person might want is at your fingertips, very clean, friendly staff. GREAT!!
Cons: Wifi was a little weak.
We had a wonderful time. Management has thought of everything in order to ensure that guests are comfortable and have everything they need. The property is gorgeous and feels like you are stepping back in time (with the benefit of modern conveniences). The staff is friendly, accommodating and very helpful. We would definitely stay here again, and recommend it to anyone. The bed in the 'Victoria' room was a little soft for me, but my mother loved it. Terrific feeling throughout and a happy place to be while in Victoria.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Valerie from Ottawa, Ontario

The best B & B so far.

Posted Aug 14, 2013
Pros: Staff were always there to help with your needs.
Location: Easy to find, quiet and parking is free.
Staff are number one at this B & B. They are very helpful and go above and beyond what one would normally expect of a B & B. The property is charming and very well kept. Breakfast was very fresh and more than ample. I would stay at the Amethyst Inn again - 5 days was not long enough.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent stay! Very comfy!

Posted Aug 12, 2013
Pros: The hospitality is excellent, thanks to the staff. Loved its elegance, true Victorian style.
Location: Good location, close to downtown.
This place is absolutely charming! I love the classic Victorian design, furniture,details etc. It is truly elegant. Our suite was very clean and comfortable. It had all the necessary amenities. Bed was comfortable, so we had a good sleep. A bonus was that we had a shower in addition to the jet-tub (hotel details online shows only jet-tub). The common areas are quite spacious and visually pleasing. Good place to have a chat with your fellow traveler or enjoy a good book. The breakfast I was served was very tasty and complete. Hospitality was excellent. Staff were very helpful and attentive. The location is very convenient, step away from public transit and minutes away from downtown via bus or car. I wish I was able to stay longer to enjoy it even more!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Patti from Arizona

Beautiful hotel. Too far to walk to down town.

Posted Aug 10, 2013
Pros: Very historical grandeur feel. Large rooms. Great bed! Two person jet tub was fun.
Matt was easily available to answer questions before we arrived. Had limited time in Victoria due to limited ferries and poor planning on our part. Hotel was fantastic though.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Weschester, New York

Charming B & B

Posted Jul 28, 2013
Pros: The staff was excellent, the breakfast was delicious, wonderful Victorian house.
Cons: The decor of the rooms needs to be updated.
A lovely third floor room, wonderful breeze, very, very pleasant. Would stay there again.