Ratings based on 213 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

Nice hotel close to downtown

Posted Jul 17, 2014
Don't judge the hotel until you see the nice newly updated rooms. Nice and quiet, and fabulous value for money if you are prepared to walk a little way into downtown, but there are plenty of buses go by. Best of all the rooms have AC units!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nope, never and not again!

Posted Jul 17, 2014
Pros: the staff where ok
Cons: I would improve by not staying their again
Location: poor location for us!
tiny rooms, uncomfortable beds, holes in the plumbing wall in the bathroom! Not a place to stay on Vacation! Staff was okay!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good

Posted Jul 16, 2014
Pros: staff helpful
Location: Good location to down town. Lots of shopping close by
Our stay at Arbutus was fine. The rooms are small but the beds were super comfy. The rooms work best for single or double occupancy. No restaurant on site but there are places close by for breakfast.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver Island, BC

Needs an upgrade

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Cons: Everything needs a upgrade!!!
Location: That was the only plus about staying here...it was convenient to other locations.
The towels had seen better days...the ledges around the window and the baseboards were caked in dust and grime...the TV stand was so outdated and made it very cumbersome to operate the remote from the bed...coffee appliances were a kettle and instant coffee...the air conditioner was so loud, I could not have it on at night, so consequently I was hot all night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from W

Very clean and comfortable

Posted Jul 13, 2014
I found the hotel very difficult ti find at first. There is a big sign but the big National car rental sign underneath it takes away from the hotel sign. Room way very clean and comfortable. I had a room on the first floor, would stay on second floor next time as first floor is like a bi-level and when you look out the window you are staring at wheels of vehicles parked outside. The staff were very friendly and helpful.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC

Smaller hotel located a short drive from Downtown.

Posted Jul 12, 2014
Pros: Cleanliness was good, the staff was nice, and the price was pretty decent.
Cons: The location isn't ideal, but that's not really something that can be changed. Overall, I'd say it was fine.
Location: Downtown Victoria, Royal BC Museum, Parliament Buildings, Restaurants are all nearby.
My experience at the Arbutus Inn was very decent. It was not the most luxurious hotel, but for the money, it was good. We stayed for the weekend after Canada Day, and it was decently busy. Our stay of 3 days and 2 nights was quite nice. I will review the good and bad things, as well as the amenities. Good things: -Clean rooms and prompt cleaning service during the day. -Friendly staff and knowledgeable. -Close to downtown and services. Mediocre things: -Floor 1 is at Parking lot level, so privacy isn't the greatest in those rooms. -A lovely view of Douglas Street on one side, and the National Car Rental lot on the other. -Room is a bit smaller than the pictures show. -Parking is quite limited, and the layout of the parking lot isn't ideal. -The surrounding area is a bit more industrial-oriented than expected, but not sketchy by any means. Overall, I would still recommend staying here if you don't need to stay downtown in one of the more upscale hotels. It is, quite literally, a two minute drive to get to downtown, and there's ample parking downtown even on a busy weekend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Richmond,BC

very good on a small budget,close to local transit

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: clean and cosy,free wifi and free parking
Cons: love it if there is cream available for morning coffee
Location: on the outskirts of downtown but close enough for a walk to tourist attractions,antique stores and china town and only 25-30 mins walk to downtown
on a small budget very nice room, quiet but only thing that bothered were the garbage trucks that come right in the early morning hours.it's close to abc country restaurant,convenient for breakfast and late dinners.and also close to the public transit that goes straight to downtown tourist attractions area,or just take a 25 minute walk exploring the government street or douglas street.Overall very good hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nova Scotia, Canada

Good for the money, but small

Posted Jul 6, 2014
We are satisfied with the hotel. Anne at the reception was really nice. The hotel is 20" walk from downtown. The beds were comfortable. The only issue was the small room. We were three and with our luggage was difficult to move around. Besides that its a good option for those traveling to Victoria.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great for the price

Posted Jun 21, 2014
Location: Close to downtown.
The title says it all. Nothing fancy but if you're looking for somewhere affordable and clean to spend the night I'd recommend this hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Must have ongoing renovations, half decent hotel..

Posted Jun 9, 2014
Overall outside look of the hotel is kind of dingy looking. Room at first seems nice, the carpet, linens, bed, etc. However, the bathroom needed some serious improvements. The toilet had yellow marks on them, just old bathroom all together. Other than the bathroom, I felt I got what I paid for.