Ratings based on 678 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in downtown

Posted Aug 20, 2014
nice hotel which located just two blocks away from parliament centre,room is clean and classic, price is acceptable,staff are kind too
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Rather dated and lacking character

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: Local to the middle of Victoria but lacking star quality
Cons: Redecoration
Old and dated with no real effort to bring a more contemporary feel to the hotel. Clean though so an overnight stay was fine.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Surrey, BC

'Eclectic' hotel in great location!

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Pros: Atmosphere, front desk staff and location...location is key to enjoying the whole experience of the attractions, the waterfront and Chinatown.
Cons: Parking situation and perhaps putting in central air conditioning or updating the in-room air conditioners
Location: Perfect location. The waterfront, the museums, Chinatown, Bastion Square...so many great attractions are within walking distance. Great location!!
We enjoyed our stay. We found the overall feeling was pleasant, welcoming and comfortable. We could walk to so many tourist attractions which was great! It would be nice to have central air conditioning as our in-room air conditioner was effective but noisy. I did not like the parking situation. I understand the limited space downtown but parking approximately 3 blocks away in the Public Parking was inconvenient.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington

Great location

Posted Aug 13, 2014
We absolutely loved our hotel room. The rooms were very spacious. The only complaint we have is that our mattress was terrible. Both nights we woke up with back pain, and second morning I woke up with a headache because of back pain. Other than that the room was clean, the staff was great, and the location was perfect. New mattress might be a great investment. If that had been different I would have given a perfect review.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Great location 2 blocks from the waterfront

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Pros: The location is fantastic, right in the heart of downtown Victoria.
Cons: The decor and room ammenites could certainly be updated.
Location: Close to the provincial museum, government buildings, harbour, shopping, restaurants and tourist attractions such as whale watching and harbour tours.
We were a little nervous when we arrived to find our hotel on busy Government Street with no parking in sight, but found at check-in that parking is provided for $11 extra per day at a parking facility one block away. This was fine for us, as the weather was warm and sunny; we left the car there for our overnight/one day visit We were in the heart of downtown Victoria, with restaurants, the museum, movie theatres and shops all within walking distance (and we did all these!). Typical of the "boutique" moniker, this is a very old building with interesting room layouts; our sink was in the bedroom. The room decor is quite dated, and our view was the roof/opposite window, but the room was spotlessly clean and the bed large and comfortable. Other than a noisy airconditioner, the room was very quiet. Though not my choice for an extended stay, I would happily do a night or two here again. The location was fantastic and the front desk staff were polite and helpful.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Aug 7, 2014
Found it to look better on picture than in person. The rooms are a bit dated and could use a good cleaning. Great location though!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Saskatoon, SK

Nice old hotel in a great location

Posted Jul 27, 2014
Had a great week long stay at this hotel. The hotel is older and has a lot of character which we really appreciated. It was always nice and quiet even with two bars directly underneath us. Rooms were always extremely clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Great location. Quiet. Vintage feel.

Posted Jul 25, 2014
Pros: Vintage charm, location, location, location! You could walk everywhere.
Cons: Better air con, but its rarely that warm in Victoria.
Location: Shopping, sights, museums, restaurants,
Yes, its an old hotel, but Victoria is all about history, so its a great fit. If you are looking for super modern facilities and spa like setting, keep looking; this place offers charm inplace of jetted tubs. We brought the kids, got a room with two doubles and were able to sit on the window ledge and people watch on busy government street. We'll stay there again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC

At least it was convienient?

Posted Jul 23, 2014
This hotel was definitely sub par. When promised a view of the harbor, we were instead met with a "view" (if you can even call it that) of a filthy inner chamber between rooms. This hotel needs a serious update and looks shabby and run down. We ended up booking a room at this hotel last minute after discovering that all the rooms at our usual favorite, the Oswego Hotel, were booked. We are not trying to sound like hotel snobs, and maybe the room we were given was significantly worse than others, but we strongly disagree with all the reviews. A huge problem for us was that every time the room next to us flushed the toilet or used the shower, we would hear the loud noises of the pipes working. The walls were also paper thin and we could hear every hallway conversation or door opening clearly. The sink was in the bedroom as opposed to the bathroom, which was just downright odd. The bed, at least, was fairly comfortable, and the room was clean enough. The flat screen TV was nice, also. The best thing this hotel has going for it is the location, as it is really in the heart of downtown. Another thing that the other reviews failed to mention was the strange and strong odor that plagues the hallways and lobby. We would give this hotel 2 stars, and will definitely not be returning.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC

Fair hotel for a cheap stay

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Pros: It has a touch screen TV.
Cons: There should be more electrical outlets in the room.
There is a pub at the ground floor of the hotel. The hotel lobby is filled with beer smell. One of the senior front desk is not very friendly. The others are pretty nice. The check in time is 3pm and we did go in early and confirmed the time. Therefore, we returned after 3pm to check in. We got to our room and found that housekeeping is still in the room cleaning up. The housekeeping told us that she needs 20 more min to clean up. We do not understand how front desk can give us a room that is not ready. We ended up switching to another room. We were able to get into the room when we checked in but none of the key cards work when we return at night. We do not keep our key cards near our wallet or cellphones. When we were checking in, heard that another guest has problem getting into the room with his key card. Housekeeping leaves empty beer bottles and dirty bed sheets in the hallway. It stinks up the place.