Ratings based on 694 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Edmonton/ AB

Nice hotel close to Government Street and Harbour.

Posted Aug 2, 2014
Pros: Polite and helpful staff- location- cleanliness- The comfort of mattress - shampoo shower gel attached to wall by the tub- enough towels.
Cons: Cleanliness of bathroom and beddings.
Location: It's a short walk to Imax, BC Parliament building, Pacific Undersea Garden, Empress Hotel, Royal Museum , and Sea Plane Terminals at James Bay.
I was treated very special as Hotel gave me the pent house. It was spacious and I really enjoyed my stay. House keeping lady was very polite and friendly. The hotel staff were very respectful toward me and quite helpful with giving direction to different tourist attractions on the Island. It's very convenient to have the nice restaurant next door with good meals and a nice owner. Hotel is close by to Hudson Bay and the other boutiques , and also to China Town and James Bay. There are many other nice places with good menu close by . This hotel is just off Douglas Street and you can easily take a bus to BC Ferries or to Sidney. Overall it was quiet in the evening . Having computer in the lobby was a bonus so I was able to access my emails. The mattress was very comfortable and I liked the bathroom set up. The room was bright and there was adequate lighting in the bathroom too. I would definitely stay at this hotel in my next trips.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to downtown for large family

Posted Jul 31, 2014
Suite was clean and large enough for our family of 5. The hotel was conveniently located within walking distance to attractions. The offsite valet only parking was a little inconvenient but the staff was very friendly and accommodating.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Simon

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from 25 miles south of San Francisco

Wonderful and close to downtown

Posted Jul 17, 2014
Pros: lots of things to do within walking distance and the restaurant associated with the hotel was excellent
Location: there is shopping and coffee shops all around; 5 blocks to the Inner Harbour: The Empress hotel, Royal BC Museum, horse carriage rides, the Hippo tour
1. this hotel is updated, clean, quiet and nice 2. it is one block to Government Street, and then 4 blocks over to the Inner Harbour and The Empress, Rpyal BC Museum, etc. 3. there is a great restaurant connected with the hotel (we ate there every chance we could, B, L, D) 4. staff friendly and courteous 5. valet parking only (worked SOOOO well)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Brian from Reno, NV

Walk to it all

Posted Jul 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
Best bed out of the 5 beds on a 3 week trip. Staff very helpful and stored bikes instead of being made to haul them up to the room. Valet parking is $13/day with in/out privileges. Close to all sites in downtown Victoria. Easy enough to find once you know Victoria's one-way streets.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Beautiful Hotel, Incredible Location

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Pros: The location! Everything is within a few blocks: Chinatown, dining, shopping, the waterfront....Even the parade we came to see started a block away.
Cons: Allow the evening staff to authorize late checkouts, or soften the wording if this is not possible.
My friends and I stayed at the Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza this past weekend, and we really enjoyed our stay! It's a beautiful property in the heart of downtown, and the location was absolutely perfect. The hotel is so centrally located that we handed over our car to the valet and did not pick it up again until it was time to leave. The restaurant on site was delicious and very reasonably priced. While our room was a touch small for two beds, it was very comfortable and well maintained. The chocolate bar and waters were a very nice touch. My one recommendation would be to allow the evening staff to authorize late checkouts. The evening before our departure I asked for a one hour extension on our checkout time and was told they did not have permission to do that. When I called back in the morning to explain that I was requesting the extra time to have breakfast in the hotel's restaurant and not rush, I was then granted the extra hour. I was left with the impression I was creating an imposition for the staff. Otherwise, the front desk team was very kind and welcoming.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by E.Shalett from Phoenix, AZ USA

somewhat close to the ferry if you have a car!

Posted Jul 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
The charge for parking is high and somewhat inconvenient. If you use a 3rd party to book you lose Best Western Rewards. The hotel lobby has steps if you enter the wrong way to use the elevators. Not the easiest for Seniors . The ladies at the front desk tried hard to help us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, ON, Canada

We loved our hotel...twice

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: The location, the staff, the rooms, the smiles.
Cons: Nothing comes to mind.
Location: Walking distance to Empress Hotel, to the water, to restaurants and shops.
We started our vacation on Vancouver Island in Victoria and ended it there about 10 days later. This is a lovely hotel, very central, walking distance to the water, to main thoroughfares - Douglas, Government, etc - chock full of restaurants, bars, stores, coffee houses, pubs, and still walking distance, maybe about 10 minutes to Empress Hotel. We found it good value, very well maintained, very clean, and with an exceptionally nice staff. Our first time, 3 nights, we had a room on the 5th floor, near the elevator . We did not hear the elevator. There is a restaurant in the hotel - Stone's Throw - where we had a substantial breakfast and good service. When we checked out and reminded the young woman at the reception that we will be back for one more night, she offered us complimentary upgrade to a larger room with a kitchen. indeed, when we returned to Victoria after a fabulous excursion through the gorgeous Vancouver Island, we were taken to our larger suite on the 4th floor, a large spacious room with a full kitchen, and a sitting area. Excellent hotel!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Leamington, ON

Excellent location

Posted Jul 6, 2014
Staff was very friendly. Anytime I asked for recommendations on how to get somewhere or where to eat they were always accommodating. And their restaurant recommendations were spot on. Valet service was excellent never waited very long for my car to be brought up. And most importantly very close to all the downtown attractions. ie. inner harbour.