Ratings based on 798 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Parksville, bc

Awesome service!

Posted Dec 13, 2014
Loved the customer service! All staff were so friendly. One of them opened the elevator for me when I had my hands full and that was awesome. Loved being able to check out late as well leave the car and luggage after check out while we wandered around. Awesome!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Renton, WA

Celebrated 80th birthday.

Posted Dec 11, 2014
Pros: The location of the hotel made walking places quite possible. Construction on the exterior of the building made locating the entrance difficult.
Cons: I wish I had asked for a room with a microwave.
Location: The location made walking everywhere possible. The passenger only ferry was a long distance away so cab fare should be added to anticipated cost.
I took my mother to Victoria to celebrate her 80th birthday and chose to stay at Best Western Carlton. The week long package was very affordable and its location made walking almost everywhere possible. Usually hotels of this caliber offer shuttle service to public transportation (passenger ferries).
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Nanaimo

Close to lots of different things.

Posted Dec 2, 2014
Pros: Close to the event we were going to, and it's close to many shops and restaurants. The valet parking was nice too.
Cons: Front doors make it freezing in the lobby to checkin in if it is cold outside.
We were upgraded to a nicer room, and it was nice, but the heater wasn't working at all, so we had to go get a heater to use, as it was too cold in the room without it. They really need to change things at the front counter, down in the lobby. It is freezing when your standing there waiting to check in. The cold winter wind really blows in there, and the staff working there must be freezing. It is very uncomfortable for anyone waiting to check in. I'm sure all the staff would have something to say about that as well. Other than the our experience there was a happy one.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient location downtown

Posted Nov 30, 2014
Nice to have full kitchen in room. Restaurant is good. Only complaint is parking: you have to call at least 15 min ahead to get your car out, so just plan for that.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom decatur, ga

vacation with family

Posted Nov 28, 2014
Pros: very spacious room--- nice facility
Cons: get better recommendations of restaurants around the area
Location: cha\inatown, miniature world museum, Empress hotel , government bldg
excellent experience -- found interesting no staff recommended the restaurant in the hotel --- staff was great
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Not clean

Posted Nov 21, 2014
Good service, great value for a weekend getaway, cheap valet parking!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel Location. Parking is a bit of an issue.

Posted Nov 20, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Exercise room and parking
Hotel staff were very helpful and the room was clean and neat. A bit dated but ok. The biggest issue is the parking is about 2 blocks away. Valet parking helps but not as convenient.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Vancouver Island

nice

Posted Nov 18, 2014
Pros: location
Cons: no complaints. it was good value.
Location: restaurants, waterfront, parliament buildings,pretty much everything is close by.
great location, we walked to everything we wanted to see.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Sydnay Australia

Convenient for a longer stay

Posted Nov 12, 2014
I was at the hotel for 20nights. The location is great close to everything. Great restaurants, buses, shops. Having a room with a kitchen for that many day was fantastic. Was able to go up to supermarket to get what was needed and not have to eat out for every meal.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Vacation get away

Posted Nov 12, 2014
The staff were very friendly and accommodating. They changed us to a suite and sent us a bottle of wine for a 40th birthday. They were always at the front desk wearing a smile.