Ratings based on 817 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Campbell River

A night in BC's capital

Posted Jan 15, 2015
Pros: Clean, close to all the shopping and restaurants.
Cons: A detailed map on how to access the hotel. Mapquest did not show the one way streets.
Location: Excellent location
Excellent hotel for the money. The staff were friendly and helpful and the room was clean and modern.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Under construction

Posted Jan 14, 2015
Hotel under construction. Got woken up at 7 in the morning to hammering and drilling two floors above us, it was very loud. We should have been told this when we checked in and should have been placed in a different area where it wasn't so noisy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Valet parking great. Up-graded to suite-appreciate

Posted Jan 14, 2015
Pros: As above.
Used room really to sleep as worked all day. Did appreciate the suite up-grade and the complimentary water. Also liked the valet parking-car was there when I needed it and I didn't have to navigate through underground lots
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Port Elgin, ON

Hotel is located downtown Victoria BC. Close to wh

Posted Jan 5, 2015
Pros: Comfertable
Cons: Parking, when I ask what the cost was, I was told that it was free since we stayed for 8 days. However when coming home I found that they charged me.
We could walk to a museum, theator, shopping and sightseeing
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Montreal, Canada

well located and perfect

Posted Jan 4, 2015
this hotel was perfect for what we needed. Location, comfort and good price. If we ever go back to Victoria, we will stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Parksville, bc

Awesome service!

Posted Dec 13, 2014
Loved the customer service! All staff were so friendly. One of them opened the elevator for me when I had my hands full and that was awesome. Loved being able to check out late as well leave the car and luggage after check out while we wandered around. Awesome!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Renton, WA

Celebrated 80th birthday.

Posted Dec 11, 2014
Pros: The location of the hotel made walking places quite possible. Construction on the exterior of the building made locating the entrance difficult.
Cons: I wish I had asked for a room with a microwave.
Location: The location made walking everywhere possible. The passenger only ferry was a long distance away so cab fare should be added to anticipated cost.
I took my mother to Victoria to celebrate her 80th birthday and chose to stay at Best Western Carlton. The week long package was very affordable and its location made walking almost everywhere possible. Usually hotels of this caliber offer shuttle service to public transportation (passenger ferries).
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Nanaimo

Close to lots of different things.

Posted Dec 2, 2014
Pros: Close to the event we were going to, and it's close to many shops and restaurants. The valet parking was nice too.
Cons: Front doors make it freezing in the lobby to checkin in if it is cold outside.
We were upgraded to a nicer room, and it was nice, but the heater wasn't working at all, so we had to go get a heater to use, as it was too cold in the room without it. They really need to change things at the front counter, down in the lobby. It is freezing when your standing there waiting to check in. The cold winter wind really blows in there, and the staff working there must be freezing. It is very uncomfortable for anyone waiting to check in. I'm sure all the staff would have something to say about that as well. Other than the our experience there was a happy one.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient location downtown

Posted Nov 30, 2014
Nice to have full kitchen in room. Restaurant is good. Only complaint is parking: you have to call at least 15 min ahead to get your car out, so just plan for that.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom decatur, ga

vacation with family

Posted Nov 28, 2014
Pros: very spacious room--- nice facility
Cons: get better recommendations of restaurants around the area
Location: cha\inatown, miniature world museum, Empress hotel , government bldg
excellent experience -- found interesting no staff recommended the restaurant in the hotel --- staff was great