Ratings based on 37 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mr. and Mrs. from Sequim, WA

Quiet, convenient

Posted Mar 10, 2014
Pros: See experience paragraph above.
Location: Location was good for shopping, eating, or simply strolling. Very convenient to ferry terminal.
Our overnight stay was most pleasant. Hotel personnel were very accommodating in keeping our luggage until we were able to check in (an early check in it was too!). Overlooking the park and water made for a very quiet, relaxing stay. The included, full breakfast was to our liking!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Karin from New Zealand

Hotel was ok.

Posted Jan 20, 2014
Pros: The spa pool area was really nice
Cons: Add fruit and yoghurt to your breakfast menu.
Location: Easy walking distance to lots of different attractions and areas e.g. Gastown, Chinatown, etc.
The hotel was ok, there was quite a bit of building and road reservations going on which was a bit "untidy" but otherwise ok. Room was neat and the spa pool was really nice, on the top of the building.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 2, 2014
Cons: The hallways are very narrow and sound echos quite badly in the hallways.
Nice view of the harbour when the leaves are off the trees. Loved the mini kitchen - full oven. This would be great if you didn't want to eat out all the time. The balcony was also a nice addition with table and chairs - something you don't often get at 3 star hotels. This Best Western is an easy 5 minute walk to the downtown amenities of Victoria. I would go again!
3 out of 5
by Al from Ontario

Posted Nov 19, 2013
Pros: Good location; buffet breakfast; reasonable amenities.
Cons: Finish your front entrance; have a few more amenities in the suite, eg 1 or 2 plates for non meal use, esp after-hours! Clean your fans. Decor update!
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by John from Nanaimo

convenient hotel...

Posted Nov 19, 2013
The staff here are friendly and helpful. The room was clean and well equipped. Unfortunately the insulation between rooms seems to be non-existant an we were given a room right where the ambulance is ...so I got to listen to it come ( backup alarm) and go all night long, so little sleep was had.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A disappointing experience.

Posted Nov 5, 2013
Pros: Room layout Location View
Cons: as mentioned above
The bathroom had hair on the bath mat and the floor was not clean, (hair etc.) I felt that the room was not really clean. However the room layout was very nice. The bed was very comfortable but I wished I had brought my own sheets. The breakfast on Saturday was REALLY disappointing, the fruit was very over ripe and bruised. The scones were damp as if they had been previously frozen and thawed in a bag. The food was generally a huge disappointment. The noise from the hall way was incredibly loud. Unfortunately you will not be able to fix the fact that the walls are not properly noise insulated. I have stayed at your chain before but will never stay at the Victoria one ever again. You might like to know that I have never complained to a hotel before so these comments should be noted. I did hear other people mention the hall noise as well.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lesley from UK

Very good hotel near waterfront and City centre

Posted Sep 17, 2013
Pros: Excellent hotel, great staff, near all amenities and restaurants.
Cons: The breakfasts could be a little more varied.
Location: 5-10 minutes walk from Ferry Terminal. 15-20 minutes from main waterfront, city centre, museums, art galleries, whale watching trips, etc
Had a great stay at this hotel which was very central and close to all amenities, good restaurants, etc, and the Victoria Clipper Ferry terminal, which eliminated the need for a taxi on arrival. Had a mini-suite with bedroom, fully equipped kitchen and balcony with harbour views. Would definitely stay at this hotel again if visiting Victoria, BC and would recommend it to friends and family. Our only regret was that we were only there for two nights before travelling on to Ucluelet on the west coast of Vancouver Island. The staff were excellent, friendly and efficient and extremely helpful - nothing seemed too much trouble.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Joyce from Lapeer, MI

Perfect location

Posted Sep 11, 2013
Pros: Location, Location, Location
Cons: "Complete" breakfast was a little disappointing. Basically the same items as any other hotel/motel.
Location: Inner harbor area directly across the street from ferry back to the US. Easy and safe walking to Empress Hotel, Parliament Buildings, restaurants.
Victoria was celebrating Labor Day weekend - lots of people and activities. Visited Butchart Gardens.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ranked too high

Posted Sep 9, 2013
I was doing a last minute search for a one night stay in downtown Victoria. I have stayed at many of the hotels on the list except this one and when the price was about the same and the guest rating was a bit higher, I thought I would give it a chance. Unlike every hotel I searched, the total price on this one apparently did not include tax, so it was a 30 dollar surprise at check-in. Then, I get a room on the second floor above the front entrance and beside a very loud stairwell door that slammed shut all morning. I did not enjoy my stay and will not be looking at it again. Oh, and the bathroom was not great and the "full breakfast" was continental, which would be nice if clarified.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sam from B.c.

Nice place to stay good location

Posted May 20, 2013
Pros: Location room had a good view
Cons: Room to bright
Location: 2 block wAlk to downtown
Good location Parking garage not high enough for our truck Shower was hot and plentiful