Ratings based on 238 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Niagara Falls, On

Beautiful, Newer Hotel But Not Being Kept Up

Posted Feb 28, 2015
Pros: The lobby and the grounds down to the bay are very nice. The room was clean and comfortable.
Cons: An actual refrigerator instead of a wine cooler would seem to be more useful to many visitors.
Location: There is nothing within walking distance except the bay where there seems to be guided fishing tours available.
This place isn't terrible. Very nice lobby. Room was well appointed. But there were a number of little things that just didn't match what one would expect from a three year old hotel. The bed wasn't made properly, not a big thing in itself but when you combine that with a blind on the balcony door overlooking the front entrance that would not stay down, every lamp and light fixture in the room and in the halls had the shades bent askew, and the most vexatious as far as I was concerned was that the "mini fridge" was very slightly less than room temperature. When I asked about it I was told by two different front desk clerks that it was wine fridge and therefore not as cold. It was definitely more of a wine cooler but only if you wanted your wine slightly under room temperature. I went and bought ice. Other than that it was clean and comfortable, the few staff we talked to were friendly and helpful, and the lobby and grounds very nice. There is a nice restaurant on site which I wouldn't use unless I was on an expense account.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Victoria, BC

Great getaway spot

Posted Feb 10, 2015
We went there for family day long weekend and had a fabulous time. The main restaurant was fabulous and we had a great view as well. The staff of the hotel were very friendly and if you needed anything they were on top of it for you.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful place with lovely views

Posted Feb 4, 2015
The hotel is beautiful and clean. We had a desent view of the water. We hiked around the trailes of the Sooke Potholes. Had a great time
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Reasonable Expectations

Posted Jan 15, 2015
Let me explain my ratings. I have stayed here quite a few times now. The rooms have always been consistent. However, this time there was no coffee in the rooms. Housekeeping forgot. I don't go to the hotel restaurant anymore. The last time I went my partner was ID because she ordered a drink. I told the host she is older than she looks. The host ignored my point. Regardless of that point made, my partner does not look underage. I sense a curiosity on part of the host who and how old my partner really is. It gets really annoying especially since my partner and I come here often. The food in the restaurant is slowly going downhill. We ate elsewhere on our recent stay. Bottomline. Room fine. Restaurant...not so much.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Xmas visit

Posted Dec 31, 2014
Pros: Pleasant, quiet, comfortable...responsive staff
Location: great walk to Tiffen point
A comfortable pleasant room overlooking a garden. We visited relatives during the day and came back to the hotel for rest and overnight ...adequately furnished and good coffee available.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Langley, B.C.

Nice and comfortable beds.

Posted Dec 27, 2014
Pros: Beautiful surroundings.
Cons: Everything about the motel was good.
Location: Location is beautiful. Great place for walking and being close to nature.
As instructed to Expedia. I wanted an early check in because of prior travel arrangements. Upon arrival I was told I couldn't check in at my time of arrival. Which left me in a unexpected dilemma. The front desk advised me of poor instructions by Expedia. This is an annual trip for me and this time it left me disappointed right from the start.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel

Posted Dec 22, 2014
Pros: Amenities
Location: Not much there, as far as we could tell, but we ate at a very nice local restaurant in Sooke called The Stonepipe Grill.
We only stayed one night, but it is a lovely place, and we enjoyed it. My only negative is that I hated the pillows, but that's an issue I have in lots of places. It was pretty dead when we were there (in December), but it was serene and lovely.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom abbotsford bc

bed

Posted Dec 16, 2014
Pros: close to our friends place
Cons: comfort of bed
the bed was a little uncomfortable but otherwise very nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Nanaimo

Beautiful hotel

Posted Dec 13, 2014
Beautiful hotel with friendly staff. Lovely dock around back to watch the fog roll in.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel to stay, quiet, nice service

Posted Dec 4, 2014
It's really nice to stay. It is really quiet. It's close to beaches and trails. The service girl is really nice as well.