Ratings based on 142 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Prince George

The 45 minute drive from Victoria is worth it!

Posted Aug 14, 2014
Pros: Remote location, quiet. Is perfectly suited for a destination event.
Cons: More drinking and socializing options would improve the hotel. The hotel is in the process of building their own marina.
Location: The location is more suited to nature type activities. Walks along unimproved sheltered ocean beaches and fishing charters. Boat launch next door.
It's a bit of a drive from Victoria, but the hotel is on the Sooke Basin which is Pacific Ocean. By far it is the best Best Western I've ever stayed at. This hotel would not be out of place on the Las Vegas strip in my opinion as far as room quality is concerned. Materials of construction are of a much higher standard than your regular hotel. The location is remote from the city, and away from the tourist attractions.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quiet Retreat

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Pros: The room appeared, newly remodeled and was very nice and clean.
Cons: The only thing I was disappointed with was that they didn't replace the coffee packet for me when they straightened up our room.
Location: I loved the secluded location but Expedia needs to let people know when searching for hotels in Victoria how far away it really is!
The hotel is on the beach with a small marina right next door, sweeping views of the water. The room was very clean, bed was very comfortable, bathroom was awesome with granite tile shower and separate toilet area, and a flat screen TV! Hotel staff were friendly and accomodating.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from suburban Philadelphia

Cleanliness next to godliness and the ocean too.

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Pros: Location, location, location. Clean, comfortable, great food, awesome and friendly staff.
Cons: Lack of a balcony for each room.
Location: Great for wilderness, zip lining, but also lovely parks and family things to do as well.
This hotel far exceeded my already high expextations and I am very pleased we found it at the Expedia reduced rate! We toured the West Coast Rd to its end in Port Renfrew and did several trail hikes along the way. so coming back each day to our amazingly comfy room was really a treat.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary

Beautiful surroundings and nicely maintained

Posted Aug 8, 2014
Pros: We were not familiar with the area, so this was an easy choice. It is larger than life on the shore, and very inviting surroundings.
Cons: People skills could be improved at the front desk.
Location: Very pretty area. Great walking. The staff at the information Centre for Sooke were very helpful.
Very spacious in the lobby and other common areas. Room was average size. Bathroom needed some attention. This was taken care off right away.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kelowna, BC

Nice hotel centrally located.

Posted Aug 7, 2014
Pros: Style of the resort. Vast public areas with big verandas. Good restaurant. ample parking easily accessible from the main road.
Cons: Restaurant service far too slow.
Location: Excellent location to explore Sooke. Easy access to fishing and boat rental locations. Good restaurants and shopping.Quiet ambiance and lovely scenery
We enjoyed our stay. The room was comfortable so were the beds. Modern bathroom with all amenities.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver Island

Decent hotel; misleading website regarding pool.

Posted Aug 6, 2014
Pros: Good bathrooms; decent rooms. Nice foyer and veranda facing the water.
Cons: Pool and hot tub. Really? Dirty water becoming an ongoing problem? And longer hours for coffee shop, etc.
Location: Sooke is no longer a small town with few things to do or see. Great little shops; fishing, Sooke Potholes Park, good restaurants. Scenery wonderful.
Room was 4 out of 5. Pool was tiny, ok for small kids only. Unfortunately, water was not clean/scummy; as it was in the hot tub. Other reviews mention this, so it's an ongoing problem. Nice coffee shop; sushi bar in hotel. Unfortunately, restricted hours on both. Odd architectural style, but seems well built.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful bay resort

Posted Aug 4, 2014
One of the best stays I have had on Vancouver island
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Ontario

A nice Facility

Posted Jul 30, 2014
Pros: Room was spacious and clean.
Cons: Housekeeping service was inconsistent. The chairs in the restaurant are too soft putting diners in uncomfortable positions.
Location: Mom's Diner is an experience ($) as is Sooke Harbour House for dining ($$$$).
Great location and view. Staff generally friendly. Restaurant is "okay" only.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely, but room key problems!

Posted Jul 23, 2014
Pros: It was beautiful with a lovely restaurant.
Cons: Key issue
Location: hiking, bike riding.
The hotel and setting are beautiful, but staff are working through issues. Both couples, in different rooms, had annoying problems with getting the room keys to work. After a long day of bike riding, we had to wait over half an hour to sort out key problems to get into our room. Management offered breakfast for trouble.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from BC

Pleasant stay

Posted Jul 23, 2014
Pros: Rooms. staff, views, hot tub, and restaurant
Cons: Pool cleanliness
Location: Galloping Goose Trail, fishing, kayaking
After cycling the Lochside Trail and the Galloping Goose to Sooke from Sidney, arriving at the Best Western was a very pleasant experience. The staff was very accommodating about storing our valuable bikes. The views and facilities are very nice and the hot tub was very much appreciated. The pool was murky so we didn't feel like it was too clean. Food in the restaurant was very good as was the service.