Ratings based on 527 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Falkland BC

romantic hotel,

Posted Mar 23, 2015
Pros: The rooms were magnificent , the scenery from the dinning room, the warm croissants in the morning.
Location: 10 min drive to downtown Victoria, China Town, Market Square, the marina and the Museum.
Although it was a wet and rainy day in Victoria, our stay at the English Inn was very magical. We stayed in the Kings Room and it was huge, and cosy at the same time. Wander the grounds and explore all the hidden places, great for picture taking and making you think that you are in an English estate.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Vancouver Island

Nice atmosphere - very friendly staff.

Posted Mar 23, 2015
Pros: Its uniqueness and a nice bed.
Cons: The breakfast of warm croissants should be started a little earlier
Location: Many small, wonderful parks with great views
The staff is very welcoming and they showed us all the way up to our room, carried our luggage all the way up the stairs, of which there are many - our room was on the third floor and there were 30 steps all the way to our room (no elevator in this old building!). The wonderful breakfast is served a little too late in the morning I found (at 8.30 am). The bed was nice and comfortable - the room very clean with coffee machine and cups, but no napkins, no teaspoons or stir sticks, which made things a little awkward! But, all in all, a nice experience!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Sunshine Coast BC

Charming

Posted Mar 19, 2015
Pros: The charm and the staff
Cons: The gardens needed some attention as they are looking a bit overgrown...but perhaps this is part if the ambiance?
Location: Short drive to downtown Victoria and all of the activities there.
We were very pleased with our stay at the English Inn. The experience was so much nicer than other more typical hotel rooms available as our room was larger and very unique. Perfect to come back to after a long day shopping and sight seeing.The staff went above and beyond to make our stay very enjoyable
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 16, 2015
Great ambience. Croissants were amazing. Only complaint was the furniture and shelves in our room were dusty; probably an ongoing problem because of the fact the building is old.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Charming and Romantic

Posted Mar 15, 2015
Everything about this Inn is amazing. From the staff to the beautifully decorated rooms , lounge , and grounds.. We will be making this our regular getaway location...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom calgary

Unique hotel

Posted Mar 15, 2015
This hotel is not for everyone, but that being said if you are looking for something unique, historical, romantic or quiet getaway. This place is for you. I stayed in 2 of the crown suites - Piccadilly and Victoria and both were different. I preferred the Piccadilly overall. Both rooms were very quiet no traffic noise and very little noise from the rest of the manor. They have a ways to go on the grounds but it is still beautiful. The fresh made crossients are the size of small dogs and the best I have ever eaten. Not recommended for the elderly (stairs and no lifts), or people expecting a formula hotel, but this is a piece of history and is unique and I certainly would return.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Vancouver Island

Old English atmosphere great in this grand home

Posted Mar 9, 2015
Pros: The historical home, the staff.
Cons: Continental breakfast, croissants are so caloric and not satisfying and the only option given.
Location: Walk 20 minutes to two taking seaside parks. We did a great 90 minute bike ride loop using good city bike trails. Sadly, no good restaurants nearby.
Come for the grand old house, rooms comfortable, staff welcoming and very attentive. Esquimalt a bit seedy, but lovely 20min walk to seaside park. Continental breakfast disappointing and exactly the same each morning, very little choice, fresh fruit offered was NOT ripe, NO decafe coffee, no choice in starches, a simple toaster and bread to toast would be much better. It was end of winter so the grounds were somewhat sad looking. Not a place to take kids.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom moncton nb

This was such a pleasant experience

Posted Mar 7, 2015
Pros: Almost everything
Cons: As it's a Victorian location not much can be changed
Location: Not much around but did not look for anything else than going to downtown victoria
This was a great place to stay . Close enough to downtown Victoria by car. The people working there couldn't do enough to make the stay pleasant. Old establishment very clean and refined but not snobbish. A great place to relax I'm so glad we didn't stay in Victoria No elevators but they offered to take our luggage up as we were on third floor Nice walking pats around the place with beautiful layouts showing off the place and it's history
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom b

Nice stay

Posted Mar 3, 2015
Really enjoyed the character this inn had to offer. And we stayed in the king room which was huge and comphy. I would definitely stay again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 1, 2015
staff was really approachable and service was excellent