Ratings based on 541 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Winnipeg

Beautiful hotel, Beautiful grounds, no AC

Posted Jul 23, 2015
Pros: Architecture Breakfast was very high quality staff was very friendly
Cons: Gardening Air Conditioner
This hotel was gorgeous and situated on a beautiful piece of well tree'd land. We saw a deer wandering through the garden out back and it was filled with swallowtail butterflies, They however really could have done with a gardener as the gardens were overgrown with grass and weeds. The room itself was large and spacious but lacked any sort of air conditioning, and given it was 30+C outside it really could have used it. The room however had windows and curtains which work to help keep the room cool in a pinch.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible

Posted May 26, 2015
The room was dark, humid, smelly and noisy. The floor was hardwood and too noisy! They need to fix this. Most terrible part was the breakfast! Literally nothing was good about the breakfast. The hot water for tea/coffee was cold! Imagine the rest... Don't go here people
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Gorgeous old English Manor!

Posted May 18, 2015
We had great service, the rooms were absolutely charming and the location is close walking distance to many amenities. We will definitely be back!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Surrey

Beautiful heritage hotel.

Posted May 7, 2015
Spacious rooms with style and character. The staff were friendly and curteous.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jorja from Discovery Bay, CA

Old English Charm

Posted Apr 30, 2015 on Hotels
This charming hotel was a wonderful surprise close to downtown. Staff outstanding and helpful. We would definitley stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Nice and peaceful!

Posted Apr 29, 2015
Pros: Great room, quiet, quaint, and comfortable. Quite clean. I loved the gardens.
Cons: Bedding was old and frayed.
Location: Grocery store close. Close to ocean pathways - i did some running.
Staff were really friendly. I had a quiet room. There were events happening at the hotel so parking was a premium, and there was lots of set up happening at the hotel. I didn't stay for breakfast as i left quite early each day. Grocery store is close to walk too. I enjoyed the gardens and the view from my room. You could hear the fountains. It was very quiet!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Comox British Columbia

Interesting hotel in quiet location.

Posted Apr 27, 2015
We booked this hotel because it was close to an event we were attending. Interesting historical building with lots of character. Very large bedroom with balcony overlooking garden area. Clean and comfortable. Suited our purpose. Would stay there again if we needed to be in the Esquimalt area. Note that this hotel does cater to group events. There was one happening while we were there but it did not cause any problems with noise. Not the place for someone who wants to be downtown or who doesn't appreciate older buildings.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Victoria Gem

Posted Apr 26, 2015
Pros: The staff and management go out of their way to create a welcoming and warm experience in a beautiful setting. Each room unique, and well appointed.
Cons: Regarding dinner set up, cloth napkins would complete the experience for us.
Location: Just a short taxi ride from Downtown...wonderful museum, great shopping and high teas galore!
Visited here, years ago...Charming Gem...fabulous staff...restful and elegant setting...felt like welcome guests in a BBC Manor House. The rooms are imaculate, decorated with period pieces, with some interesting balconies, sun porches. The morning breakfast of homemade croissants are wonderful to wake up to...and could disappear quickly! The bar is friendly, and even though there is no restaurant, this is solved by an effective list of meals delivered from local restaurants...set up in their pretty dining room! The result is a wide variety of wide dining options in a private setting. The staff makes you feel like you are the only guests in the Manor House! This venue is perfect for special occasion celebrations. We will be regular visitors!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nanaimo

Second Visit

Posted Apr 24, 2015
Pros: Staff, room, coziness, English charm.
Cons: Few cobwebs in the high ceiling..
Second visit to this English Inn and it was even better than the first stay.. Love it there.. Cozy and romantic.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Vince from Calgary, AB

108 years old and still breath taking...

Posted Apr 21, 2015 on Hotels
I really enjoyed my recent stay at the English Inn. Beautiful spring week in Victoria, BC. I stayed in the Queen Anne Room - a spacious room with a sofa and a king bed, along with a shared balcony that looks over the front property of the hotel. The ownership tries to give you a bit of a period experience... antique furniture, and fixtures. You can imagine in a 108 year old home - converted into a hotel - there are some unique sounds to the hotel like the echo from the hardwood floors and the vibrating water pipes when you blend hot and cold water together. All of this gave the hotel real character. I loved it. What I didn't enjoy as much was the mattress... maybe I'm spoiled with my uber comfortable mattress at home... but in the English Inn I felt the mattress was a bit low quality for the upscale hotel. A side from that, the free wifi was appreciated (and reliable) and the morning breakfast would have been enjoyed had I not had to leave so early in the morning. The property is gorgeous and everyone who drove me to the hotel, be they a taxi or friend, expressed their fascination and envy. Lastly, the staff... very accommodating and pleasing.