Ratings based on 492 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Quiet retreat

Posted Jan 10, 2015
Pros: not crowded and staff actually takes an interest in their guests. Room was spacious and airy. Grounds were private with no buildings ruining sghtlne
Cons: There was no variable lighting within our room. They were either all on or all off.
Location: Excellent waterfront trail less than 150 m from front door. Nothing else within walking distance. Downtown only ten minute drive.
As the title suggests the hotel is more of a retreat than a hotel in the normal sense. Living spaces are large, uncrowded and uncluttered. It is more like staying in a chalet than a hotel. Don't expect saunas, pools and games rooms but do expect a place to relax after your days activities. It is too bad that the restaurant isn't open because the dining room is a wonderful place to sit and enjoy the views. A tragic waste of space since it is only used for breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Bellevue, WA

New Year's in Victoria

Posted Jan 7, 2015
Pros: Loved all the old wood, the different areas of the main level and the nice people that work there.
Cons: The coffee served at breakfast could stand to be stronger. You can always add hot water to coffee to lighten up.
Location: Cragdarroch Castle, Butchart Gardens, Oak Bay, parks and restaurants. Serious Coffee is quite good.
My wife and I had a very nice time discovering more of Victoria. By staying a little bit outside (less than 2 miles) of the main touristy area of Victoria, allowed us free parking and easier access an egress for our trips to Nanaimo and Butchart Gardens. They also included a lovely breakfast each morning with homemade croissant rolls. This is an old building with tons of charm, kind of feels like your own home.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler

Good for a peaceful sleep in a cosy room

Posted Nov 9, 2014
Pros: The quietness and the feeling of being a guest in someone's home
Cons: Room was cosy but could be more "quaint" with accessories that play up the 1900's period; less pizza, more variety with appies; better wireless!!!
Location: Fine if you have a car - went to Spinnakers Pub just 3 minutes away by car; did not get to do much walking or exploring because of other time demands
I didn't spend much time at the inn and the weather did not cooperate for much of a walk through the gardens. Tarp covered the old thatch roof of the hobbit house, but there was still a feeling of being "in the shire", especially when I walked through the old village. Too bad that this spot has gone to pot. I enjoyed looking out on the property from the dining room and having a snack in the afternoon. The onion soup was tasty and the house made croissant was big and really delicious. The one staff member I met was always helpful and pleasant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Atmosphere and character, but not for everyone

Posted Oct 17, 2014
This hotel is a renovated mansion over 100 years old. It is on a very large plot of land. If you can't get to England right now, this is your next best option. However, if you're looking for a glass and chrome upscale hotel this is not for you. It oozes 19th-century atmosphere because it really is old and apparently does not have the budget of the Banff Springs or the Empress.The grounds are typically English, not necessarily carefully groomed in all places. If you know about English gardens you will understand. Anyway, since we could not afford to go back to England this was an excellent compromise.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Oct 8, 2014
We had a pleasant experience in the hotel. It's a bit dated, but the hotel staff was very helpful. Very close to the downtown, especially with a car. I highly recommend this hotel, if you can get a good deal. Just to note, that the breakfast was almost non-existent, so better assume that you are not getting it all.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Edmonton, AB

Good advertising on website.

Posted Sep 30, 2014
Pros: The whole atmosphere was so enjoyable, the heritage type rooms all around us, the furniture. We loved not having so many people there. Breakfast.Trees
Cons: More reliable Wi-Fi in the rooms and also at the computer on that second landing.
Location: It was close to where we wanted to be. Saxe Point nearby for walking paths. Close to the shops we needed. Not far from downtown. Loved it.
When I was searching for a place to stay close to our relatives, this place came up and I reviewed the website. It looked so interesting with all of the older and heritage type buildings that we thought we would give it a try. The rate was reasonable with the flight and hotel together. The staff accommodated up when we got there earlier as we had a funeral to attend. We had our rooms to get ready in and that made it so much easier for us. Love the surroundings with the all the trees, scenery, water features. Quietness and very peaceful. Not so many people that we were bumping into. So enjoyable.....loved it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom ab

Good quiet close to downtown(walking distance)

Posted Sep 29, 2014
Large rooms the grounds are great nice place continental breakfast Charming
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Port Alberni BC

Old Large House turned into a Hotel.

Posted Sep 22, 2014
Pros: heritage feeling, without feeling like I am in an old musty building.
Very Interesting property. We felt like we were out in the country, while being right in the city. Old decor nicely updated. makes for a delightful stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Heather H.from Abbotsford. BC

This is a must do again!

Posted Sep 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
Everything was beyond my expectation. The only thing was the bed was a bit too hard for me, but that's a personal bias.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified travelerfrom Edmonton

You Must Stay Here

Posted Sep 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
This hotel was a gem of a find. Being original from the UK - We just loved it. From the wecome to showing of the room. Beatuiful attention to detail. Comfort was so taken care of We had the Picadilly suite with its own lounge and balcony. I wish we had been able to stay longer. 11/10 .