Ratings based on 469 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Atmosphere and character, but not for everyone

Posted Oct 17, 2014
This hotel is a renovated mansion over 100 years old. It is on a very large plot of land. If you can't get to England right now, this is your next best option. However, if you're looking for a glass and chrome upscale hotel this is not for you. It oozes 19th-century atmosphere because it really is old and apparently does not have the budget of the Banff Springs or the Empress.The grounds are typically English, not necessarily carefully groomed in all places. If you know about English gardens you will understand. Anyway, since we could not afford to go back to England this was an excellent compromise.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Oct 8, 2014
We had a pleasant experience in the hotel. It's a bit dated, but the hotel staff was very helpful. Very close to the downtown, especially with a car. I highly recommend this hotel, if you can get a good deal. Just to note, that the breakfast was almost non-existent, so better assume that you are not getting it all.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edmonton, AB

Good advertising on website.

Posted Sep 30, 2014
Pros: The whole atmosphere was so enjoyable, the heritage type rooms all around us, the furniture. We loved not having so many people there. Breakfast.Trees
Cons: More reliable Wi-Fi in the rooms and also at the computer on that second landing.
Location: It was close to where we wanted to be. Saxe Point nearby for walking paths. Close to the shops we needed. Not far from downtown. Loved it.
When I was searching for a place to stay close to our relatives, this place came up and I reviewed the website. It looked so interesting with all of the older and heritage type buildings that we thought we would give it a try. The rate was reasonable with the flight and hotel together. The staff accommodated up when we got there earlier as we had a funeral to attend. We had our rooms to get ready in and that made it so much easier for us. Love the surroundings with the all the trees, scenery, water features. Quietness and very peaceful. Not so many people that we were bumping into. So enjoyable.....loved it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ab

Good quiet close to downtown(walking distance)

Posted Sep 29, 2014
Large rooms the grounds are great nice place continental breakfast Charming
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Port Alberni BC

Old Large House turned into a Hotel.

Posted Sep 22, 2014
Pros: heritage feeling, without feeling like I am in an old musty building.
Very Interesting property. We felt like we were out in the country, while being right in the city. Old decor nicely updated. makes for a delightful stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from British Columbia

Not as advertised

Posted Sep 5, 2014
Old, worn, beaten up does not mean quaint. We got the servants room on the third floor, nothing like any of the photos. Mouldy smell was everywhere. The breakfast was barely continental, orange juice, coffee, banana, cups of yogurt and on one day, croisants. We stayed at the Amethyst Inn last year which was fantastic so the English Inn was a disappointment. The place needs a major cleaning, paint, and some truth in advertising.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver Island

Not what I expected given the price

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Pros: I liked that it was in a pretty neighbourhood
Cons: Housekeeping staff, something to make the room unique, a better breakfast , update the Internet service
Location: The location was good
I have stayed at this hotel when it was the Olde England Inn. Everything was memorable. it was like stepping into a Shakespearean play The rooms were unique. The dining was excellent. So This latest experience was very disappointing. We paid over $500 for two nights. The room was ordinary. Nothing special. When we returned to our room to retire for the night we found the bed had not been made, nor had the room been cleaned They emptied the wastebasket and changed a couple of towels The continental breakfast was croissants with some jams and a few yogurt This was supposed to be a special occasion for us. We were disappointed! nb The staff were excellent ...the only nice thing about the experience.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Interesting place, but....

Posted Aug 23, 2014
Pros: Very quaint, beautiful historic hotel. Cleanliness was good although a bit musty due to no air conditioning.
Cons: Better directions, better lighting, better continental breakfast.
Very quaint, beautiful historic hotel. Cleanliness was good although a bit musty due to no air conditioning. Unfortunately we arrived late at night and had a horrible time finding the Inn. Once we finally found it the lighting outside was horrible - almost non-existent. The continental breakfast was very limited. Would be easy to dress it up with some danishes or dessert breads along with some granola. While the hotel staff was pleasant and helpful it seemed like more effort could be made.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Taken back 100 years in time

Posted Aug 3, 2014
Pros: Relaxing
Cons: Noise in the morning. Quite hot in the west-facing room(s). Guess it's probably around 90-95 degrees, compared to 70s just a few steps into the house
Built in 1906, it's a house fitting into your imagination from the old English novels. Quiet, cozy in the afternoon. Can be quite noisy in the morning due to street traffic towards downtown & harbor.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Winnipeg

Beautiful, vintage hotel.

Posted Aug 1, 2014
Pros: The atmosphere. The beauty. The gardens!!! The woodwork!
Cons: Interesting shower! And, if it had been hotter, air conditioning would have been needed, I think.
Location: Location was very good. Everything was close by - either by walking or by driving a few minutes. Nice area to walk around in.
We stayed in the King's Room (Room 14). Beautiful room, excellent view. LOTS of space! We were on our honeymoon, so this was really romantic! Staff was excellent, The grounds are to die for! I took tons of pictures. When we go back to Victoria, THIS is where we will stay.