Ratings based on 403 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Picked this hotel as it looked different.

Posted Apr 16, 2014
Good hotel with a definitely old world feel.The building itself looks beautiful but the inside while old fashioned has all you would need.We only stayed one night but were pleased with our experience. Lack of wifi coverage in the rooms was annoying however.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Picked this hotel as it looked different.

Posted Apr 16, 2014
Good hotel with a definitely old world feel.The building itself looks beautiful but the inside while old fashioned has all you would need.We only stayed one night but were pleased with our experience. Lack of wifi coverage in the rooms was annoying however.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Clayton from Saskatoon

Relaxing and laid back comfort

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Pros: Comfortable bed and quiet atmosphere. Cordial and helpful. Relaxing. Easy walk to the waterfront and to a specialty coffee house or Macdonalds.
Cons: Coat rack near the doorway to the room.
Location: Waterfront walking paths in 3 blocks. Access to the Harbour Ferry in 3 blocks. Quick access to the bridge to downtown or to go out to the No 1 HWY.
This was our very first visit to the Inn and we were very happy with our choice. The Inn is 3 blocks from the water front and 3 blocks from a stop point for the Harbour Ferry Service. We were too early for the real impact of gardens and flowers but still had a sense of the beauty of the place as we walked around the grounds. The staff were cordial and very helpful and we probably did not use their knowledge of the city to full advantage. The continental breakfast was great with fresh croissants every morning along with fruit, yogurt, juice and coffee. Since we were in a third floor corner room we had a good view (especially the small birds in the trees) and could leave our drapes open for the night to enjoy the morning sun. It was great to sit at the fireplace with your coffee and enjoy the ambiance of an old building that has been nicely kept. The only con about the room was no hang up for outdoor jackets inside the doorway but this was a minor issue.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Phil from Drayton Valley

Charming hotel with tonnes of character

Posted Apr 4, 2014
Pros: cozy, wonderful character
Cons: as stated the skylight in our room would have been nice if it were possible to cover in the am and the pillows were disapointing.
My wife and I enjoyed this gem nestled in the older neighborhood of Esquimalt in the heart of Victoria. From the moment you enter the driveway you can see and feel the character in this hotel (used to be a private mansion). Hotel has done a great job of maintaining property replacing required things with tasteful modern upgrades while still maintaining many orignal pieces and preserving a traditional feel. The freshly onsite baked croissants everymorning was fantastic!. We stayed in a crown jewel room which was an excellant value especially compared with similar priced entry level rooms at other hotels downtown (which were half the size and very simple/bland) The only real complaints we had about the room was the privacy blurred skylight which provided a lot of light early morning (irritating if wishing to sleep) and the pillows were very slim (not much support and few of them). other than that this hotel was a great experience, would definitely return
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Tradition with modern amenities

Posted Apr 4, 2014
Cons: would have liked a throw on the couch in cool weather
Location: Close to MaCauly Point; easy access to bus route; nice neighborhood
Enjoyable stay, appreciated the traditional setting with modern influences; staff were amazing
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by ScubaSteve from Nanaimo, BC

Quiet and characterful

Posted Apr 1, 2014
Pros: Room size, Staff, Toiletries
Cons: Grounds
Location: In a quiet residential area within easy walking distance of the shore and good restaurants
Huge room in nice, characterful hotel. Staff friendly and efficient, and continental breakfast is good too. Grounds are massive and interesting, although not in great condition, possibly because they are so large and not easily manageable. Would definitely stay at English Inn again :)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Will from Vancouver, BC

Really interesting place.

Posted Mar 28, 2014
Pros: Ambience.
Cons: Hot water was slow to get there, but hey, the place was buillt in 1906.
Location: Parks on the Ocean, shopping mall and rec centre within a short walking distance.
Old, but very clean. Really different from other hotels, possibly not suitable if you want "modern". but did have all of the necessities.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by K from Ottawa

Hidden gem in the heart of Esquimalt

Posted Feb 24, 2014
Pros: I liked how close the hotel was to the CFB Esquimalt. The grounds and the hotel itself are absolutely stunning and the hotel staff were excellent.
Cons: Our room was very cold because the heating wasn't very efficient. We had the heating cranked to the max and it barely helped.
Location: CFB base esquimalt, short bus or car ride to downtown Victoria. Lots of parks and ocean views near by.
I was visiting my boyfriend who is a member of the Royal Canadian Navy posted in Esquimalt. I chose this hotel because it was closest to the military base and it surpassed my expectations. It truly is a hidden gem located in the heart of Esquimalt. Staying in downtown Victoria would have been too long of a commute for him everyday from the base to downtown. The grounds and the hotel are absolutely stunning and the hotel staff were extremely friendly and accommodating.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Cute B&B in Esquimalt

Posted Feb 6, 2014
This Inn was very sweet. Rooms are simple but comfortable. The one downside was that it was quite a ways away from downtown Victoria.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

historic experience

Posted Feb 2, 2014
Pros: The history
Cons: Grounds keeping and continental breakfast selection
Location: Tour the grounds, close to downtown
Very interesting historical experience and unique accommodation. Could use a grounds keeping refresh but over all an enjoyable stay