Ratings based on 1,215 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

good stay. Exceptional breakfast buffet.

Posted Nov 13, 2014
Comfortable 1 bedroom suite with pullout couch. Courteous staff. Great location.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Courtenay

Used to be excellent,not now!

Posted Nov 12, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Put on more staff on busy weekends. Upgrade the rooms.
Location: Close to the inner harbor,parliament buildings and other tourist sights.
Went to the pool/hot tub on our first night. There were no towels,so I phoned the front desk. The lady told me she would send someone ASAP. After 20 minutes we got 4 towels in the mens change room and 4 in the ladies. Our room although clean was very tired and in need of an update. Even the bath towels were worn out. On our morning of departure,we went to the restaurant for the buffet breakfast and after waiting in line for 20 minutes for a table, we went to eat and low and behold there was no bacon or sausage. Obvious a serious lack of staff for such a busy weekend. We have stayed here many times in the past but not again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom British Columbia

Generally marvelous

Posted Nov 12, 2014
During the course of my stay, i arrived at only two complaints; the comforters were rather thin, and the bathroom door was improperly hung, and had trouble closing. Other than that, the stay was fantastic; the service friendly, the location perfect, the room xcharming and well kept, and the price reasonable. Would recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location.

Posted Nov 12, 2014
Hotel staff made our stay very enjoyable. even though the facility is older the rooms were clean, food at VIC's restaurant was excellent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Vancouver

Excellent location to downtown and museum.

Posted Nov 9, 2014
Very pleasant welcome and efficient and friendly check out.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Tacoma, WA

Great hotel with very friendly staff.

Posted Nov 8, 2014
Pros: Everything!
From the time we arrived till the time we left we enjoyed our stay. The staff was great. I first book this hotel for its approximation to the Coho Ferry (1 block away). The room was beautiful and very clean. We were on the sixth floor, one more floor and we would have had a great view of the harbor.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom vancouver bc

Posted Nov 3, 2014
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 5, 2014 by Kay, Hotel Management
Thank you for the 5 stars Glenda! Sincerely, Kay Koot, general manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Regina

Nice hotel, fine location, great value.

Posted Oct 31, 2014
We stayed the last week in Oct. so it is off season and very quiet. The room was smallish but had a balcony and was very nice. The staff were friendly and accomodating.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 3, 2014 by Kay, Hotel Management
Many thanks Al for your positive comments and 4 stars, from my friendly and accommodating staff and myself. Sincerely, Kay Koot, general manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great staff!

Posted Oct 29, 2014
Pros: The staff were fantastic; very friendly and accommodating.
Location: It was walking distance to all attractions.
I decided last minute to book a get away; I had not been to Victoria since I was 6 years old..I arrived on a very early flight and therefore early for the check time; when I arrived Kat said that there was a room ready and that was the start of a great trip! I had missed the hotels breakfast but Kat directed me to a couple of choices near by so I could get my bearings. I had booked to attend the Masquerade ball at the Empress hotel that evening but needed a little food prior to going; Kevin accommodated my food request "no questions asked". I definitely would recommend the steak...along with staying in this hotel. Thank you guys for adding to my fabulous weekend getaway. I will be back!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 3, 2014 by Kay, Hotel Management
I am very pleased to read all about your last-minute decision to re-visit Victoria and quite proud to read how my staff (Cat and Kevin in particular) helped to make it all fabulous for you! We do count on welcoming you back again, as Vic's Steakhouse await your return. Sincerely, Kay Koot, general manager
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom nanaimo,b.c.&

Ok hotel close to inner harbour

Posted Oct 28, 2014
Pros: Location close to inner harbour was great,walking distance to downtown and restaurants
Cons: Better access to lobby from second level parking,better quality beds
Location: Inner harbour to walk around
Hotel is older and showing its age,room was clean ,staff was friendly.Our room was located on 5th floor directly above front entrance and lobby.It was extremely noisy people coming and going all night long could not sleep,bed was so uncomfortable it hurt my rib cage.To top it all off we parked in the under ground parking lot on the second level to our surprise there is no elevator from the second level to lobby we had to drag all our suitcases up a flight of stairs not very convenient.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 30, 2014 by Kay, Hotel Management
Thank you Pat for submitting your review after your stay with us, recognizing your satisfaction with the elements within our control - clean room and friendly staff. On behalf of the front desk team I do apologize for the inconvenience you experienced with your suitcases, as at check in they should advise you that there is direct elevator access to the Parkade from levels P1 and P3. Sincerely, Kay Koot, general manager.