Ratings based on 482 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Michael

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Miranda

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Get the top floor

Posted Dec 1, 2014
Everything was great with the hotel but my advice is - ask for the top floor. We spent 3 nights listening to somebody walking around above us. I was pretty loud and annoying especially in the middle of the night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Ontario

Short walk to the City Center

Posted Nov 20, 2014
Pros: Almost everything
Cons: Noise abatement, starting with sealing the suite doors which would be an inexpensive install.
Location: Close to everything.
Good: Small hotel, clean room, comfortable bed and linens, older building but modernized efficiency suite with fridge, coffee and tea. Friendly staff with coffee, assortment of teas and fresh apples available in the lobby. Real easy parking. Very short distance from front desk/entrance to the rooms. 5-15 minute walk to anywhere in the Victoria downtown. Literally a few steps from the BC Museum, Legislature and Jazz lounge at the Grand Pacific. Also included in room rate; luggage storage and wireless internet. Internet speeds were pretty good at any time of the day as they seem to have a router dedicated to each room-which is unusual; I travel a lot and had not seen that arrangement before. Bad: exterior road noise and noise through walls and floor between the rooms. There doesn't seem to be much, if any, insulation between the walls/floors. Suite doors have no noise abatement seals, so you hear every noise and whisper in the corridor. If you are a light sleeper this is not the place for you. For this first visit I was on the second floor, facing the road intersection and between the road noise, people clomping around in the rooms above me and voices all around it might be difficult for some people to get some rest. I will definitely be going back here in the future and will try the top floor, with rooms facing the rear parking lot, which should be much quieter than rooms facing the street.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice and central hotel.

Posted Nov 11, 2014
Nice clean and comfortable. Eelcoming and central.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Edmonton Alberta Canada

Its right in the heart of it all.

Posted Nov 1, 2014
Pros: Location,Location,Location
The Helm's inn is close to all the action in Victoria . It is an older place but well maintained . The only problem my wife and I had was we found the room a little small for a suit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom godalming

2 day break

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Pros: Hotel staff very friendly and went out of way to help. Facilities in room excellent with tv in bedroom and living area
Cons: More powerful hairdryer and better soundproofing in rooms
Location: Beacon hill park. Museum , harbour/fishermans wharf, parliament building and shops
Hotel was in excellent location. Family run. Close to local attractions. Accommodation had bedroom in separate room with another room for dining /kitchen area. Cooker fridge and microwave. Only downside was it was quite noisy with traffic noise and pedestrian crossing bleeping fairly early in morning. Also hairdryer not very powerful and took forever to dry hair if a woman
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Vancouver BC

Great location, great value!

Posted Oct 20, 2014
The Helms Inn appears to be an older hotel but we were pleasantly surprised when we got to our room. It was very clean and comfortable. The staff were all very friendly and the location was wonderful. Only minor complaints are lack of storage in the bathroom and some traffic noise from the street. Great value compared to many hotels in the same area! Great value compared to many hotels in the same area! We would stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel

Posted Oct 16, 2014
Awesome time. Great place to stay. Cheap and good location.