Ratings based on 424 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

Impressed Near the Empress

Posted Jul 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
This was a swell little hideaway near everything. If you are leaving early to catch the Coho, watch out for the raccoon family begging at the back door.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Gayle from Coquitlam

Summer favourite

Posted Jul 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
We go biking in the Victoria area every July. There is a locked storage area for your bike. The hotel is located next to the museum. How much closer can one be? Genuine extra service is provided! I'm sure that's their motto. Chris even remembers who we are. Absolutely LOVE the Helm.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Ken from Vancouver

it's close to everything

Posted Jul 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
excellent location. clean. large rooms. i loved the kitchenette feature. helpful staff. it was a 5 minute walk to the pacific coach lines drop off/pick up. i'd stay here again and leave the car at home next time. only thing i wish was having a card key as opposed to a key-like device for the rooms instead.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Baltimore

Close to sights in Victoria and connections.

Posted Jul 19, 2014
Pros: The upgrades to the rooms and kitchens were pleasant to be and work in. The flowers around the hotel and patio made it very attractive.
Location: The Helms Hotel was in walking distance to area parks and attractions, and a comfortable place to return to.
We were interested in the main experiences and sights that Victoria is touted for. We were not disappointed. Most were within walking distance of the hotel. We were close to the ferry to WA state, and connections to transportation to take us to Vancouver. The staff were friendly and most helpful.especially in carrying luggage up several flights of stairs.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Comox, BC

Nice hotel close to inner harbour and beacon hill

Posted Jul 6, 2014
Booked this hotel because it's affordable and in a great location. We were surprised at how nice the rooms were when we arrived. The hotel has been renovated recently and the pictures on the website are not updated. Our room was in the Parkside building and was very modern and comfortable. A well equipped kitchen with granite counter tops, good size fridge and stove, small eating and living area and a separate room with two double beds. We even had our own private balcony. Very quiet at night. Great price and great location. We will definitely be staying there on our next trip to Victoria!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
Our stay was lovely. The room was apartment-like and quite cozy with a quiet location. We would stay here again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Great little hotel. Location can't be beat!

Posted Jul 5, 2014
Pros: See above.
Cons: See above.
Location: See above.
We weren't expecting much because of the reviews we read. Were we pleasantly surprised! We had a nice bedroom, a kitchen that was fully equipped and a nice little den/dining area. I will definitely stay here again. The location is right behind the BC Museum and the Parliament building and only a couple of blocks from the main waterfront. Beacon Hill Park is right across the street. Fabulous location! There is a nice little tea house/ restaurant right down the street. This is definitely a little known gem. FYI, I have no affiliation with this hotel except that we loved staying there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

so comfy and artsy

Posted Jul 4, 2014
the rooms were sooo nice and clean, modern and comfy. the front desk man was super friendly and helpful and fun. it was a great hotel in the heart of everything and next to parks, the ferry and much more. def want to come again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Carolyn from Whitehorse

Comfortable, welcoming home base

Posted Jul 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
I'm not sure why the Helm's Inn only rates 2 stars because this is a nicely renovated, comfortable hotel right in the heart of Victoria! It was great to have a full kitchen to take advantage of and the king size bed in my suite was very comfortable. A shout out to Chris at the front desk, who was wonderfully professional, helpful and positive throughout my stay. I see lots of mentions in other reviews of the spaciousness of the rooms but mine was pretty compact, even cramped. I requested a room on the first floor but wasn't expecting to face right onto the street, OR be right off the lobby! So I would not recommend Rm 116 as it seems to be a conversion of office space into a small, oddly laid out, and noisy (street noise) room. My other complaint is that the daily housekeeping was hit and miss, with items not replenished, inconsistent service (washing the dishes, or not) and on the fourth day, my sheets were not changed as per the policy and my bathroom sink not even cleaned. Even with this complaint, though, I would still recommend Helm's - just get a quieter room facing the inner courtyard as others suggest.