Ratings based on 401 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Everett, WA

Don't let the outside fool you!

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Pros: The large size and cleanliness of the room.
Cons: The only item that I noted was the shower curtain had mold on the bottom. Otherwise the place was spotless.
Location: Beacon Hill Park and the Royal BC Museum are both across and down the street respectively. Lovely sites up Government Street. Great food nearby.
Helm's Inn appears very plain on the outside, but if all the rooms are as nice as mine was in the #2 building then you are in for a very pleasant surprise. Spent only one night there during a quick visit to Victoria. I will recommend this hotel to all my friends.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Baltimore

Close to sights in Victoria and connections.

Posted Jul 19, 2014
Pros: The upgrades to the rooms and kitchens were pleasant to be and work in. The flowers around the hotel and patio made it very attractive.
Location: The Helms Hotel was in walking distance to area parks and attractions, and a comfortable place to return to.
We were interested in the main experiences and sights that Victoria is touted for. We were not disappointed. Most were within walking distance of the hotel. We were close to the ferry to WA state, and connections to transportation to take us to Vancouver. The staff were friendly and most helpful.especially in carrying luggage up several flights of stairs.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Comox, BC

Nice hotel close to inner harbour and beacon hill

Posted Jul 6, 2014
Booked this hotel because it's affordable and in a great location. We were surprised at how nice the rooms were when we arrived. The hotel has been renovated recently and the pictures on the website are not updated. Our room was in the Parkside building and was very modern and comfortable. A well equipped kitchen with granite counter tops, good size fridge and stove, small eating and living area and a separate room with two double beds. We even had our own private balcony. Very quiet at night. Great price and great location. We will definitely be staying there on our next trip to Victoria!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Great little hotel. Location can't be beat!

Posted Jul 5, 2014
Pros: See above.
Cons: See above.
Location: See above.
We weren't expecting much because of the reviews we read. Were we pleasantly surprised! We had a nice bedroom, a kitchen that was fully equipped and a nice little den/dining area. I will definitely stay here again. The location is right behind the BC Museum and the Parliament building and only a couple of blocks from the main waterfront. Beacon Hill Park is right across the street. Fabulous location! There is a nice little tea house/ restaurant right down the street. This is definitely a little known gem. FYI, I have no affiliation with this hotel except that we loved staying there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

so comfy and artsy

Posted Jul 4, 2014
the rooms were sooo nice and clean, modern and comfy. the front desk man was super friendly and helpful and fun. it was a great hotel in the heart of everything and next to parks, the ferry and much more. def want to come again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A sweet small hotel

Posted Jun 30, 2014
We stayed at this hotel for 5 nights and we liked it a lot. The location is excellent to many places. It is clean as well. Parking is reasonable and the staff helped me to find a spot to park when the lot was full one night. It is also cross the street from the Beacon Hill Park so we did running in the mornings. We will definitely stay there
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ft. Worth, Texas

Great homey hotel near Victoria's main drag.

Posted Jun 28, 2014
Pros: The proximity to downtown, wharf, museum, parliament buildings. All within walking distance. If no parking spot available, staff would move their car!
Cons: Clothes hooks on back of bath doors for robes,etc & a few more clothes hangers.
Location: It was near everything in Downtown Victoria & easy to maneuver from there to the rest of the island. Loved the 5 minute walk to museum. We did 5 trip
We loved our stay at the Helms Inn. We stayed 10 days in Victoria. The purpose of our trip was to reconnect with 2 children & 5 grand kids we had not seen in 10 years!! Although all the kids were not in our room, it was great to be right next to the museum & so close to downtown & fisherman's wharf. As 1 daughter came in from near Langford, the son from Sooke, with spouses & kids. We could leave our car & walk to meet them or get picked up easily. In previous reviews I had read things like musty smell, no elevator, etc. The hotel smelled like a home to me! No dank dirty moldy smell or heavy cooking smells. You could tell the baths had been updated & kitchen was great for efficiency! I had never seen one in the USA with a stove & full size fridge. Just mini fridge & hot plate!! The only addition I would make is a few hooks on back of bathroom door to hang robes, etc. Maybe a few more clothes hangers for guests staying a longer time then a few days. It wasn't mentioned, that I saw, that there is a daily parking fee. But it was minimal & didn't bother us. But I know some people like to plan out all their expenses to the penny.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from BC

Comfortable hotel close to everything

Posted Jun 27, 2014
Pros: The price was right, it had a sitting area, a full kitchen and a large bedroom.
Cons: The room was in a separate building from the reception. The door from the parking lot into the building was supposed to be locked but it wasn't.
Location: Right beside the wonderful BC Museum. Nearby is the Empress hotel, BC government building, Robert Baitman Museum, big museum, totem poles, shops.
Parked the car at the hotel for the entire 3 days. Museums, beautiful gardens, shops, nearby "village" districts, and even the shopping malls were all within easy walking distance. Shopping in Victoria was extraordinary. Lots of made in Canada or USA items and garments. The weather was warm and dry. - perfect for walking in the huge park and along the sea shore.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by kate from Boston, ma

great location

Posted Jun 17, 2014
Pros: location
Cons: bathroom a bit dated
very nice place to stay, kitchenette was great although we never got to use it. Spacious room, nice staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Iris from Newfoundland

Nice hotel close to downtown as well as the beach.

Posted Jun 16, 2014
Pros: Close to my conference and downtown. home like hotel. Free Wifi. Reasonable price.
Cons: To include breakfast because there's almost no option for breakfast in immediate distance.
Location: Conference centre, Mile Zero
I was attending a conference and this hotel is 5 minute walk from the conference center.