Ratings based on 65 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from East Texas

Very Nice hotel

Posted Jul 4, 2014
Pros: Extra large room Very cool air conditioning Nice view
Cons: The entrance off the road fooled us. Had to turn around to get to it. Remember to turn before going across the bridge.
Location: Well, we only went to a restaurant down the road for seafood. It was not very good. Then we went into Wal-Mart for some items.
The hotel is very nice and clean. Air conditioning was cool and comfortable. The room was extra large and roomy and we had a nice view of water and land. The hotel has a funny entrance. We nearly missed it. Be sure and turn before the long bridge. Very satisfied with this choice. The breakfast the next morning was excellent, and the breakfast room was extra clean and tidy with a nice view looking out on the water. Really enjoyed our stay at this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Nina from Hutto

great stay!

Posted Jun 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
We come to this hotel every year around june or july and every experience is wonderful. This time the visit exceeded our expectations. The front desk this past weekend was wonderful in telling us directions to the local beach as well as giving us a bay view. My husband and I just love when we come visit port lavaca and stay at the holiday inn! (specail thanks to the staff; jay or jett the manager and ashley and another guy which gave us directions, bad with names). Thanks again for another wonderful stay, we will visit again next year!
2 out of 5
Recommended
by Jill Hall from Houston, TX

Not a good example of a Holiday Inn-bad experience

Posted May 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
Our stay was to be a relaxing Memorial Day getaway-did not result in that. We made an error in the check in date on our reservation, but were put in a room right away. Staff seemed confused about what to do. Desk clerk did not let anyone know we were in this room. Shortly after we got in, a maintenance man came into room unannounced, insisted he had to clean the AC unit. After calling the front desk, another man tried to open our door with key card. We insisted on being transferred to another room-once we got into that room, there was a loud noise from AC unit and AC quit working. We were put into a third room and moved again. On Memorial Day (Monday) morning the desk clerk called at 9:45 AM and told us there would be someone coming up to perform routine maintenance on the AC unit. We requested that they not come in for an hour so we could get a shower and go out. Returning to the room after about 3 hours we found a note saying they had to do routine maintenance including cleaning the carpet. The carpet was soaking wet and all the doors in the hotel were open-very hot and muggy. What hotel has the carpets cleaned on a Holiday when guests are occupying the rooms? Not a relaxing visit. We did receive partial monetary compensation from the management, but my husband and I agreed-not worth all of the hassle. Other issue-almost all of the restaurants and smaller businesses were closed on both Sunday and Monday-very inconvenient when on vacation.
2 out of 5
by Nick from Austin, Texas

Holiday Weekend Disorganization

Posted May 27, 2014
Pros: The bed was very comfortable
Cons: Management using common sense
Location: Great location for the beach and local shopping
After reading all the great reviews on here about this hotel, i figured i couldn't go wrong in making a reservation. I expected the hotel to be busy since it was Memorial Day weekend so i think it's important to note i was already giving them the benefit of the doubt. However, i overlooked the disorganization at check inn because there was a new employee and many guests arriving at the same time. I got a phone call from the front desk on Sunday afternoon while i was trying to relax saying they wanted to come into my room and swap out my AC unit. I politely declined, but right outside my door there was all kinds of commotion with my neighbors having their AC units swapped out. Is this really the best time to be doing this stuff???? On a holiday weekend in a busy hallway????? I've been in the hotel business for many years and was speechless from the lack of common sense. Also, breakfast was busy as i expected but nowhere to be found was any breakfast attendant??? It is not the front desks job to replenish food on a busy morning of checkouts. Hire a breakfast attendant!!!!!! Save the AC issues for when the hotel is empty Monday afternoon!!!!!! This hotel is not as great as Expedia reviews says it is!!!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Probably will stay somewhere else next time

Posted May 26, 2014
Pros: Balcony of the breakfast room to watch the sunrise over the bay.
Cons: Food and pillows.
Location: If you aren't visiting friends and family or fishing.....not much else going on.
Very expensive. On the other hand it was short notice and an holiday weekend. The desk staff seemed to be struggling with the routine sing in and register process. The room was nice, clean and everything worked. Pillow were so soft head was on the mattress with two big balloons of the pillow on either side of my head. I tried two pillows, then three, Didn't work. Mattress was okay. The breakfast included was pitiful. Biscuits were so hard on the bottom I couldn't cut them. Powdered, scrambled eggs, and sausage links. The sausage gravy was uniquely bad. They did have a cool pancake machine, though. It mad little flat and very dense pancakes. I guess my complaints are the pillows, the breakfast and the price. I could have stayed two nights down the road for what one cost me here. But it was clean!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 13, 2014
Enjoyable! All the staff was very accommodating. Rooms were quiet and clean.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Greg from port Lavaca

Posted Apr 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
television was awkward to use and not many stations
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Vicki from Texas

Very nice hotel

Posted Mar 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
Clean and comfortable room. The desk clerk was very nice and made coffee for us late in the afternoon. Breakfast was very good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Cathy from Denver

Posted Mar 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
Facility was clean and staff was very friendly. The pool was not open due to "being under construction",although this was not apparent. Kids were disappointed. Nice location near the water.