Ratings based on 2,191 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kelowna BC

Great location, easy walk to beach & downtown

Posted Jul 31, 2015
Pros: Physically comfortable and attractive. Location, gym facility. I did not eat here as there are great restaurants nearby.
Location: shopping, Munro's bookstore, beach walk, great restaurants for any meal of the day.
Never stayed here before, and it was a lovely surprise. We were with our two 10 year olds. Great yoga class, gym, concierge was excellent help with a business loose end and dinner suggestions.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, able to walk.

Posted Jul 29, 2015
We were able to check in early, our fight arrived at 8:45 and the hotel held our luggage until our room was ready which was only an hour wait.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Updated hotel close to the Inner Harbor

Posted Jul 29, 2015
Pros: Clean, well decorated, pool, hot tub, steam room, wonderful gym, friendly staff, restaurants, spa, beautiful rooms.
Cons: The chairs on the balcony could be better and could use some TLC.
Location: Perfect location. Close to the Clipper, Parliament building, the Robert Bateman center with an amazing restaurant, Inner Harbor, Downtown Victoria.
We had so much fun in Victoria, especially at this hotel! The lobby furniture was updated as well as our room. I was a little worried since I saw reviews saying their room was a bit dated. I think only part of the room was renovated so you may want to request it upon check in if that's important to you. The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. We came to visit for our 4 year anniversary and they treated us with two vouchers for dessert. The food was delicious and reasonably priced. We had a beautiful view of the inner harbor from the 8th floor. We were so close to everything. It was about a block from the Clipper terminal and less than 5-10 min walk to the Parliament building, Royal BC Museum, The Empress and downtown. There is a spa called SORA attached to the hotel and you get 10% off for being a guest in the hotel. I recommend going and enjoying a Swedish massage. It was one of the best I've had. The pool, steam room, sauna and hot tub were wonderful as well. Overall, a perfect vacation!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel for kids and adults

Posted Jul 28, 2015
Pros: great pool
Cons: I thought the restaurant prices for too high
We came in on the ferry and spent one night. The staff were friendly and willing to hold our bags until our room was ready. We were given an early check in which was very helpful. The room was nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edmonton

Great location, great staff, great food.

Posted Jul 26, 2015
Great staff, great location, great food. Staff super Ttentive to our extra requirements!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Salt Lake City, UT

Elegant Hotel on the Waterfront

Posted Jul 20, 2015
Pros: The location, the elegance and the service.
Cons: See the experience above.
Location: On the wharf in the center of restaurants, shopping and next door to the Provincial Capital building and the Royal BC Museum.
Elegant hotel with excellent staff. Somewhere between the Expedia reservation and the hotel our room reservation turned from a King Bed to a single Queen bed. Hotel staff scrambled to find 2 Queens in what was listed as a non-smoking room but definitely had been a smoking room or a room that had been smoked in recently, thus the Room cleanliness rating of OK. Loved the location and the elegance of the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Decatur, AL

Great Hotel with nice view of harbor and more!

Posted Jul 20, 2015
Pros: Everything!
Location: We used the hotel as a base for many side trips.
Hotel is new, nicely furnished, has an excellent view of the harbor. Bathroom is very nice. Room was new and clean as a whistle. The concierges, Caite and Murray, were both very, very helpful with personal recommendations and making arrangements. The hotel had a number of local wine and food tastings going on while we were there. We were there for 8 days. The location was excellent and as centrally located as you can get in the harbor area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

The best spot in BC Victoria Downtown!

Posted Jul 19, 2015
1) I took YYJ shuttle from airport to Hotel Grand, about 1 hour. 2) walking distance to bay, restaurants, shops, museum, bus stop. 3) free bicycle rental for two hours. 4) afternoon tea ( I missed) 5) walk 5 minutes to Red fish blue fish (street food, high rate on website) 6) take bus route 75 to the Butchart Garden.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from downtown victoria

Old, needs updating, good location

Posted Jul 19, 2015
Paid for a four star hotel but got a two star room. I paid 250$ for a king size room and got a room with two doubles. Was told that because I booked with Expedia and not them directly, I get what they give me. Room very dated, no room to oped sliding door to balcony, wallpaper peeling in bathroom, toilet ran all night, called and they sent a fellow at midnight who just turned off water tap and told me to turn it on if I want to flush....sound like a four star? Nope
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Nice exterior look, disappointing interior

Posted Jul 19, 2015
Cons: Rooms need urgent renovation, they are not worth the price we paid.
Location: Excellent location
Stayed at this hotel on July for two nights. The hotel looks excellent from outside, even the lobby. However, the room -- once you get it -- is a different story. 1. Although check in is at 3:00 pm, our room was not ready until after 4:00 pm. The person in the front desk did not want to commit to a time for our room to be ready and he kept on telling us come back in 15 minutes. Finally, after waiting for more than one hour, the manager came up and gave us the key of our room, plus a voucher for $10 per person to be used toward breakfast/dinner. The voucher was a pre-printed card labeled "Check in delay voucher" which makes me believe that late check in is normal in this hotel. 2. Once we get the room, although a very large suite as reserved, it didn't have any harbour views. When we did our reservation, we called the hotel to make sure we choose the correct type of room as we wanted a suite with harbour view. We were placed on the third floor, facing the harbour, with the caveat that there is a four story building across the street that obstructs all view. 3. Room look and comfort was disappointing. Room was due for a renovation. Pink wallpapers (like those I haven't seen for 30 years), gold faucets, unappealing bathroom tiles. 4. The safebox didn't work, the refrigerator was not cleaned and had rotten food from the prior guest. Yuk! 5. Need for a set of new towels, they were all old.