Ratings based on 802 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia

Accommodating hotel in the heart of the city

Posted Oct 22, 2014
Pros: Accommodating and friendly staff. The food at Cafe Veneto, and Veneto Tapa Lounge is top notch.
Cons: The rooms are a bit noisy.
Location: We decided to walk, or use a taxi(water and regular) while in town. Buses also available. You can easily explore the heart of the city from here.
We spent three days here. The hotel is recently( in the last few years) renovated. Staff and facilities are excellent. We found the hotel to very clean. We stayed in a Junior suite, which was spacious. and the standard King, which was of typical size in our opinion, but worked very well for a couple. Great food at the on site restaurants. They offer a voucher for a free muffin or $3.00 off the breakfast of your choice. We ate breakfast here two days and the portions were generous and tasty. A great start for a day of exploring! Veneto Tapa Lounge staff and bartenders were engaging and friendly. The varied cocktails are interesting and skillfully prepared. We ate dinner here once and the tapas were great. They have sharing sized ones that are huge, so we suggest ordering one at a time if your not in a rush, so you avoid being overwhelmed or having to waste any. While parking is off site, it is secure and close by. They do charge $15.00 a day if one of the 20 spaces is available. We had a minor parking problem, and the staff made sure it was corrected immediately, and called our room to confirm that we were completely satisfied. Minor con(to us): Being that you are on what I would consider a major road through town traffic starts around 6:30 A.M. and is noticeable on the third floor. While noticeable, it didn't bother us too much, however it is something to keep in mind if you're a light sleeper. They do provide ear plugs in the rooms. Overall great choice for us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Courtenay

Beautiful hotel, brilliant downtown location.

Posted Oct 21, 2014
Great location, beautiful d├ęcor, truly lovely staff and fabulous food...I had THE BEST mussels on the west coast at the hotel's sophisticated, fun bar Veneto, served by a trio of professional, lively, gregarious bartenders who are guaranteed to make your Hotel Rialto stay extra special!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Centrally located

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Pros: Nice and central for our purposes
Very comfortable hotel. Great food and great staff
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from vancouver Island

No on site parking

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Cons: Bed a bit uncomfortable
Location: Great central location
Front desk directed us to secure city parkade about 11/2 blocks away. Delightful tapas bar/ restaurant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Convenient location

Posted Oct 18, 2014
We've stayed at Rialto before. Obviously enjoyed it enough to do it a second time. The first time we had a larger room facing the City Hall. Beautiful view, but some traffic noise from buses and motorcycles to go along with it. Triple windows might be in order, though ear plugs on the night table are kindly made available. This time we opted for a smaller room facing the inner courtyard. No view, but blissfully quiet, which suited us perfectly. Staff is welcoming, friendly and helpful.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Go there only if you have to

Posted Oct 16, 2014
Its a really small place, quite old, the breakfast they promote as free for guest is just a coffee and a Bun. yeah, a bun. Its in a good location and it has its own liquor store. However the first think they will ask you is a credit card and a 100 dollars deposit no matter what. The rooms are really small and old. Its like paying to stay at somebodys grandmas house.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Prince George, BC

Rialto Hotel in Victoria, BC.

Posted Oct 10, 2014
Pros: The staff were amazing.
Cons: size of the room for the cost and a full restaurant providing room service
Location: Located next to the Ministry office I travel to attend meetings.
The staff were wonderful and very helpful. I take exception with the size of the room (which was a deluxe queen) - it was extremely small and was very disappointed with the cost of the room. I was especially disappointed with the lack of a restaurant service and the cost of the "small plates" in the bar which was $36.00 for 6 tempura shrimp and a strawberry shortcake for dessert. I will be looking for another hotel on my next trip to Victoria.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Albuquerque

Great boutique hotel in heart of Victoria.

Posted Sep 27, 2014
Easy and enjoyable walk to all downtown attractions. Clean and beautiful room. No bathtub, however. Also, the temperature in the room could not be adjusted except for a few degrees; at times it was too warm in the room. Great staff and "go green" incentives.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Murfreesboro, TN, USA

Great staff, location, 3 nights stay

Posted Sep 21, 2014
Pros: Staff, location, cleanliness, food.
Cons: chairs in room
Location: GREAT LOCATION for all of downtown Victoria----but on noisy street corner.
surprise-almost everything we wanted. comfortable and great staff, food the best, rooms very clean, but chairs not at all comfortable for sitting very long. had a corner room---very noisy from street but acceptable. Like a small European hotel. I would give it a very high rating. would stay there on next visit to Victoria.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Downtown classic renovated hotel

Posted Sep 20, 2014
Pros: Nicely renovated classic to modern. An amazing facelift from its previous life.
Cons: Nothing of note
Location: See above
Downtown, walking distance to theatre, restaurants, nice wine and beer store next door Continental breakfast included, hot breakfast optional. Welcome cheese plate at lounge.