Ratings based on 446 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 1, 2015
Great staff, nice pool, clean, helpful, convenient location for airport.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Alberta

No air conditioning -very hot in July!

Posted Jul 29, 2015
The room was Ok. Different which was nice. Staff were excellent, however we were there on a very hot day in July and without air conditioning and extremely small windows that were able to be opened, it was so hot and uncomfortable that we hardly slept.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 1, 2015 by hotel zed, Hotel Management
Hi Vivian, thank you for taking the time to review us. We are so glad you enjoyed the concept. Yes we have had some extremely hot days this month and I do apologize that your room was hot. We are looking into adding A/C in the future. Thank you for the feedback. Chris Knight General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portland, OR

Fun hotel with quick shuttle ride to inner harbor

Posted Jul 27, 2015
What a great hotel experience. The fabulous VW bus shuttle picked us up from the ferry and took us straight to the hotel. Wow! This place is colorful and fun... We listened to records, played ping pong, typed postcards, and shot down the pool slide (the Zedinator!) Our room was big. I think we had a suite that slept 6 and the kitchenette came in handy. The shuttle dropped us off and pick us up from our downtown excursions all weekend. It was overall an exceptional hotel experience. On check out day we were scheduled to board the ferry at 7:30 pm. Hotel Zed held our luggage all day and shuttled us to and from the hotel as needed even after we checked out. We were so impressed with their service. Thanks so much for making our quick family getaway so enjoyable. We will tell all our friends about Hotel Zed!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 1, 2015 by hotel zed, Hotel Management
Wow, 5 star review Haley! Thank you so much! We can't ask for a better review and are so happy you enjoyed your stay. We really appreciate you telling your friends! Can't wait to welcome them. Chris Knight General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Victoria, B.C.

Fun hotel with great service!

Posted Jul 26, 2015
We had a great time at the Hotel Zed. The room was as bright and enjoyable as expected and the staff and atmosphere exceeded all expectations. Highly recommend this place for people of all ages as well as both families and singles.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 28, 2015 by hotel zed, Hotel Management
Hi Angie! Thanks for the 5 star review! Glad you enjoyed the concept and that you found the staff helpful. Hopefully we will get the chance to welcome you back sometime! Chris Knight General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from vancouver

시내에서 가까운 거리 차로 이동시 위치 좋음

Posted Jul 26, 2015
아침은 제공되지 않았는데, 밑에 식당에서 브런치 이용. 양이 많았음. 시트는 깨끗한편
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edmonton, AB

Posted Jul 25, 2015
Pros: Loved the decor, price, amenities, room comfort, restaurant.
Cons: Air conditioning might be a nice addition
Location: Close to the mall, and although it's not right downtown, its still pretty close, and did not find it to be an inconvenience
This will be our new go to when staying in Victoria. The rooms are newly renovated, so everything feels fresh and the rooms were nice and clean. The bed was comfortable and they have great pillows. The decor is definitely unique with a modern take on a vintage vibe. It was nice to have modern conveniences, for example the plug in station so you can connect your smart phone or computer to the tv. The motel has fun amenities and a great restaurant. We found it to be a great value for the price. The only thing that would have made our stay more comfortable would have been an air conditioner, although its not usually as hot in Victoria as it was during our stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 28, 2015 by hotelzed, Hotel Management
Wow! Great review, thank you so much for spending the time to write it. We are glad you found thing hotel so inviting. Appreciate the comments about A/C, we are definitely looking into it. Chris Knight General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Québec

Hôtel bien situé avec services intéressants

Posted Jul 21, 2015
Pros: Piscine, sauna, jeux pour les enfants, transport gratuit jusqu'au centre-ville de Victoria.
Cons: Ajouter chaises et table qui s'agrandit pour plus de personnes dans la suite.
Hôtel modeste mais original. Suite très petite pour 6 personnes. Ajouter des chaises et bien évaluer l'espace nécessaire pour 6 personnes. On avait tout ce qu'il fallait pour cuisiner, mais pas de place pour s'asseoir. Il nous a fallu demander des serviettes supplémentaires.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from wamboin australia

A memorable stay

Posted Jul 21, 2015
Pros: Everything
Cons: Bike map as we got a bit lost in town
Location: Biking into vic for great dining at the wharf and travelling downtown in the VW beast. Amazing buildings, incredible sunset over dinner at the dock.
Hubbie picked the zed and I was a bit dubious of the wacky theme, but it was brilliant. Free tea and coffee all night in the lobby. Free bikes for the galloping goose trail closeby. Lifts in and out of downtown Vic in the beast, a very noisey experience in vw van was a highlight. Vinyl on the turntable. Fruit salad at adjoining cafe ruby was the best breakfast. Stay marred by tragic incident during the middle of the night, totally out of control of hotel, but added unexpected drama to the trip.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 28, 2015 by hotel zed, Hotel Management
Hey Lisa, thanks for the 5 star review! Really appreciate it. Love your comment about "the beast". Riding in the VW buses is definitely an experience. Yes, we were are all saddened by the tragedy that occurred. I hope the rest of your trip is enjoyable and safe travels back to Australia! Chris Knight General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edmonton, AB

Fun and Funky!

Posted Jul 15, 2015
Pros: The clean room, comfy bed and fun atmosphere made my stay very enjoyable.
Cons: My room was located above the hot tub and it was quite noisy. I was also between two rooms of bachelorette partiers, which increased the noise factor
Location: The Mayfair mall is across the street & Starbucks is located down the block. Downtown isn't walking distance, but the shuttle takes you right there.
My stay at The Zed was great! The staff were pleasant and accommodating, my room was clean, and the bed was VERY comfortable! The addition of the fun stickers, comic book, retro-themed phone and lobby extras made for a unique stay- and who wouldn't want to be shuttled to the waterfront in a funky VW van?!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 17, 2015 by hotel zed, Hotel Management
Finnsmum, thanks for the awesome review! Glad your stay was what you expected. Sorry for the rowdy's in the hotub. Hopefully the staff took care of that quickly. We definitely are striving to create a fun atmosphere so its good to hear its working! Chris Knight General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from AB

Great location for the price.

Posted Jul 14, 2015
20 something girls drinking in the hot tub for two hours while my wife and daughter would have loved a soak. 20 something guys returned at 3:00 a.m., loud and drunk. They were straight across from the office. Lots of families. Staff did nothing. Probably intimidated. They did reduce my rate after. Pool was clean and warm at least
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 17, 2015 by hotel zed, Hotel Management
Brian, thanks for taking the time review us. Sounds like you enjoy our concept but other loud guests were a problem. I am terribly sorry about that. We do typically jump on any noise complaints immediately so they don't get out of hand. Hopefully this was the case. We also have outside security available if our staff need a hand. Hope to get the chance to welcome you back again sometime. Chris Knight General Manager