Ratings based on 267 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from vancouver

Nicely renovated.

Posted Sep 28, 2014
Went into the room and it hadn't been cleaned from previous guest. Staff was efficient about solving the problem. Gave me an upgrade.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Back to the Future

Posted Sep 21, 2014
Location: Close enough to most everything you want to drive to in town
What a pleasant experience it was to travel back in time, but experience the benefits of what should be every hotel's aspirations for the future given their excellent customer service and attention to detail. I don't normally get excited about hotels as they are merely places to rest when I vacation, but this one stands out. Keep up the good work and outstanding customer service. The decor seemed to be done by an expert! 5 stars!!!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from tx

Hotel Zed is very retro

Posted Sep 20, 2014
The Hotel Zed is very retro intentionally, which at first looked old, then we realized that was the look. It was very clean, the had a very nice coffee bar in the lobby. Our room was extraordinarily small. We literally had no room for an open suitcase on the floor. This is an ideal place if you don't need any room to move around. We had a double bed and a desk chair and the desk was also your dresser. Two small bedside tables took up all the room. The parking was free and it was far from the parliament. The price was right for that night. We moved to the Marriott for the next 2 nights.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 23, 2014 by Chris, Hotel Management
Hi Deb, thanks for taking the time to review Hotel Zed. We are glad you enjoyed the retro look. It appears you booked into one of our small compact rooms from your description. While a good price, they are indeed small rooms. Next time have a look at our Zed 2 beds or even our Sweet Suite. They are much bigger! Chris Knight General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nanaimo, BC

Fun and funky.

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Not a luxurious stay but good value for the money. The atmosphere makes for a very good overall experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Family hotel

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Nice place to stay, though a bit pricey. Nice place to stay, though a bit pricey.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from alberta

My kids really enjoyed this place.

Posted Sep 1, 2014
They liked the retro ambience and the comic books in the rooms and the Ping pong tables and the pool. Beds were comfortable. Fairly small Rooms but they had everything we needed. No A/C but there was a fan.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 20, 2014 by Chris, Hotel Management
Hi Leonardo, thanks for taking the time to write a review. Glad you liked the retro theme. Appreciate the feedback on a/c. Hopefully its something we can retrofit into the hotel in the near future. Chris Knight General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary

Average hotel

Posted Aug 30, 2014
The hotel creates a nice environment with its colour and theme. Hotel staff good. However the room needs a bit of an upgrade such as the fans in the washroom, stove is a slow cooker and space is limited for four persons if sharing the room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 20, 2014 by Chris, Hotel Management
Dear Tash, Thanks for taking the time to write a review and we are glad your enjoyed the concept. We are constantly upgrading and improving our rooms so we appreciate the feedback on things like the fans and stove. Chris Knight General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice place to stay.

Posted Aug 20, 2014
Very attractive colors on the outside of the building and we were able to check in quickly. The inside was clean and had a little theme added to it but mostly felt like a normal hotel on the inside compared to the outside and lobby. The bathroom and bedroom could match their rebel against the normal theme a bit more to.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 29, 2014 by Chris, Hotel Management
We appreciate you taking the time to leave us a great review. Glad you enjoyed your stay and make sure to check us out again as I am sure we will be adding more "rebel" in the future! Chris Knight General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Idaho

Amazing! Refreshing customer service!

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Pros: The cleanliness and the staff.
Cons: The height of the shower heads.
Location: Location is perfect. There is a Mall across the street, all of the tourist attractions are only a few blocks away.
The staff at Hotel Zed are amazing people. They help give Canada a good reputation. They treat you like people not a number. They talk with a smile in their voice and have wonderful customer service skills. The cleanliness of this hotel was exceptional! The shuttle bus was fantastic! They have something for everyone: The free shuttle bus is a wonderful addition, the free bicycle's you can use to tour at your leisure is great, there is also a pool, a slide, a hot tub and a gaming room in the downstairs of the lobby.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Got the job done

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Pros: Location and funky atmosphere
Cons: Would be nice if they had some disposable spoons and forks in the lobby
This hotel is well situated on the main street in Victoria. Right across the street is a major shopping centre and numerous buses servicing downtown. The staff was helpful in the lobby was comfortable which was a good thing because the room was extremely small. Next time I would upgrade to a one bedroom suite as the bachelor pad is too tight for two people.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 29, 2014 by Chris, Hotel Management
Dear Ninuska, thanks for taking the time to write a review. Definitely would love for you to try our King for a Night, Zed 2 bed or Sweet Suite next time! You will find they will offer much more space. Cheers Chris Knight General Manager