Ratings based on 383 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom calgary

Great little hotel

Posted Apr 15, 2015
We really enjoyed our stay at hotel Zed. The rooms we really clean, the staff was helpful and the kids loved the games room and the water slide!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Mercer Island, WA

Nice hotel that's just the right amount of rebel

Posted Apr 12, 2015
Hotel Zed is bright and fun. We loved the eye-popping colors inside and out. The staff is very nice and helpful. Everything is clean and well maintained. We enjoyed our rides into town in a VW van. The hotel is a 10-minute drive from the main tourist sites. We liked being away from the bustle. If you're a light sleeper, ask for a room on the backside of the hotel. Morning traffic can be noisy. Try the in-hotel restaurant, The Ruby, for really delicious food that's reasonably priced.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fun place to stay with the family

Posted Mar 30, 2015
This was our first getaway as a family of four and we feel we couldn't have chosen a better place to stay. The atmosphere was welcoming - bright colours, friendly staff, funky rooms, a fantastic restaurant and countless things to do (pool & waterslide, sauna, Wii station, ping pong). We would definitely stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom vancouver

Good value and fun for kids!

Posted Mar 30, 2015
This hotel is great if you have kids or teens. We loved the retro theme and fun things like typewriters, record players, ping pong and waterslide. Room was practical with a kitchenette and separate bedroom for parents. No complaints! We would stay again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good for the kids

Posted Mar 28, 2015
I found the hotel nice and the staff friendly. My daughter (5) loved it. My only complaint was that I found a silverfish in my daughter's bed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 31, 2015 by Hotel Zed, Hotel Management
We are so glad you and your daughter enjoyed Hotel Zed! I do apologize for the silverfish. We will be sure to have all rooms checked by a professional to make sure there are no others. I hope to see you again soon. Chris Knight General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Vancouver

Great experience

Posted Mar 28, 2015
Loved it! The atmosphere was great, they are child and pet friendly and the amenities were awesome! Our only complaint was the showers had no water pressure but hardly a serious complaint!! We had fun and only wished we had planned to stay longer!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 31, 2015 by Hotel Zed, Hotel Management
Hi Stori, thanks for taking the time to review us! We are so happy that you enjoyed the concept. Sorry for the water pressure issue. The odd time it happens when everyone decides to shower at the same time. Hope to see you back again sometime soon. Chris Knight General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 26, 2015
Very nice to place to stay. My 15 yr old daughter really enjoyed all the fun stuff!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 31, 2015 by Hotel Zed, Hotel Management
Wow! 5 star review. Thank you so much. Kids really seem to be enjoying the Hotel Zed concept. We hope to see you again! Chris Knight General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Whitehorse

Quirky hotel

Posted Mar 22, 2015
Quirky hotel.If you like mid century fusion 70 style, this is the place for you. Very clean and well kept. Nice friendly staff. Funky pool and lobby. Affordable and convenient to downtown.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Vancouver, BC

Surrounded by Craft Beer Breweries

Posted Mar 3, 2015
This hotel is perfect for those looking to enjoy where they are staying, without planning to be in the hotel a lot. There is plenty to do with the water slide (surprisingly fast!) pool, hot tub, sauna, ping pong and wii if you need to be entertained. However it is also within a 20min walk/10min bike ride with their complimentary bikes (don't be surprised by the $200 deposit it's for safety and liability) of not 1 but 5 different craft beer breweries! Vancouver Island, Phillips, Hoyne, Driftwood and Moon Under Water. Also only a 20min walk to downtown, however we took the Z Sled bus to the centre after check out to catch our bus to the ferry. This was our first stay here but I can honestly say that it will be where we stay every time we are looking to visit the island. And why not when every room is different? Each experience will take away a little of it's own uniqueness.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 12, 2015 by Chris Knight, Hotel Management
Hi Christy, wow wicked review! Thanks so much. Very cool that you got to try some of the islands best beers. We are lucky to have them so close to us. Hopefully we will have some new surprises in store for you when you stay next time! Chris Knight General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

1 night in Victoria

Posted Feb 11, 2015
Pros: eclectic décor, proximity to everything
Cons: soundproofing rooms closest to Douglas.
Fun hotel decor. Enjoyed the pool and hot tub. Retro styling was different. Bed was comfortable. Bathroom a little worn but clean and functional.