Ratings based on 275 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Port Alberni

Comfortably central to area I visit

Posted Oct 6, 2014
Pros: We've found it easily accessable and close enough to the city center to do any shopping or sightseeing.
Cons: Just keep up the good work. Improving the decor was a big plus and maybe others will follow as is evident in the area.
Location: Being across from a major mall is a plus and access to the trails and tourist/business' around is nice.
We have stayed in this hotel for a few years now and the improvements have just made it that much more enjoyable. Found the staff friendly and helpful and enjoyed some of the new ideas like the availability of the bikes to ride around the city and retro theme they presented. Very enjoyable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 11, 2014 by Chris, Hotel Management
Hi Al, thanks for taking the time to write a nice review about Hotel Zed! Especially since you were able to appreciate the transformation over the past year or so, being a loyal guest of hours for the past few years. Look forward to seeing you again soon. Chris Knight General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Best motel experience ever!

Posted Oct 5, 2014
Loved the color design, the interior design and friendlyness of the hotel. It is still a motel, but the presentation makes you feel like an 4 star hotel!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from campbell river

Great experience

Posted Oct 5, 2014
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from vancouver

Nicely renovated.

Posted Sep 28, 2014
Went into the room and it hadn't been cleaned from previous guest. Staff was efficient about solving the problem. Gave me an upgrade.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 11, 2014 by Chris, Hotel Management
Dear Vagabond I am sorry for our mistake putting you into a room that was not cleaned. I am glad that our Front Desk Staff were able to quickly solve the problem and compensate you with a free upgrade. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Chris Knight General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Back to the Future

Posted Sep 21, 2014
Location: Close enough to most everything you want to drive to in town
What a pleasant experience it was to travel back in time, but experience the benefits of what should be every hotel's aspirations for the future given their excellent customer service and attention to detail. I don't normally get excited about hotels as they are merely places to rest when I vacation, but this one stands out. Keep up the good work and outstanding customer service. The decor seemed to be done by an expert! 5 stars!!!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from tx

Hotel Zed is very retro

Posted Sep 20, 2014
The Hotel Zed is very retro intentionally, which at first looked old, then we realized that was the look. It was very clean, the had a very nice coffee bar in the lobby. Our room was extraordinarily small. We literally had no room for an open suitcase on the floor. This is an ideal place if you don't need any room to move around. We had a double bed and a desk chair and the desk was also your dresser. Two small bedside tables took up all the room. The parking was free and it was far from the parliament. The price was right for that night. We moved to the Marriott for the next 2 nights.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 23, 2014 by Chris, Hotel Management
Hi Deb, thanks for taking the time to review Hotel Zed. We are glad you enjoyed the retro look. It appears you booked into one of our small compact rooms from your description. While a good price, they are indeed small rooms. Next time have a look at our Zed 2 beds or even our Sweet Suite. They are much bigger! Chris Knight General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nanaimo, BC

Fun and funky.

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Not a luxurious stay but good value for the money. The atmosphere makes for a very good overall experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Family hotel

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Nice place to stay, though a bit pricey. Nice place to stay, though a bit pricey.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from alberta

My kids really enjoyed this place.

Posted Sep 1, 2014
They liked the retro ambience and the comic books in the rooms and the Ping pong tables and the pool. Beds were comfortable. Fairly small Rooms but they had everything we needed. No A/C but there was a fan.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 20, 2014 by Chris, Hotel Management
Hi Leonardo, thanks for taking the time to write a review. Glad you liked the retro theme. Appreciate the feedback on a/c. Hopefully its something we can retrofit into the hotel in the near future. Chris Knight General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary

Average hotel

Posted Aug 30, 2014
The hotel creates a nice environment with its colour and theme. Hotel staff good. However the room needs a bit of an upgrade such as the fans in the washroom, stove is a slow cooker and space is limited for four persons if sharing the room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 20, 2014 by Chris, Hotel Management
Dear Tash, Thanks for taking the time to write a review and we are glad your enjoyed the concept. We are constantly upgrading and improving our rooms so we appreciate the feedback on things like the fans and stove. Chris Knight General Manager