Ratings based on 335 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Getting run down

Posted Mar 31, 2014
Pros: The pool
Cons: A restaurant, fix the decor
Location: Galloping goose trail
For the price it was what i expected.I would stay there again , they did have a nice indoor pool
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Was okay, nothing great but the price was right

Posted Mar 27, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Heating system was very noisy
Location: Was on a busy road nice walk along the river bank nearby. Was close to Tim's and other coffee shops
Okay for a one night stay overnight when you don't have to spend a lot of time in the room, heating system was noisy,wifi was off and on hard to get onto!was on a busy road and hard to get across. Hotel was okay but not great.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

It was nothing special

Posted Mar 19, 2014
The only complaint I have is that I requested a late checkout for noon and front desk said that is fine. At 11:10 am was called and reminded that checkout was 11 am. Front desk said ok you get out at noon then.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel Insisted that I pay $150.00 dollar deposit.

Posted Mar 16, 2014
Pros: Not Much
Cons: Policy
Location: Not Great street people in rooms and strong smell of marijuana.
I paid for the 4 day reservation online when booked . Arrived at Hotel and when checking in was told that an additional $150.00 was required as a deposit this would be refunded when I checked out. I checked out and the desk clerk said she would mail the refund. I refused and told her I was going to phone Amex. I wanted the refund now. I had to wait while they found someone to inspect room , this was the one and only time I have encountered this type of policy . I will not use expedia again unless there is a change in the policy. ED Lugossy
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

not Impressed...........

Posted Feb 2, 2014
Pros: The staff were friendly
Cons: It's an old hotel that needs total remodelling.
Location: Location great with a beautiful walking trail right beside it. We were able to walk to the downtown area within 25minutes.
Location great and it stops there. Carpets were filthy, blankets had holes in them. No camera's in parking lot which did nothing to help find the person who side swiped our rental car during the night. The room was very hot and we were unable to adjust it any cooler so we opened a window which had no screen and that put us at risk of rodents entering plus there was no way to lock the window from opening further and someone being able to access our room very easily seeing we were on ground level. All in all a disappointing experience and we won't be taking a Howard Johnston again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 27, 2013
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 30, 2013
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Cheap Night

Posted Oct 16, 2013 on Hotels.com
Have stayed here in the past knowing that it is an inexpensive night in Victoria. Close to family, so makes visiting easier. By no means an upscale hotel, with very limited amenities and poor maintenance. Rooms definitely need a make over, but for a quick stop - you get what you are paying for.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Dave from Kelowna

Perfect for single traveller on a busy trip

Posted Oct 9, 2013
Pros: Price, quiet, central location
Cons: In room fridge
Location: Central, easy access to the rest of town
Cheap, quiet, with just the basics. Exactly what I needed. Would definitely go back.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A safe place to stay but not much more

Posted Oct 6, 2013
For $90 we stayed in one of the king suites. It had a king bed a fridge a stove a table and two chairs. The bed was very comfy, but the room looked extremely lived in. The tile in the shower was stained, as was the carpeting. There was a dent in the wall where someone has obviously punched it (you could see the knuckle marks), and the fire safety notices in the room had been stapled into the door. One of the bedside lights didn't turn on, and the one that did flickered every once in a while. To turn on the heat you had to reach behind the bedside table (which I discovered was falling apart) to turn a knob on the baseboard heater and then wait and see if you had turned it on enough or too much, it took us a while to find a comfortable temperature. The location was great however, 15 min walk to Mayfair mall, easy to find, I felt safe in that area at night. Overall if you need somewhere to crash for one night this is a decent option.