Ratings based on 489 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Norther Vancouver Island

A bit of a disappointment. Not like other HOJO's

Posted Feb 1, 2015
Pros: They gave you extra pillows to help compensate for the firmness of the beds.
Cons: Replace the shower faucet with pressure-balancing valves.
Location: It's only 5-10 minutes from downtown.
My first encounter with this hotel was the rude check-in staff. I felt she treated me rudely because we checked in online. We proceeded to our room. In the elevator between the first and second floors the elevator jilts to one side, grinds against the wall, and then straightens out, it was a good heart check. Once we opened our door the room stank like mildew, the mini fridge was tilted, there were cracks where the drywall met the ceiling, our bathroom smelled like ammonia and the bed was hard as a rock. I went downstairs and said there is no way I am staying in this room. They gave me another room that didn't look like it was from an abandon hotel. The shower temperature gets uncomfortably hot and cold without warning. I have heard of the benefits of switching back and forth between hot and cold in the shower to invigorate the body, although I think this shower goes a bit to the extremes. The bed was still very firm and you could feel each individual spring. The secondary entrance (the one connected to the parking lot) had people smoking directly in the doorway nearly every time we arrived or departed from the hotel. At least they like to make sure the hallways are nice and clean, they get up extra early to vacuum so as to ensure the hallways are spotless before you even want to get out of bed (can work as a wake-up call). All that being said, I would not recommend staying in the Howard Johnson Victoria, but the Naniamo one was fairly nice.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Surrey, BC

Worst hotel I've stayed at

Posted Jan 6, 2015
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything. Start with the odor of the hotel.
Location: You have to drive to downtown Victoria to get as far away from the hotel as possible.
This hotel needs a full upgrade or even torn down completely then rebuilt. Walking to our room we noticed there was a bad smell in the air that we could never figure out what it was or where it was coming from. The smell continued into our room and was unbearable. We informed the front desk and there was nothing done about it. Everything in the room was outdated by I'd say probably 30 or more years. The bed was very uncomfortable and was tough to get any sleep. We were planning on using the kitchen in our room to save on dining out but everything looked dirty and terribly old.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Not bad for the price

Posted Jan 3, 2015
Great hotel, service and staff. Just thought the gym was not really a "gym" only had a treadmill and mirrors.. The sauna was not on when I went to use it probably because it's not a very busy hotel and just was never turned on. Overall? good to stay if you are on a budget :
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Unbeatable value.

Posted Jan 1, 2015
You cannot replicate this quality, service, amenities, and location, at this price.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Vancouver Island

Affordable, convenient location.

Posted Dec 31, 2014
Cons: In future, I would request a room on the opposite side of the parking lot. I would also ask for a room with no family staying in the next room.
Location: Relatively close to downtown-tourist area.
Suited our short stay in Victoria. We did not get time to use the pool so cannot comment on this.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Vancouver Island

Ok for the price

Posted Dec 23, 2014
The room was clean, but the place was a bit dated. The bed was great, I didn't sleep much though, when I came in late, the hot water heat had been on for hours, and it's either on or off. Luckily the window opened, so by 1 am I was able to close it, I was close to the front on Gorge road and had traffic and Bar noise. I was then kept awake by the hall ventilation system that sounds like a cement mixer. I did get a few hours sleep and next time I'll request a room in the back instead, it's clean for the value. It's funny to see the large older tvs, mine took 20 seconds or so to start up, but it worked fine.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Australia

OK hotel

Posted Dec 18, 2014
Pros: Close to lovely trails to walk the dogs
Cons: Almost everything
Location: Near Mayfair Mall and the Gorge, for easy shopping and eating. Ten minute drive to city centre for all the events.
Friendly staff, but oh my. Hotel outdated and not kept up. No one has gardened for years - all the lovely old shrubs are dying. Carpeting outdated. We had a kitchenette: stove didn't work, ancient microwave, had to move coffeemaker to find a plug, had to turn fridge off it made such terrible noises. No hot tub at pool. Exercise room tiny.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Vancouver Island

Decent for price quiet location

Posted Dec 8, 2014
Pros: Good price, clean, reasonably quiet, short drive to town.
Cons: Minor toilet run on problem should be fixed.
Location: Pub bar and grill on site. Couple of blocks to Tim Hortons and Pizza place. Off main roads, so no traffic noise, 5 or 10 minute drive to downtown.
Young front office staff efficient, perfunctory, but not particularly friendly or helpful. Seemed more interested in socializing with friends in lobby. Loud Saturday night party down the hall was far enough away to be not too disturbing. Room was clean and good value for $ with 15% expedia discount. Didn't check out pool or fitness centre. Good shower, but toilet ran on and on after every flush and required expert handle jiggling to stop. Didn't try the air conditioning. Good location, no traffic noise. Well fenced, decently lit parking lot with limited access felt reasonably secure. Overall, good value for the price I paid. Would stay here again for basic overnight accommodations.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wouldn't stay here again

Posted Dec 5, 2014
For the price, what more could we expect. Our room hadn't been cleaned properly. The carpet and the bathroom floor was dirty, the bed was incredibly uncomfortable, there was a hole in the wall by the door. It just seems like the management doesn't care about the hotel appearance
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Jayne

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 16, 2014 on Hotels.com