Ratings based on 1,140 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Intrusive Staff

Posted Dec 25, 2014
Cons: The rooms are starting to look tired and could need a refreshing.
I have stayed at this hotel several times in the past. There were never any issues However, this is the first time I am compelled to write this review to explain my ratings. My partner and I did our usual thing to get away for a night from work (we run a business together) and spend time away. She is younger than I and visually appealing; but we have been together for a decade. The front desk check in clerk thought she was an escort and asked all sorts of intrusive personal questions. We have stayed here many times before without going through the Gestapo questioning. I was miffed by the line of questions of who my partner is. Basically, this is personal and none of their business. I have never experience this from many other hotels we have stayed in our travels. Maybe this fellow has certain conservative religious views and personal opinions of people? If so, he should be professional to keep his personal views to himself and keep work matters separate. This experience was disappointing. Hope management selects and trains their staff better to not be so nosey.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

View ain't really a view

Posted Dec 23, 2014
Thought we were going to stay in a lovely hotel with a great view. We paid more for the view. This hotel's definition of view was a view of the roof below. Shocking bait and switch. Will never stay there again. Lovely and helpful staff however.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom north vancouver bc

BeAutiful water view room

Posted Dec 16, 2014
Our room was very nice, stunning view of the waterfront. The staff was very friendly, professional, and responded to our concerns promptly. The heating system was broken and we spent a chilly first night before it was repaired in the morning. We also had a problem on our last morning. The toilet handle seemed to be broken and consequently we couldn't flush . My husband had to turn the water valve off to keep it from overflowing. Yuck! Otherwise, we enjoyed our honeymoon in this lovely hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Washington State

Great experience

Posted Dec 15, 2014
Modern room, excellent ammenities, friendly and helpful staff. A little bit of a walk to shopping and restaurants but the view and experience make it worthwhile.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Business or Pleasure in Victoria

Posted Dec 14, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: throw in the parking with the cost of the room.
Location: On the inner harbor with shopping and resturants nearby.
Great hotel only minutes from downtown on foot but out of the hustle and bustle.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Love the Erickson Wing

Posted Dec 8, 2014
Have stayed at Laurel a number of times. Definitely worth the upgrade to Erickson Wing. Views are incredible! Great beds and the bathrooms are great. You shouldn't be disappointed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best hotel!

Posted Dec 1, 2014
Location: Close by the city center. We loved walking around and seeing the city. Beautiful.
Loved the stay! Costumer service was amazing! Would love to come back to the same hotel. Studio at Erickson Wing was great. No complains at all. Comfy. Cozy. Just perfect little gateaway!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom vancouver

3 star hotel

Posted Nov 20, 2014
An average hotel in a nice location on the water with a nice view of the inner harbor . Room was clean but somewhat dated, no full length mirror , no extra pillows or blankets, you have to pay for wifi! Little things you'd expect in a supposed 4 star hotel. But otherwise nice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 25, 2014 by Louise, Hotel Management
Thank you Peter for your comments. If you stay with us again, please do not hesitate to contact our Front Desk team as we have extra pillows and blankets that we would be happy to run up to you. Our Expedia listing does indicate that Wi-Fi is complimentary in all of our public spaces and the Live-Inn Room - where you can enjoy complimentary coffee & tea. Wireless in-room internet is available for a one-time charge of $9.95 plus tax. Thank you for your review, we hope to see you again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Vancouver, BC

Nice Stay in Victoria

Posted Nov 16, 2014
This is my second time staying in this hotel. Exceptional and friendly staff. Comfortable and clean room. I will definitely consider this hotel for my next trip to Victoria.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom kelowna bc

Great hotel :)

Posted Nov 16, 2014
Excellent hotel and area around hotel was very nice. Great rate and great review!