Ratings based on 214 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.9 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
2.9 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from falardeau , qu├ębec

our stay in Victoria

Posted Jul 25, 2014
Pros: bed was confortable, had fridg and microwave, internet was fast, clean
Cons: towells too small
Location: next too china town...centraly located
Our stay was peacefull, the receptionist was very attentive, our room was clean...and had what was required for a stay
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location, disappointing service and room

Posted Jul 17, 2014
I stayed at this location when my mother visited. It was in a good location and the staff were friendly. We however had a number of problems with the room. The toilet had not been cleaned prior to our stay and there was toilet paper still in the toilet. . It also did not flush correctly and was dripping all night long. The bathroom fan was faulty and noisy. The plug for the hairdryer did not work. In addition the cleaners did not come for 2 days therefore we had to collect fresh towels etc via the reception. I realize that errors do happen and the staff stated that it should not be a problem getting a refund via the new manager as Expedia would need his authorization. This would have rectified the issue and inconvenience. However after calling the manager at the times i was told and leaving my details i am yet to hear from him and he never was around. This is very poor customer service and a shame for a situation that could have been rectified.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 17, 2014
Cons: upgrade it
Location: chinatown ,baston square
faucet leaked needs to be up graded can take bus into town close to chinatown
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

More like a motel....

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Location: Close to Chinatown/downtown
For the price we paid per night we were expecting a bit more... Overall look of the building is very dated and so are rooms. We stayed in a king bedroom on the main floor which is right across an office building, so couldn't open the curtains. Air conditioner in the room was poorly installed into the wall by the window, with some wholes going through the wall covered with clear scotch tape... The room was cleanish, but looked grimy... There were no towels when we arrived, after asking for them, we received exactly 3 towels: 1 large bath towel, 1 smaller bath towel and 1 hand towel... No bath mat or additional towels... We hoped that the housekeeper would drop by more towels in the morning (we were there for 2 nights), but no, she only folded our 3 towels. Overall ok I guess...should've paid no more than half for the quality. One plus: free parking, including some underground.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brampton

Scary hotel

Posted Jul 11, 2014
No tabs in washroom. No lock doors between two rooms.coffee maker not clean
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Ontario, Canada

We stayed here for 12 nights.

Posted Jul 9, 2014
Pros: Free WIFI and lobby computer access. Close to downtown Victoria
Cons: Bedding changed at least once a week. Vacuum. Bigger bath towels. Notices in the hallways about noise consideration, particularly between 12-6 am
Location: Close to downtown Victoria, harbor, restaurants, bars, coffee shops, shopping, entertainment (inside and outside), banks, movie theaters.
The bedsheets were not changed during our 12 night stay. We made up the bed ourselves, because after the first night we realized that it wouldn't be done despite our request. The bath towels are too small. There's no coffee/tea facility in the room despite the statement on their website that is included.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC

walking distance downtown

Posted Jul 3, 2014
Pros: location and friendly/helpful staff
Cons: daily cleaning of rooms, outside appearance of the hotel
Location: it is very close to downtown and you can easily walk to all the main attractions in Victoria, like the harbor, Parliament Buildings, Empress Hotel,...
like other reviews of this hotel I have to agree about the hotel staff who are very friendly and helpful. Every time we asked for something it was there when we got home. Though like others said before there was no room service the 3 nights we stayed there and the garbage was really full in the end. Also we have really loud neighbors who were having friends over in the middle of the night 12-2am... Other then that it is awesome to walk to everything downtown. The room had fridge and microwave and you could open the glass door to a small balcony. So we always had fresh air and didnt need any AC. The beds were two king beds and comfortable. With 3 adults in the room it would have been nice to have a sink outside of the bathroom, like some other hotels have. But it worked out fine and we were happy with everything. I would stay there again and recommend it too. even if it doenst look as nice from the outside.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing from this hotel room

Posted Jul 2, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff, close to the sights, walking distance
Cons: Bed sheets and blankets in white color, clean the carpet and open the windows to take away the stink.
Location: Parliment house
Blankets were dirty mixed color, bad smell, lots of lints on the blankets- woke up at mid night and start itching, couldn't take that blanket on whole night, have to sleep without blanket without air condioning while it was very hot weather. When we first open the door, it was stinky, dirty rug, can't walk without slippers. In the washroom, toilet was dirty. I want to change the room on the first sight but my husband stopped me. We have 2 kids with us, they are complaining from itching too. They were so disappointed when they saw the room and beds, don't want to go to bed, but no other option. This was our first visit to Victoria, i wish that i had paid little more atleast for good sleep. Kids never want to go back because of this hotel experience, next day we feel very tired and sleepy, feel no energy to walk, could be better if we had good sleep.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by syl from surrey

Good for the price

Posted Jul 2, 2014
Pros: Close to downtown
Cons: Continental breakfast
Location: Close to two restaurants and not far from the downtown area
Didn't experience anything at hotel. Came to see downtown Victoria
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Won't be back

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Beds + Pillows, towels, smell, cleanliness.
Location: Right downtown
We always stay in cheap hotels and this one was by far the worst ever. As previously mentioned the room smelled musty like cigarettes and was poorly lit. We were on the first floor with a window in the parking lot so having the curtains open was not ideal. The bed was by far the worst part though, the one pillow I had was so thin I had to fold it in half to keep my head off the mattress. The towels were also see through thin and smelt quite bad. I will not stay here again, there are many other hotels around the same price with far better rooms. The location was the only positive, but not worth the terrible sleep. If I am going to stay somewhere old and run down it better have some character.