Ratings based on 680 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from california

Great Hotel

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Pros: quantness
Cons: nothing
The room was small, but we didn't come to stay inside-we were able to walk to the water front. All in all I would not hesitate to recommend the hotel to anyone.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Vernon, BC, Canada

Nice hotel close to city centre in Victoria, BC

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Pros: Comfort, cleanliness, free parking, peaceful and quiet at night.
Cons: Dining room offerings.
Location: Central and easily accessible to shopping, dining and cultural offerings.
Pleasant room with view. Free parking was most welcome. Food services deserve a mixed review: light meals (pub food) were good. However, mains were a disappointment, bordering on the unacceptable. Bill & Judith Hamilton, Vernon, BC, Canada
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Luxembourg, Luxembourg

Great place to stay in Victoria

Posted Jul 11, 2014
The hotel is conveniently located near the capitol building, harbor, Ogden point, and lots of other tourist attractions in Victoria. Additionally, the staff was very friendly and helpful, even going so far as to let us use their printer for our ferry tickets. Our only complaint is the hotel is a little old and could use some renovations, but that shouldn't discourage anyone from staying there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from seattle area

Quaint, comfortable & convenient

Posted Jul 9, 2014
Pros: Location, decor, great service, character and fair price.
Cons: Serve a simple breakfast, juice, muffins, etc. would be nice
Location: Wonderful location, walk to Beacon Hill Park, Royal BC museum, restaurants, parliament building, all harbor sights and shopping.
This was my first time at this little hotel, it was a real gem! I picked it for location and type of hotel, that is a bit more quaint and with character. I was able to walk everywhere from there, especially enjoyed mornings at Beacon Hill Park! I had dinner in the Pub, good food and friendly service. I tried breakfast at the restaurant & the eggs benedict were wonderful! The room was cozy and small, which was perfect for me on my own, but the bathroom had plenty of space and nice shelves for my stuff. I was visiting with a friend who lives nearby, so that was a great to be so close. The neighborhood is very charming as well.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Layton Utah

James Bay Romantic Stay in the Past

Posted Jul 7, 2014
It was a totally unique yet refreshing experience like going back in time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location. Suite is better than regular rooms

Posted Jul 1, 2014
Great location to explore the city walking. The suite is located in a house next to the hotel, the room was a complete apartment with full kitchen, living room, tv on living room, tv in the bedroom, great the host friends.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Sharon from Abbotsford, B.C.

location was excellent. hotel was charming.

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Pros: location and its charming character
Location: We were centrally located close to everything - the Provincial Museum, Fisherman's wharf, Parliament Buildings, waterfront, Beaconhill Park & shopping
The hotel was close to everything, with parking included. Even when we checked out, we wanted to do some more sightseeing and the hotel allowed us to leave our vehicle in the parking lot until we were finished.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Janice from Calgary

Great location but dated.

Posted Jun 29, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Add an elevator and improve plumbing (shower).
The hotel itself is charming and in a great location for walking to the inner harbour and downtown. Having both a restaurant and a pub is a great feature. It does not have an elevator so would be difficult for those with mobility issues. The room we had was very small with only one chair. The shower was tempermental - it could go from comfortable to almost scalding to ice cold within seconds.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

It was very well situated.

Posted Jun 28, 2014
Pros: It was close to everything and situated in a beautiful area. The staff were excellent.
Cons: I don't think that you should sell the room we had as suitable for a couple. Room 201.
Location: We enjoyed walking in the area, close to the park, and other interesting areas. It was close to the Royal BC Museum which was the reason for our visit
We enjoyed the hotel, but were disappointed in the room. It was really too small for 2 people. The bed was ostensibly a double, but felt more like a 3/4.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Marian from Edmonton, AB

Old style hotel close to Inner Harbour and Park

Posted Jun 26, 2014
Pros: Proximity to all the places we wanted to visit.
Cons: We were glad there was complimentary coffee in the lobby, although it could be more tasty.
Location: We were able to visit Beacon Hill Park, Barb's Fish and Chips, walk to the ocean and sit and contemplate, visit the coffee and book store nearby, go t
The first room we were offered was on the third floor and it was not very pleasant. Even the paint colours on the walls were not compatible and affected the ambiance in the room. We were subsequently given a room on the main floor which, though small, had what we needed. It was pleasant, the washroom was adequate and there was a small fridge for our snacks, as well as a decent closet and space for our suitcases. The TV worked well and the dresser had sufficient drawers. We would stay there again for the very reasonable price.