Ratings based on 270 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Comox Valley

It did the job!

Posted Nov 15, 2014
Pros: Price and location
Cons: Cleanliness
Location: Downtown Victoria need I say more?
It filled the bill, we needed an inexpensive room close to downtown. The location was great and the price but the room was not very clean. There was garbage in the can when we got there and when I moved a chair there was a pit and paper under it. The tub also looked dirty but luckily we only were there 12 hours and did not need to make use of it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel overall

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Nice people, great location and value. Had a quiet night before the marathon. Independent feel, if a tad dumpy with some creepy paintings. But I would stay there again...(and I lived in Victoria for a decade). I consider being able to walk directly outside from the room a big plus.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Downtown Victoria motel

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Comfortable and clean. Great value. Convenient location.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Vancouver

Wont Be Back.

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Pros: Staff was the only thing that saved this place.
Cons: Beds, Rooms, carpets, Bathrooms, TV,...... Just gut the rooms and rebuild.
Location: Location is good but again BETTER PLaces around the area for Way Better. I KNOW. I was born and Raised in Victoria!!
This place was built in 40's or 50's and looks it. Most places are updated with the times,.... NOT HERE. There are FAR BETTER HOTELS AND MOTELS AROUND THIS AREA CHEAPER THAN THIS PLACE. Would NOT recomend this to anybody. This place was Wutever at best.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Seattle WA

Retro Hotel near heart of Victoria

Posted Oct 13, 2014
Pros: Convenient location, clean, quiet
Location: Downtown Victoria at your doorrstep
Quiet room in seculded off-street area, firm bed (a plus), fridge, microwave, cable tv. Very nice
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Toronto

Deficiencies

Posted Sep 19, 2014
Pros: Well located for touristic area. Quiet. comfortable beds Pleasant staff.
Cons: The above comments/deficiencies
Location: Well located for a short walk or bus ride/car ride to the touristic area.
I was upgraded to the courtyard area, Nice and quiet. Unfortunately a long way from the hot water supply. At one point I had to have a cold shower. I didn't seem to be on the cleaner's list and had to approach them for sweetener, coffee etc. I explained to front desk that they had a 2' bare all around their T.V. picture indicating that the picture size had never been properly configured. This occurred in the two rooms that I was in. On the plus side. Well located for touristic area. Nice and quiet. comfortable beds. Staff pleasant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom aust

For the price, excellent. Close enough to town

Posted Sep 12, 2014
Pros: Price
Location: Close enough to do most things
Good for price close to everything"..............loved the restaurant
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom australia

Nice Motel, close to town. The restaurant is great

Posted Sep 6, 2014
Close to town, friendly helpful staff, restaurant great meals at reasonable prices
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Kelowna

Disappointing

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Pros: Close to toursit attractions, walking distance. Room was clean.
Cons: Hotel staff to deal with noise complaints in a better way
Hotel room was what you would expect for the price, no complaints. Hotel is walking distance to the typical tourist attractions (ex: Inner Harbour), very convinient. Verry disapointed with the hotel staff: allowing a group of very hyper, immature guests to stay below and beside our room, they partied all day/night, made noise, aaaaaand even after we complained and begged many times for something to be done............nothing was. Very dissapointing and frustrating. Would rather spend a bit more money next time and hopefully avoid a hotel that may attract people like this (in our experience) OR at least a hotel that might do something about a situation like the one we had.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom San Francisco, CA

Cheap, but not comfortable

Posted Aug 28, 2014
Pros: wouldn't recommend
Cons: Decor, pillows (please replace them every 10 years!), gauges and chips in sink and tub, shampoo the spots out of the carpet, replace the drapes
Location: Walking distance from Chinatown. Longer walk to downtown area. Coffee in restaurant is very good.
This is an old motel, with flat pillows, hot rooms, chipped sink, dusty fan, gouged bathtub floor, noisy shower that either burns you or freezes you at whim, one towel per person, dated bedspreads and room decor. Tried to call the front desk two nights in a row, and it rang and rang for almost 15 rings before I finally hung up, got dressed and had to walk down there. The front desk is only manned by one person, so if they are helping someone else, no one answers the phone! The housekeepers were nice and the front desk staff were pleasant, but they have such a sad property to represent. The carpet had so many spots on it, we wore shoes the whole time--even in the middle of the night. We ended up having to stay the entire 4 nights we reserved because most of Victoria was already booked by the time we saw the error of our ways. Came home exhausted! The website made it look so cute, but it was a "bait and switch." I guess you get what you pay for.