Ratings based on 177 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Excellent hotel with great support staff.

Posted Sep 20, 2014
Pros: Helpfulness of staff.
Cons: Nothing significant. Elevators tended to stop below floor threshold by a half inch - enough to cause a trip. Hotel is not new but not old either.
Location: Everywhere in Victoria is close to everything. This criteria is not relevant. The Sandman is on a one-way main street, so prepare in advance.
This hotel was excellent in almost every way. The staff were wonderful, helping us to better plan our local sightseeing andointing out some limitations of otherwise intriguing tour choices. Hospitality and Integrity go together at this hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

room and front doors

Posted Sep 20, 2014
Pros: no
Cons: odor in the room from the couch and automatic front doors.
there was a strange smell coming from the couch so we didn't use that area of the room. I told the clerk when we checked out but should have mentioned it before. I cant believe in this day and age 2014 that the front door have to be manually opened. pretty difficult to open the doors to get our bags in or out. I did see a few other people stuggling with the same issue
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from WA USA

No recommending this Hotel

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Upon arrival, the lady clerk did not let us in to our room "because our room was not ready" we sat and wait for 2 1/2 hours before we were allowed to check in. Other guests arrived with the same room type and they were allowed to check in. iNSANE! If this is not enough, she said the deposit was $200.00 dollars and tried to hold $300.00 instead. We have a serious complaint as we never had a situation like this ever.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Sep 5, 2014
Pros: The hotel was located central enough for us to get to from downtown and to a soccer tournament we were attending.
Cons: Hotel claims of WI FI and we could never hook up to it in our rooms. We had to go out into the hallway to connect and walk back into our rooms.
Location: same as above
Very nice hotel, but the staff seemed to have difficulties knocking on our door.... in other words... they entered our room twice with out knocking. Once asking if we needed replacement towels and once while we were in bed in the morning. Luckly in the morning we had the bar pulled across the door otherwise she would have come in to our bedroom area.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

nice hothotel and kids friendly

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Nice hotel Kids friendly, little bit far from down town, hotel staff are friendly. Hotel is 2 stars
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from s

Great hotal must try this thanks

Posted Jul 1, 2014
We was feel so gteat about sandman hotal thanks we have relax and fun
1 out of 5
by Don

Won't be back.

Posted Jun 24, 2014
I did belong to their loyalty program. Stay 12 nights get 13th stay free. Because we booked our room on line that doesn't count towards the free night. I'm out, no more Sandman Inns for me. And as the young lady who signed us in said. "Well sir, life is full of choices, and you have to read the fine print. ".
2 out of 5
by Carmen Klassen from British Columbia

I paid for a kitchen and king bed

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Pros: Pool
Cons: Communication between hotel and Expedia as to what the room type being provided is.
I booked my stay at the Sandman in Victoria through Expedia for a cat show that I was showing at on Saturday and Sunday June 21 and 22 2014. I was promised a kitchen and king bed but arrived to a queen bed and no kitchen. My son and I were fine sleeping in the queen bed, however we really counted on the kitchen (or at least a refridgerator) due to the fact that I had to store raw food for my cat. I was told by the hotel staff that they couldn't help me with that and that I was left with the room we had been given with no refridgerator.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Golf
by Katty

Posted Jun 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
We had a very enjoyable stay
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Decent Stay

Posted Jun 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
Stayed for a weekend and it was decent. Had a lot of issues with the hotel keys, but the front desk helped out. It's connected to a sports bar, so things get pretty loud at night. Overall, the stay was nice. The room was comfortable.