Ratings based on 248 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful Stay

Posted Jul 27, 2015
I am sometimes at a loss when I read negative reviews of this property. Unless you are tied to the idea of wanting to be in the inner harbour, this is an excellent choice. The hotel is well-appointed with an attractive lobby, there is one of Victoria's top sports pubs on site, the rooms are spacious and include all amenities (minus chocolate on the pillows) that are identified with far more expensive lodgings. My room was stylish, had a good flat screen TV with a myriad of channels, was clean and quiet and the WiFi service was free and fairly strong. The bathroom was big, clean and included complimentary soaps, shampoo and lotions along with an outstanding shower. Despite previous complaints I had read about the Sandman, there was complimentary in-room coffee (premium brand) and despite the hotel being full of teen agers on some kind of trip, it was very quiet at night. It is on north Douglas close to a big mall and I saw no evidence whatsoever that there was any "seediness" in the area. My ONLY complaint is that they charged me 55 cents for a local call. I thought that kind of charge had gone the way of the dodo bird. Well done Sandman! By the way, I am a Best Western Rewards member but they were full for my two dates, so this hotel checked all the boxes and cost less.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Not a bad hotel, right downtown.

Posted Jul 21, 2015
Pros: Fairly clean; helpful staff.
Cons: Attitudes of the Shark Club staff..atleast ACT like you want to work there & try and be attentive to your customers. Absolutely pathetic.
Just spent one night there on business. Hotel staff were great; needed to use computer for a map and lady there offered me to use their computer - very helpful!!! On the other hand, staff at the Shark Club were horrible. It was a Sunday and not busy but my friend & I had to keep going to the server to get served!!! She spent almost her whole time chatting with kitchen staff. SHE SUCKED. And we went there twice! This actually turned me off from probably staying there again. I would recommend to a friend if they didn't go to the club.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean, comfortable

Posted Jul 16, 2015
Nice family hotel. We had a kitchenette suite. Very convenient. Lots of room. Quiet. Free parking. Easy access to all the sights.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean hotel

Posted Jun 25, 2015
Pros: Clean, free parking, free wifi. Pleasant staff
Location: To far from inner harbour. We walked down and back. It took 30 minutes.
We go to Victoria every June for 2 nights. This year all the downtown hotels were booked. Sandman worked for us but we prefer to be close to the harbour. No parking fees and free wifi were good. Transit to downtown was available.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 23, 2015
The Hotel is old and their standard room Was very small for us the price was affordable
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC

Sandman Inn - below average

Posted Jun 8, 2015
Pros: Expedia
Cons: Service professionalism
Highlights: Seemingly distracted staff Inoperable access cards Unorganized reception desk Only average service at Sharks Club Noisy (street, restaurant and hotel rooms) No included breakfast Overpriced My wife and I made the mistake of booking through Expedia at a discount rate, but would have rather kept the money and slept in the car. We arrived on time to our hotel, but were late to our evening venue due to our access keys to the parking garage and hotel room not working. We later determined that the front desk programmed the access cards to the wrong room. (both unprofessional and a security concern) We were locked out of our room 3 times and the service staff insisted it was "us" that were the problem. If you like sports bars and parties and being discombobulated this might be a good choice for you, otherwise I would advise to avoid this one since there are many other hotels to choose from.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nanaimo

Posted Jun 8, 2015
Pros: Clean, comfy rooms. Friendly and helpful staff. Nice pool. Laid back atmosphere. Little niceties, like bath robes and good quality coffee.
Location: It is close to downtown Victoria.
We arrived late but the desk person made us feel welcome. He upgraded my room, which was particularly useful in this case. There were two other family guests in different rooms so this gave us all a place to meet.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 5, 2015
Ok hotel, clean , great hot tub! Location ok, price good!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CR

Clean and quiet.

Posted Jun 5, 2015
Clean and quiet. Friendly staff and a nice pool! I'd stay again for sure.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from High River

Nice hotel close to downtown

Posted Jun 4, 2015
Pros: Location, pool/hottub, security, clean room
Location: Near downtown without being downtown and its noise
Nice clean single room, came a day early and staff was excellent in ensuring that I could have same room for entire stay. Nice breakfast in the AM