Ratings based on 37 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Lacombe

Relaxed and a real threat.

Posted Apr 10, 2015
Pros: Warm welcome with a glass of port. A room with ocean view and every morning a nice breakfast in the room. Good idea to have no tv!
Location: Explorer the beaches
It is nice that it is only a 30/40 minutes drive from Victoria airport. Sooke is a little town with nice stores were you find art from local artists. We drove to Port Renfrew and explored the beaches and discoverd great little restaurants. It was great to watch the sunset and wake up with ocean sound!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Kathleen from Bainbridge

Romantic getaway

Posted Dec 4, 2014 on Hotels
Beautiful setting with amazing art all around. The four course meal was fantastic!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Premier experience.

Posted Dec 1, 2014
Beautiful, comfortable, romantic. A keeper to dream about returning to.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fabulous hotel, excellent food, helpful, pleasant

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Hotel was on my bucket list, lived up to all my expectations and surpassed them !
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Csdg-England from London

Old, overpriced and needs updating

Posted Aug 17, 2014 on Hotels
Many of the reviews I read before booking were misleading and overly flattering. The hotel is expensive and I expected somewhere in a great location, comfortable, high quality with good service. However, what I found was old and run down. My bed creaked terribly and was uncomfortable. Someone else's clothes left in my drawers. Badly laid out rooms and hotel with lots of paper stuck on the walls with room numbers, directions etc. The staff were generally lovely and helpful but weren't able to do much due to the condition of the hotel. I left after the first night as it was so disappointing and overpriced. Had it been half the price I may have stayed but it just wasn't worth it
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from S.F. BAY

One of the most romantic hotels on the planet!

Posted Jun 19, 2014
Our room (The Beach Room #8) Looked out over the Strait of Juan de Fuca. Beautifully appointed, Casual yet elegant furnishings, stained glass window in the bathroom, Hand thrown stoneware sink, deep double Jacuzzi tub on the porch, screened from everyone else. Deer and River Otters playing in the yard. A perfect place to come and relax, read a book, unplug. Spectacular views, and easy quiet elegance.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Great location, great food, but needs updating

Posted May 21, 2014 on Hotels
The location and the views from the room were spectacular. We were on the main floor and had a door out onto the beach area. The food in the restaurant was one of the best meals I have ever had and the breakfast delivered to the room (standard) was lovely. However, the hotel does not look like it has been updated since the 1970's and the bed was not comfortable. It really needs a refresh.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Scott from Vancouver

Long weekend retreat

Posted Apr 22, 2014 on Hotels
We stayed over the Easter weekend (2014). The hotel is located in a secluded corner of Sooke right on the ocean. Our room was very spacious with a king size bed, a fire place, a large bathroom with steam shower, and a deck with views over the ocean. The hotel staff were extremely friendly and helpful. We had dinner at the hotel restaurant one night. The food and our server were both fantastic! If you are looking for a weekend retreat, this is certainly the spot.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing food

Posted Apr 19, 2014
Pros: The Food & and knowledge of our server were outstanding
Cons: The decor & rooms are dated
Location: This is an area great for outdoors activities including hiking, fishing, & adventure sports
This hotel's greatest strength is the restaurant for which we cannot say enough praise. The hotel is a quiet and romantic getaway. We stayed there 25 years ago and we were delighted with our return visit. We do however note that our room looked like it is ready for new decorations though it was very clean and comfortable with amazing ocean view. We still love this place
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Survivor from Victoria

Quiet retreat on anniversary of husbands death.

Posted Apr 2, 2014
Great room and excellent view of the ocean waves rolling in. Can hear the surf and see the Olympic mtns. The staff were wonderful. Helpful but not overbearing. Location is good and silence really helped me. Food was so good and beautifully presented.