Ratings based on 32 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from S.F. BAY

One of the most romantic hotels on the planet!

Posted Jun 19, 2014
Our room (The Beach Room #8) Looked out over the Strait of Juan de Fuca. Beautifully appointed, Casual yet elegant furnishings, stained glass window in the bathroom, Hand thrown stoneware sink, deep double Jacuzzi tub on the porch, screened from everyone else. Deer and River Otters playing in the yard. A perfect place to come and relax, read a book, unplug. Spectacular views, and easy quiet elegance.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Great location, great food, but needs updating

Posted May 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
The location and the views from the room were spectacular. We were on the main floor and had a door out onto the beach area. The food in the restaurant was one of the best meals I have ever had and the breakfast delivered to the room (standard) was lovely. However, the hotel does not look like it has been updated since the 1970's and the bed was not comfortable. It really needs a refresh.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Scott from Vancouver

Long weekend retreat

Posted Apr 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
We stayed over the Easter weekend (2014). The hotel is located in a secluded corner of Sooke right on the ocean. Our room was very spacious with a king size bed, a fire place, a large bathroom with steam shower, and a deck with views over the ocean. The hotel staff were extremely friendly and helpful. We had dinner at the hotel restaurant one night. The food and our server were both fantastic! If you are looking for a weekend retreat, this is certainly the spot.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing food

Posted Apr 19, 2014
Pros: The Food & and knowledge of our server were outstanding
Cons: The decor & rooms are dated
Location: This is an area great for outdoors activities including hiking, fishing, & adventure sports
This hotel's greatest strength is the restaurant for which we cannot say enough praise. The hotel is a quiet and romantic getaway. We stayed there 25 years ago and we were delighted with our return visit. We do however note that our room looked like it is ready for new decorations though it was very clean and comfortable with amazing ocean view. We still love this place
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Survivor from Victoria

Quiet retreat on anniversary of husbands death.

Posted Apr 2, 2014
Great room and excellent view of the ocean waves rolling in. Can hear the surf and see the Olympic mtns. The staff were wonderful. Helpful but not overbearing. Location is good and silence really helped me. Food was so good and beautifully presented.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by james from LA ca.

The room was great. View was great.

Posted Mar 19, 2014
Pros: the room, the art was nice as decoration. The location. Again the view was great.
Cons: the in room coffee maker did not work on our last morning, waking up at 3:30am to catch a flight.That really sucked!
Location: The walk out on Whiffel spit is great. If you like hiking, up north, are beautiful hikes through the forest. We ate locally obviously in Sooke, nice.
Was expecting more of a True B&B. It was a 4 star motel ( very Nice) but with a high priced restaurant. Maybe I misread it. So breakfast was not included. Thought we would have dinner there, which we did, excellent, expect to drop $200? or so minimum.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Ele from Victoria BC

Comfortable large room overlooking the ocean

Posted Feb 17, 2014
Pros: The fireplaces, the decoration, the comfort and the staff. The location is perfect for a romantic getaway.
Cons: I can't think of a thing
Location: Sooke potholes, Juan de Fuca Trail, Whiffen Spit and also close to Victoria for other activities.
It is a wonderful facility with beautiful views of the ocean. Well worth the extra you spend on it. The restaurant is also worth a visit.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by BikrPJ

Nice place. A bit expensive for what you get.

Posted Dec 12, 2013
5 out of 5
Recommended
by MMW from Calgary

Posted Dec 11, 2013 on Hotels.com
Sooke Harbour House has to be the ultimate in warmth and comfort. Our room was the charming Mermaid Room filled with mermaid treasures. It also had a fireplace and a view of the water. Dinner too was wonderful. Not sure if the "deal" through hotels.com was such a bargain though as while breakfast is normally included we had to pay for it since we booked through you!