Ratings based on 180 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Odie from Greensboro, GA

Lots of character and charm.

Posted May 30, 2014
Good location. Nice pub. Only complaint was bedroom and bath on different floor of our room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Linda

Hotel with atmosphere.

Posted May 29, 2014
Pros: Everything!!
Cons: Nothing comes to mind.
Location: The Empress Hotel, Parliament Buildings, Victoria Harbour all within walking distance. Many pubs, restaurants, shops, China town in the area.
This is a great hotel with plenty of character. The rooms are spacious and nicely decorated with original art and comfortable furniture. The fully equipped kitchen was a bonus, as was the daily newspaper delivered each morning. The location is perfect, close to the harbour area, pubs, restaurants and within walking distance of many tourist sites. Staff is most helpful and accommodating. Some of the rooms have Juliette balconies so if you want a balcony that you can walk onto, you should ask ahead of time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kaleah from Vancouver

Great location

Posted May 26, 2014
Pros: Location location location, staff are great too
Location: Close to everything, park your car and enoy the stroll through downtown
If you are looking for a place right down close to everything this is your place. We have stayed here a few times and wouldn't go anywhere else
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Alice from Calgary

Great room for the rate

Posted May 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
I fly back and forth quite frequently to Victoria and this was the first time I had stayed at the hotel part of Swans. Fantastic location, friendly people, great service. For the rate I paid which would otherwise only get me a small room with a bed at other hotels, I got a full suite with a living room, kitchen, and an upstairs bedroom. This was great and I sincerely appreciate the superb service I got from every staff member there. The historical significance is also a must see and to read about. Bands were awesome.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

One night stay from bad to great.

Posted May 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
I decided to get a room at Swan's for my wife and I to stay at for our first anniversary. When we got to the room, it was in need of some repair. After attempting a quick fix, we stayed we weren't happy. Their initial reaction was that there wasn't another room and that we couldn't Reebook/re find as we booked through hotels.com. The front desk agent contacted the manager on his own, told her the problem and they quickly upgraded us to the penthouse! While the initial room was in need of repair, the penthouse was immaculate. Their solution made us very happy this weekend!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by val from indy

great location

Posted May 16, 2014
We stayed here only one night but found it to be very comfortable and clean. It is within walking distance to many shops, restaurants and pubs.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Brendan from Vancouver

First impressions can be deceiving...

Posted May 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
Title may be a little misleading, but when we arrived and saw the outside of the hotel, it did not look like much, and stepping into the tiny , older, slightly tired looking reception area, we were not expecting much from the rooms. Much to our surprise, even after being handed an actual key that looks like it was used for dungeon cells, the room we were given was awesome. We were upgraded due to the fact that we were checking in early and had to be at a wedding by 1pm, and the room was super clean, quiet, and very spacious. Our friends who had a smaller room also only had good things to say. Would possibly not recommend if you were a light sleeper and wanted to go to bed on a weekend before 12 due to the pub / dance floor downstairs but other than that, Great little hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted May 7, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: We were in a two bedroom with 4 people. Only one bathroom and not on floor with bedrooms (not that they can change this). Bedrooms hot/stuffy.
Location: Chinatown, Royal Museum, Parliament Bldgs, Empress Hotel
Market square across the street, Chinatown on street behind, close to Canoe Restaurant - great food. About a 10 minute walk to Empress Hotel, Parliament Bldgs, Royal Museum.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by corina from Vancouver

great experience!

Posted Apr 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
We stayed one night here for a short trip to Victoria. The location was better than I imagined! Close to very unique shops and boutiques, Chinatown, great restaurants and cafes and right by the water. I am glad we stayed in this area rather than near the empress. It seemed less touristy and had more of a local feel. The room we had was one bedroom suite. It is more worth it to stay for several nights because there is a full kitchen, which we did not use for our short stay. Clean rooms and tall ceilings. I could tell this building is a century old but they did a good job updating. We enjoyed the saturday night at the pub downstairs. Great energy and live music daily! At 2am we retired to our room where we could hear the loud voices and banging of feet from the room above. Thought it was the pub below us since we could hear the live music earlier.front desk did a great job handling the loud neighbour situation and we had a good nights rest.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 16, 2014 on Hotels.com