Ratings based on 187 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tucson, AZ

The Swan - Old World charm.

Posted Sep 6, 2014
Pros: Old world charm. Small boutique hotel. Lovely furnishings. The bed was comfortable.
Cons: There are no ice vending machines. The night manager brought us a pitcher of ice from the café/bar. That's my only complaint.
Location: Located in the heart of Victoria. We shopped, walked around the inner harbor, saw the Empress Hotel grounds, had dinner at The Irish Times Pub.
My wife and I love Victoria BC. On our recent visit, we stayed 2 nights at The Swan. It's a boutique hotel with a café/bar. We were given complementary drinks tickets. Unfortunately, we could not take advantage. The staff are friendly, professional, and courteous. The bed was comfortable, the furnishing contemporary. Conveniently located to restaurants and shopping. Would we go back to the Swan? Definitely!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from vancouver

Lovely character hotel in excellent location

Posted Aug 23, 2014
Pros: Old world style, friendly personable staff, thank you Angela
Location: Close to Victoria Public Market for a true taste of Vancouver Island, Chinatown, downtown and the harbour, awesome location for walking
We had an excellent two night mini vacation in Victoria, based in the Swans Hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Honolulu, HI

Beautiful

Posted Aug 2, 2014
Location: Craigdarroch Castle, Hatley Park, Royal British Columbian Museum, Butchart Gardens
You could tell the building was a bit older but it is beautifully taken care of. The rooms were well kept and the furnishings nice and comfortable. It was within walking distance of many restaurants and beautiful little shops.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from calgary

Awesome boutique hotel close to downtown.

Posted Jul 31, 2014
Pros: Loved the boutique, non corporate feel.
Cons: Happy with it as was, maybe a new elevator, but not essential.
Location: Right down town, easy walk to the harbour, float plane terminals etc, great location.
I was in town for one night, looking for a place close to downtown. Enjoyed this older but fully renovated character hotel. Quiet, comfortable, clean with good staff. I was concerned about potential noise from the pub, but this turned out to be a non issue.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel handily placed for a visit to Victoria

Posted Jul 19, 2014
Spent an enjoyable 4 nights here. the room was very comfortable but a little on the dark side. Couldn't fault the food. The breakfasts when available on Saturdays and Sundays were excellent. Very handy for walking to the centre of Victoria and all amenities.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from C

Nice hotel with a brewery downstairs

Posted Jul 19, 2014
Excellent. The stAff is very friendly and the room very clean the brewery\restaurant downstairs had very good food and drinks/beer. It's located about a block from a very clean Chinatown. We would definatly stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Great location near harbour

Posted Jul 9, 2014
Pros: Location. Size. Boutique hotel.
Cons: We were there during summer - NO air conditioning very apparent in upstairs bedrooms that don't have windows
Location: Location great. Lots of harbour activities within walking distance. Very busy area at night
Lovely and accommodating for 6 people. Large room, kitchen a bonus with a family.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hamilton

Great city location.

Posted Jul 2, 2014
Pros: The quaintness, the location. The room with a loft was fabulous. The bar downstairs was very convenient both for food and entertainment.
Cons: We only left coffee cups and water glasses in the sink, were not cleaned. Full sink, ok I'll clean, but 2-3 glasses or cups?
Location: All tourist venues are walkable, bus stops easily accessable, shopping near and great as were restaurants.
Excellent. Apon arrival with my son, there was only one bed in the suite. Checked with the desk and they very easilly accomodated us to a bigger suite with a minimal upcharge.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Well done version near Chinatown

Posted Jun 27, 2014
Pros: condition, location, staff, services
Cons: maybe air conditioning in the summer
Location: Market square is always fun and will get better again. Chinatown of course, Government street for the tourists.
Very well appointed room with a loft bedroom. We were very happy here in late Spring but I'm not so sure it would work when the temperature goes up in the summer with no air conditioning. Otherwise a delightful little surprise just slightly off the tourist district.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by bob from winnipeg , manitoba

hotel experience

Posted Jun 21, 2014
Pros: cleanliness of the room and the extremely nice staff
Cons: I would make sure to book a quieter room
Location: there are so many things to do and see in the area...we took tour buses...but there are a lot of great sites and restaurants within walking distance
very nice hotel. staff very friendly and efficient ..unfortunately are room faced a very busy street and construction was going on across the street....