Ratings based on 91 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.1 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old property and not cleaned.

Posted Apr 6, 2015
Pros: restaurent
Cons: Bed and cleanliness.
Location: Nothing you can do near this hotel. you have to transfer somewhere else.
Rooms were dirty. we find out many(yes) hair on the bed and bed is almost dead they should replace them as soon as possible other wise they will see many more guest writing such review. coffee machine was not cleaned. Staff was ok. Restaurant in the hotel was good.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Won't consider it next time.

Posted Apr 6, 2015
well we booked 3 rooms and the condition of other two were almost similar to the one I was having. The mattresses were almost broken, sheets have hairs of previous guests and the blanket was awful. Food at the hideaway restaurant was delicious.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified travelerfrom Courtenay

good for a quick overnight

Posted Jan 23, 2015
Pros: not expensive for a quick overnight
Location: right in the city, easy to drive anywhere you need to go and even walk to a few things
hotel is clean, excellent restaurant next door..great staff..good for a quick stay over.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Not too bad for its name

Posted Oct 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
Nice stay, could use some renovation.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by Melissafrom Victoria

Staff were not kind

Posted Sep 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
The staff were not nice or helpful. Came into my room un announced. Not cool
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

good location

Posted Sep 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
close to everything. the building is a bit old and smelly. And there is always some noise from upstairs whenever someone uses washroom there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Meichen

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Vancouver, Wa

Thin Walls

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Pros: The Hideaway Restaurant was a nice surprise. The staff really were pleasant and apologetic for problems.
Cons: Mattresses need to be upgraded, and something added to walls to buffer sound.
Location: This hotel is probably a two mile walk to the downtown area of Victoria, but on a direct bus route.
The hotel has gone through some renovation. The rooms are clean and appear great until the person in the next room turns on the TV, or coughs or talks. The staff was pleasant. There is no one on staff from 12:00 midnight to 7:00am. A cellphone number was provided. We were woken up by the loud TV next door on at 4:00am but no one to call to fix the problem. Glad it was not a fight next door!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 4, 2015 by Mark, Hotel Management
Thank you Teddi for your recent stay with the Tally Ho Hotel. I would like to offer you my sincere apology on your disappointing experience you have encountered during early hours of the morning. Your feedback is deeply appreciated and we are currently working on this matter to make further improvement. With respect to no staff being available during the hours of Midnight to 7AM, there is a phone number provided on the guest room phones and in the lobby to assist our valued guests at all times. Hope we could have another opportunity to welcome you back to the Tally Ho. Kind Regards, Richard Sung Front Desk Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Western Canada

It was a pleasant stay. Quite comfortable.

Posted Aug 31, 2014
Pros: It was good overall. The staff was very helpful.
Cons: You should know, there is no elevator. Be prepared to carry bags up stairs.
The staff is excellent. The location was conveniently close to downtown and within a few minutes drive of the main tourist area. The room was comfortable and I had no negative experiences. I would recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
We stopped over at Tally-Ho before heading to Bear Mountain for a golf weekend, not knowing what to expect we had pretty low expectations, but I was so pleased with the hotel. The 2 people we interacted with on check in and check out were superb in manner and helpfulness and the hotel had a nice feel to it, very well kept. I would definitely stay there again. Just a note if you have mobility challenges, there is no elevator to the 2nd floor, just ask to stay on the 1st and you are all set.