Ratings based on 89 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.1 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified travelerfrom Courtenay

good for a quick overnight

Posted Jan 23, 2015
Pros: not expensive for a quick overnight
Location: right in the city, easy to drive anywhere you need to go and even walk to a few things
hotel is clean, excellent restaurant next door..great staff..good for a quick stay over.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Not too bad for its name

Posted Oct 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
Nice stay, could use some renovation.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by Melissafrom Victoria

Staff were not kind

Posted Sep 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
The staff were not nice or helpful. Came into my room un announced. Not cool
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

good location

Posted Sep 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
close to everything. the building is a bit old and smelly. And there is always some noise from upstairs whenever someone uses washroom there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Meichen

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Vancouver, Wa

Thin Walls

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Pros: The Hideaway Restaurant was a nice surprise. The staff really were pleasant and apologetic for problems.
Cons: Mattresses need to be upgraded, and something added to walls to buffer sound.
Location: This hotel is probably a two mile walk to the downtown area of Victoria, but on a direct bus route.
The hotel has gone through some renovation. The rooms are clean and appear great until the person in the next room turns on the TV, or coughs or talks. The staff was pleasant. There is no one on staff from 12:00 midnight to 7:00am. A cellphone number was provided. We were woken up by the loud TV next door on at 4:00am but no one to call to fix the problem. Glad it was not a fight next door!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 1, 2014 by Mark, Hotel Management
Thank you Teddi for your recent stay with the Tally Ho Hotel. I would like to offer you my sincere apology on your disappointing experience you have encountered during early hours of the morning. Your feedback is deeply appreciated and we are currently working on this matter to make further improvement. With respect to no staff being available during the hours of Midnight to 7AM, there is a phone number provided on the guest room phones and in the lobby to assist our valued guests at all times. Hope we could have another opportunity to welcome you back to the Tally Ho. Kind Regards, Richard Sung Front Desk Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Western Canada

It was a pleasant stay. Quite comfortable.

Posted Aug 31, 2014
Pros: It was good overall. The staff was very helpful.
Cons: You should know, there is no elevator. Be prepared to carry bags up stairs.
The staff is excellent. The location was conveniently close to downtown and within a few minutes drive of the main tourist area. The room was comfortable and I had no negative experiences. I would recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
We stopped over at Tally-Ho before heading to Bear Mountain for a golf weekend, not knowing what to expect we had pretty low expectations, but I was so pleased with the hotel. The 2 people we interacted with on check in and check out were superb in manner and helpfulness and the hotel had a nice feel to it, very well kept. I would definitely stay there again. Just a note if you have mobility challenges, there is no elevator to the 2nd floor, just ask to stay on the 1st and you are all set.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Randifrom Port Alberni

probably won't stay here again

Posted Aug 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
I booked this hotel because it was one of the last ones available. I had wanted to stay in a downtown located hotel. For someone not caring about that, this is a good location with lots of shopping and restaurants nearby. The wifi is was too weak to use likely because the hotel was full. Our room was on the lower level right by the pool and some male guests were outside our room drinking and were very loud. I won't stay here again because I prefer downtown but for a family, the pool is great and there's a good restaurant in the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
hotel receptionists were really nice and polite. room was pretty clean. free parking and wifi. location is probably 5-10 min driving from Downtown victoria, we wanted to stay away from downtown because its too crowded in Downtown, so we were very satisfied with this hotel. Mayfair shopping mall is walking distance probably 10 min walking distance from the hotel, Denny's restaurant 5-10 min walking as well.