Ratings based on 580 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel Great Location

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Pros: Service, Clean, Lcoation
This is the place to be, right next to the Empress hotel but in a much nicer room at a much better price.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from H.

Posted Jul 20, 2014
The hotel was clean. They had complimentary breakfast but we didn't get it since they said we bought our room thru Expedia. Which I paid ($329.) For this amount and quality of things it wasn't worth it. My room was a superior room on the third floor and the big picture window in the room was only a view of the buildings metal steep roof running practically down to the window. Definitely not worth the price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Calistoga, Ca

Beautiful hotel and spa in the downtown area.

Posted Jul 16, 2014
Pros: Clean, in the downtown area so we were able to walk to most places around Victoria.
Cons: Maid service was late, but they did come while we were at dinner and did a thorough cleaning with turndown service.
Location: Near the waterfront, shopping and fine dining.
Stayed over the weekend in Victoria. Have never been to this area before, staff was helpful in suggesting nearby restaurants and places within walking distance. Very nice room with great amenities and spa with wonderful treatments. Very reasonably priced for the area and what they offered.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Albany, Oregon

Great Location!

Posted Jul 13, 2014
The rooms are large, remodeled, clean and well decorated. The bathroom in my room had both a stand-in shower and a large tub. There was a good view plus a gas fireplace.The staff was very helpful. The location is perfect. It's two blocks from the harbor, one block from the Empress Hotel, two blocks from information center and Big Bus Hop on Hop. It's also two blocks from public transportation where you can catch a bus to the Butchart Gardens for a $5.00 round trip day ticket. There are dozens of restaurants close by this hotel as well as shopping. There is also a very nice bar and restaurant attached to the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary, AB

Great Hotel in Excellent Location

Posted Jul 9, 2014
Pros: The location was great and the staff friendly and helpful. The rooms were a reasonable size (though some of the views from the windows are not great)
Cons: Week-day breakfast is only served until 10 a.m. It would be nice to have it served until at least 10:30 (checkout is noon)
Location: Located close to the harbor, so close to a lot of activities like the IMAX at the museum, Tea at the Empress, Water Taxis, and harbour walk.
Magnolia Hotel is a gem of a find. We usually avoid boutique hotels, but decided to take a change on this one based on the Expedia reviews. We were glad we did. The hotel is only blocks away from the harbor, the museaum, the Empress Hotel, and Government Street. The hotel staff were welcoming, had lots of good information that they passed along when we checked in and offered to reserve or book anything that we were interested in. They also took care of arranging the airport shuttle pick-up for us, so it was a pretty worry free vacation for us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very Good

Posted Jul 9, 2014
Nice hotel, good location, good service. Nothing I could fault it for.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary

downtown hotel

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Pros: The hotel is clean and the rooms are in great shape . The location is very very good . Lots of eating locations in the area. Easy walking around .
Cons: staff should be up to date on promos or offers from the owners
Location: close to everything downtown or habour
the Magnolia hotel is a nice small hotel that was really easy to find if it's your first time to Victoria . It's a couple of blocks from the water and tourists area . I booked the hotel because it was a Expedia VIP hotel , but the staff didn't know about the VIP offers or what to do for it . Since I have stayed here now , I would stay here again even if they had no VIP offers
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Quiet and peaceful yet convenient

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: Convenient location, excellent service, great room and amenities.
Cons: We had a little trouble with the tea pods in the room; an actual hot water maker might be easier. Light switches were a bit confusing. Spa is limited.
Location: Great location in downtown Victoria; leaving the car behind was one of the highlights of the weekend.
We had a great time at the Magnolia. I think the best part of all was the outstanding soundproofing in the rooms. I could barely hear our neighbors or housekeeping. I have travelled all over the world and can confirm this is very rare. The room was overall very comfortable. I especially appreciated the half and half in the fridge and the Aveda products in the bathroom. Bathrobe and slippers were also great. The on-site restaurant was also terrific. Loved the tea, coffee and fruit water in the lobby. The front desk was very helpful. We checked out at noon on the dot, not to waste a moment in this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent location, staff and atmosphere

Posted Jul 6, 2014
I went with my wife to celebrate our anniversary and also go on a vacation. From the time of booking our hotel stay to the time we checked out, it was an amazing trip. The staff are very helpful, friendly, thoughtful and went extra mile in making our stay the best. Room is very close to numerous restaurants, the harbour, mall. Room was very neat, they provide nightly turnover service which includes chocolates, glass of water. Another layer of icing is the fact the hotel provides free coffee/ tea at their lobby area and sometimes pastries (depends on the hotel's decision). Also, we forgot our HDMI cable at the hotel and the staff was nice to help send it to us at free cost So far, this was the best trip we had. Thank you Magnolia Hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 6, 2014
Professional, accommodating and friendly staff! Great location.